LibGuides: English Literature: Medieval and Early Modern : Primary Sources and Online Collections

Online Collections

Brepols Medieval eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers European Medieval Studies such as Church History & Monasticism, Language and Literature, Manuscript Studies, Philosophy, Theology and History of Science. Book series include Utrecht Studies in Medieval Literacy, Studies in European Urban History (1100-1800), and Medieval Church Studies, among others.

2017-2021 collections only. Please note that the Medieval Collection eBooks are in a system that also includes eBooks that UCSB does not have access to. Look for the green button which indicates your access once authenticated with VPN or via proxy server.

ARTFL Project
Digitized French texts from the 13th to 20th centuries.
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
A centralized site of links to digitized medieval manuscripts. Part of an ongoing project of UCLA's Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies.
Digital Scriptorium
Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts collected from different institutions.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Digital, searchable images of nearly all works printed in England or in the English language from 1473-1700.
Early English Prose Fiction
Full text of more than 200 works from the period 1500–1700.
Early European Books (EEB). Collection 8
All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield. Early European Books builds upon and complements Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Early Modern Literary Studies: Electronic Texts
English Drama (1280-1915)
Nearly 4,000 full-text plays in verse and prose.
English Poetry (600-1900)
The complete English poetic canon from Anglo Saxon times to the end of the nineteenth century, drawn from the works of more than 1,250 poets.
Folger Digital Texts
Searchable texts based on the Folger Shakespeare Library Editions.
Folger Shakespeare Library Digital Image Collection
Over 80,000 literary art images from the Folger Shakespeare Library. Online and free to use under a Creative Commons CC-by-SA license.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
A part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project from Paul Halsall of Fordham University. This is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts, grouped according to historical theme.

Internet Shakespeare Editions This link opens in a new window
Includes plays, poems, background and cultural resources, and "Shakespeare in Performance," a searchable database of performance materials from over 1000 film and stage productions related to Shakespeare's works.
The Internet Shakespeare Editions is a non-profit organization supported by the University of Victoria and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. UCSB Library is a supporting member of ISE.

Luminarium
Anthology of Middle English Literature (1350-1485)
Manuscripts of Medieval France with Vernacular Texts
A collection of over 1000 links to manuscript facsimiles
Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts Collection
The Manuscripts Collections at Harry Ranson Center at University of Texas at Austin contains 215 medieval or Renaissance manuscripts that date between the 11th and 17th centuries. Complete digital images are provided for some manuscripts. The Ransom Center is in the process of digitizing all of the items in this collection and more images will be gradually added here as they are completed.
Online Medieval Sources Bibliography
From Fordham University, a searchable bibliography of texts that were written in the Middle Ages. Includes private letters, wills, and household accounts to literary works, philosophical treatises, chronicles, court proceedings, church records, and more.