Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Dictionary of the Middle Ages (13 vols)Reference D114 .D5 1982
- Encyclopedia of Renaissance Literature / James Wyatt CookReference PN721 C66 2006
- Encyclopedia of the Early Church (2 vols)Reference BR66.5 .D5813 1992
- Encyclopedia of the Medieval WorldReference D114 .E55 2005
- Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages/Andre Vauchez, ed.D114. E53
- Encylopedia of the Middle Ages/Matthew Bunson, ed.D114 B86 1995
- Historical Dictionary of the RenaissanceReference CB361 .N35 2004
- Medieval England: an EncyclopediaReference DA129 .M43 1998
- The Oxford Dictionary of the RenaissanceReference CB361 .C27 2003
- Women and Gender in Medieval Europe : an EncyclopediaHQ1147.E85 W66 2006
- Women in the Middle Ages : an EncyclopediaReference HQ1143 .W643 2004
Histories and Background
- Cambridge History of Medieval English Literature / David Wallace, ed.Main Library PR255 .C35 1999
- A Companion to English Renaissance Literature and Culture/ Michael HattawayReference PR411 .C66 2000
- Chronology of the Medieval WorldReference D11 .M39 1999
- Oxford Companion to ChaucerAlso in print: Reference PR1924 O94 2003
Reference and Companions
- Oxford Scholarship Online
Provides access to digitized versions of print books published by Oxford University Press and other university presses worldwide. Covers a broad range of disciplines. NOTE: Users who do not have a UCSBnet ID and password can access the open access titles in this collection. Use the limiters on the left-hand side to limit to "free" and "open access".
- Cambridge Companions to LiteratureOver 215 volumes from this acclaimed series of critical texts. From the LION database, you can search via the "Criticism" search page or browse a list of volumes and constituent essays from the link in the "Complete Contents."
- Penguin Classics IntroductionThese nearly 400 volumes from the Penguin Classics series include key information about the biographical, historical and critical details surrounding the author and the text.
- Dictionary of Literary BiographyEach volume of this huge set is devoted to the authors of a particular era, place or genre, or to a theme. There is a cumulative index at the end of each volume. Entries include a portrait of the author, a list of his or her published works, a detailed literary biography, a bibliography of other sources and, often, the location of the author's papers.
- Brepolis Medieval & Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Comprises articles about the medieval period derived from periodicals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.