Welcome to the UCSB Library and to the Librarians Association of the University of California, Santa Barbara. Use this page to find information about the Library, the Santa Barbara campus, and the UC system. Be sure to let us know if you can't find what you expected to find on this page, it's here for your use! Again, welcome to UCSB!
American Library Association (ALA) Library-Related Acronyms and Initialisms
California Digital Library (CDL) Glossary of Digital Library Terms
UC Academic Senate Acronyms Glossary
UC Library Groups A to Z
ODLIS: Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science
| Acronym/Abbreviation | Meaning | Affiliation/Extent |
|---|---|---|
| AACR2 | Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules, Second Edition | International |
| AAU | Association of American Universities | National |
| ACRL | Association of College and Research Libraries | American Library Association (ALA) |
| AEC | art exhibition catalog | |
| AFT | American Federation of Teachers | National |
| AG | Administrative Group | UCSB Library |
| ALA | American Library Association | National |
| ALMA | Alma Cloud-Based Library Platform Service | Ex Libris |
| API | application programming interface | |
| APM | Academic Personnel Manual | University of California (UC) |
| ARES | Automating Reserves (product of Atlas Systems, Inc.) | |
| ARK | archival resource key | |
| ARL | Association of Research Libraries | International |
| ARSC | Association for Recorded Sound Collections | |
| AUL | associate university librarian | |
| BI | bibliographic instruction | |
| CAAR | Committee on Appointments, Assignments and Reassignments | LAUC-SB |
| CAP | Committee on Advancement and Promotion | LAUC-SB |
| CARL | California Academic and Research Libraries | Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) |
| CBS | consortial borrowing software | |
| CDL | California Digital Library | University of California, Office of the President (UCOP) |
| CEDI | Committee on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion | UCSB Library |
| CEMA | California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives | UCSB Library - Special Research Collections (SRC) |
| CFP | call for papers (alternatively, call for participation) | |
| CFT | California Federation of Teachers | American Federation of Teachers (AFT) |
| CIC | Committee on Institutional Cooperation (now the Big Ten Academic Alliance) | Midwest, U.S. |
| CIG | common interest group | |
| CJK | Chinese, Japanese, and Korean | |
| CKG | Common Knowledge Group | UC Libraries |
| CLA | California Library Association | State |
| CLIIR | Committee on Library, Information, and Instructional Resources | UCSB Academic Senate, Council on Research and Instructional Resources (CRIR) |
| CLIR | Council on Library and Information Resources | International |
| CLOCKSS | Controlled LOCKSS (see LOCKSS) |
International |
| CMS | course management software; citation management software; content management system | |
| CNI | Coalition for Networked Information | International |
| CoUL | Council of University Librarians | UC Libraries |
| COUNTER | Counting Online Usage of Networked Electronic Resources | International |
| CREATE | Center for Research in Electronic Art Technology | UCSB Music Dept |
| CRes | Course Reserves | UCSB Library |
| CRIR | Council on Research and Instructional Resources | UCSB Academic Senate |
| CRL | Center for Research Libraries | International |
| CSD | Collection Strategies Department (UCSB Library department) | UCSB Library |
| CSL | California State Library | State |
| CTD | call to discard | |
| CTN | Colección Tloque Nahuaque | UCSB Library - Ethnic & Gender Studies (EGS) Collection |
| CUE | Coalition of University Employees | University of California (UC) |
| DACS | Describing Archives: A Content Standard | Society of American Archivists |
| DAHR | Discography of American Historical Recordings | UCSB Library |
| DAM | digital asset management | |
| DDS | Division of Digital Strategies | UCSB Library |
| DLD | Digital Library Development (UCSB Library department) | UCSB Library |
| DLE | Division of Learning & Engagement | UCSB Library |
| DMP | Data Management Plan | |
| DOC | Direction and Oversight Committee | UC Libraries |
| DOI | digital object identifier | |
| DPR | Digital Preservation Repository | |
| DREAM Lab | Data, Research, Exploration, Access, Methods Lab (UCSB Library department) | UCSB Library |
| DRRSC | Division of Research Resources & Scholarly Communication | UCSB Library |
| DSR | Departmental Safety Representative | UCSB - Environmental Health & Safety (EHS) |
| EAD | Encoded Archival Description | Library of Congress |
| EDI | electronic data interchange | |
| EDVR | Encyclopedic Discography of Victor Recordings | UCSB Library |
| EGS | Ethnic and Gender Studies Collection | UCSB Library |
| EHS | Environmental Health and Safety | UCSB |
| EL | Ex Libris | International |
| ERES | Electronic Reserves | UCSB Library |
| ERMS | electronic resources management system | |
| ETDs | electronic theses and dissertations | |
| EVC | Executive Vice Chancellor | UCSB |
| EZID | Easy ID (long-term digital identifier) | California Digital Library (CDL) |
| FAST | Faceted Application of Subject Terminology | OCLC |
| FRBR | Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records | IFLA |
| ICOLC | International Coalition of Library Consortia | International |
| IHC | Interdisciplinary Humanities Center | UCSB |
| IL | information literacy | |
| ILL | Interlibrary Loan | |
| ILS | integrated library system (e.g. Alma) | |
| ISO | International Organization for Standardization | |
| ISTL | Issues in Science and Technology Librarianship | Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) - Science and Technology Section |
| JSC | Joint Steering Committee on Shared Collections | California Digital Library (CDL) |
| LAUC | Librarians Association of the University of California | University of California (UC) |
| LAUC-SB | Librarians Association of the University of California - Santa Barbara | UCSB Library |
| LC (or LOC) | Library of Congress | USA |
| LCGFT | Library of Congress Genre/Form Terms | Library of Congress |
| LCMPT | Library of Congress Medium of Performance Thesaurus | Library of Congress |
| LCSH | Library of Congress Subject Headings | Library of Congress |
| LHR | local holdings record | |
| LIT | Library Instruction Team | UCSB Library |
| LITA | Library and Information Technology Association |
American Library Association (ALA) |
| LLAMA | Library Leadership and Management Association | American Library Association (ALA) |
| LOCKSS | Lots of Copies Keep Stuff Safe | International |
| LOM | learning object metadata | |
| MARC | Machine-Readable Cataloging | International |
| METS | Metadata Encoding and Transmission Standard | Library of Congress |
| MLA | Modern Language Association | National |
| MLA | Music Library Association | National |
| MODS | Metadata Encoding and Transmission Standard | Library of Congress |
| MOL | Melvyl Operations Liaisons | California Digital Library (CDL) |
| MOT | Melvyl Operations Team | California Digital Library (CDL) |
| MOU | Memorandum of Understanding, Professional Librarians Unit, American Federation of Teachers | University of California (UC) |
| MPLP | more product, less process | |
| NDIPP | National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program |
Library of Congress |
| NGDA | National Geospatial Digital Archive | UCSB and other partners |
| NGTS | Next Generation Technical Services | UC Libraries |
| NISO | National Information Standards Organization | National |
| NRLF | Northern Regional Library Facility | UC Libraries |
| OA | open access | |
| OAC | Online Archive of California | California |
| OCA | Open Content Alliance | International |
| OCLC | Online Computer Library Center | International |
| OIT | Office of Information Technology | UCSB |
| ORU | organized research unit | |
| OSC | Office of Scholarly Communication | University of California (UC) |
| PCC | Program for Cooperative Cataloging | Library of Congress |
| PID | persistent identifier | |
| PDA | patron driven acquisition | |
| PIR | patron initiated request | |
| POTs | Power of Three groups | UC Libraries - NGTS |
| PRIMO | Primo Library Discovery Service | Ex Libris |
| PURL | persistent uniform resource locator | |
| R&E | Research & Engagement (UCSB Library department) | UCSB Library |
| RDA | Resource Description and Access | International |
| RDS | Research Data Services (UCSB Library department) | UCSB Library |
| ReADS | Resource Acquisition and Discovery Services (UCSB Library department) | UCSB Library |
| RL | Resource Liaison | California Digital Library (CDL) |
| RLF | Regional Library Facilities (NRLF and SRLF) |
UC Libraries |
| RLUK | Research Libraries UK | United Kingdom |
| RPD | Research and Professional Development Committee | LAUC-SB |
| RUSA | Reference and User Services Association | American Library Association (ALA) |
| SAA | Society of American Archivists | National |
| SCA | Society of Californian Archivists | State |
| SCIL | Southern California Instruction Librarians | CARL (California Academic and Research Libraries) |
| SCP | Shared Cataloging Program | California Digital Library (CDL) |
| SEL | Sciences-Engineering Library (now Sciences and Engineering Collections) | UCSB Library |
| SILS | UC Systemwide Integrated Library System | UC Libraries |
| SLA | Special Libraries Association | International |
| SLASIAC | Systemwide Library and Scholarly Information Advisory Committee | UC Libraries |
| SLFB | Shared Library Facilities Board | UC Libraries |
| SNIP | Source-Normalized Impact Factor per Paper | |
| SPARC | Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition | ARL |
| SPIP | shared print in place | |
| SRC | Special Research Collections (UCSB Library department) | UCSB Library |
| SRLF | Southern Regional Library Facility | UC Libraries |
| SSHA | Social Sciences and Humanities approval plan | UCSB Library with YBP |
| STEP | Summer Transitional Enrichment Program | UCSB |
| SUSHI | Standardized Usage Statistics Harvesting Initiative |
NISO |
| SWOT | strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats | |
| T&L | Teaching & Learning (UCSB Library department) | UCSB Library |
| TF | task force | |
| UC3 | University of California Curation Center | California Digital Library (CDL) |
| UC-AFT | University Council - American Federation of Teachers | University of California (UC) |
| UCEN | University Center | UCSB |
| UCLAS | University of California Libraries Advisory Structure | UC Libraries |
| UCOLASC | University Committee on Library and Scholarly Communication | University of California (UC) - Academic Senate |
| UCOP | University of California Office of the President | University of California (UC) |
| UL | University Librarian | |
| UPTE | University Professional and Technical Employees | Communication Workers of America (CWA) |
| VLE | virtual learning environment | |
| VPN | virtual private network (see Using the VPN for Accessing the Library Databases) | |
| VRA | Visual Resources Association | |
| WAS | Web Archiving Service (no longer active) | California Digital Library (CDL) |
| WASC | Western Association of Schools and Colleges | |
| WEST | Western Regional Storage Trust | Western U.S. |
| YBP | Yankee Book Peddler (book vendor for UCSB Library) |