Newspaper Databases
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowThe Ethnic NewsWatch database contains news, culture and history from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Nearly 500,000 complete articles dating back to 1990 are available, along with archival material dating back to the mid 1980's. Ethnic NewsWatch is searchable in both English and Spanish,
- Google News Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. Search for events, people or ideas and see how they have been described overtime. Results include content from a number of sources, including both partner content digitized by Google through their News Archives Partner Program and online archival materials that they have crawled. Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee.
- Los Angeles Times - Historical (1881-1995) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1881 to 1995. Note: current files of the LA Times (1985-present) are available separately.
- Los Angeles Times - Current (1985-present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1985 to the present. (Note: historical backfiles of the LA Times are available separately for 1881-1984.)
- New York Times Online
Create your free online and app account to current and historical New York Times content through accessnyt.com. All UCSB Faculty, staff, and students have access with your @ucsb email address.
- Washington Post
A source for expert reporting and analysis from Washington, D.C., and around the world. With our subscription, UCSB affiliates have unlimited digital access to content posted by The Washington Post, including articles, editorials and recipes on the website, using the apps, subscribing to newsletters and alerts, streaming access to press conferences, and playing games. The subscription allows UCSB affiliates to explore any and all issues of The Washington Post going back to the first issue in 1877.
- New York Times - Historical (1851-2008) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2008. Note: current issues of the New York Times are available as a separate file.
