L'Année PhilologiqueThis link opens in a new windowL'Année Philologique contains citations to all known scholarly work on classical antiquity published in any language, anywhere in the world. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science and scholarly sub-specialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Its coverage begins in the second millennium B. C. E. with pre-classical archaeology, and ends with the period of transition from late antiquity to the middle ages (roughly 500-800 C.E.), extending from the physical centers of ancient Greece and Rome to Northern and Eastern Europe, Asia Minor, the Middle East, and North Africa.Fifty-six years (1949-2004) of L'Annèe philologique (volumes 20 to 75) are now online. Each spring a new volume will be added to the database.
Date Coverage: Book Reviews, Classical antiquity, Publication dates 1949-2004
Materials Indexed: Books; Journal Articles
ARTstorThis link opens in a new windowRegistration: ARTstor requires users to create an account and login before images can be downloaded. Use the links at upper right of the ARTstor site.
ARTstor contains digital images with accompanying data, as well as software tools to enable researchers to use the images actively. The database allows searching and browsing of images from a wide range of cultures and time periods, focusing on but not limited to the arts. ARTstor is designed to enhance teaching, learning, and scholarship in art history and many other disciplines.
Materials Indexed: Artworks; Photographs
Brill's New Jacoby OnlineThis link opens in a new windowBrill’s New Jacoby Online, an essential resource for study of the ancient world, brings together online Felix Jacoby's Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker (a monumental collection of ancient Greek historical texts) and Brill's New Jacoby, a completely new edition together with abundant new commentaries in English by contemporary scholars, as well as facing English translations of the Greek texts, in a fully searchable and indexed online format.
Date Coverage: Ancient Greece
Materials Indexed: Books; Essays
Brill's New Pauly OnlineThe New Pauly is a Reallexikon or encyclopaedia of the ancient world. It is supposed to be a practical reference work for everyday use. Brill’s New Pauly Online comprises the complete original Der Neue Pauly (published 1996-2003) together with Brill's New Pauly (English edition of Der Neue Pauly), both standard reference works for students and scholars of the ancient world.
DyabolaThis link opens in a new windowDYABOLA, produced by the Deutsches Archologisches Institut, Rome, is an index to scholarly journals and collected works on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology. Note: Though the database offers an English language option, much of the interface and help material is still in German.
Date Coverage: 1956 to present.
Materials Indexed: Artworks; Images; Photographs
Loeb Classical LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe digital Loeb Classical Library contains the full texts of more than 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts and parallel English translations, and will include the biannual additions to the Loeb series. Users can search across the full corpus of texts in Greek, Latin, and English; browse the entire database by author, language, period, form, genre, or subject; and bookmark, annotate, and share content. The Loeb library represents the entire ancient Greek and Latin literary heritage, including epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory, as well as the ancient writers on medicine and mathematics, and the Late Ancient church fathers who reflected pagan culture.
Date Coverage: 700 BCE - 700 CE, Classical Period
Materials Indexed: Books; Plays; Poetry
Patrologia Latina DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.
Date Coverage: 200 -1216
Materials Indexed: Books; Essays; Primary Sources
ProQuest Dissertations and ThesesThis link opens in a new windowThe database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Dissertations & Theses offers UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full-text digital format starting with titles published from 1997 forward.
Date Coverage: 1861 - present
Materials Indexed: Theses & Dissertations
Thesaurus Linguae GraecaeThis link opens in a new windowThe Thesaurus Linguae Graecae or "Treasury of the Greek Language" now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453, in excess of 80 million words. The center continues its efforts to include all extant Greek texts from the byzantine and post-byzantine period. Also included is the Canon of Greek Authors and Works, a comprehensive database of all known ancient Greek and Byzantine authors, together with bibliographies of existing critical editions of their extant works. Note: To use the full corpus, each user must register and create his or her own TLG user profile. To do so, click on Register in the upper right corner of the opening screen, or on Full Corpus in the menu bar.
Date Coverage: 800 B.C.E. - 600 C.E., plus a large number of texts to 1453. Ancient Greece, Roman Empire, Byzantine Empire
Materials Indexed: Books; Primary Sources
Thesaurus Linguae LatinaeThis link opens in a new windowThe Thesaurus Linguae Latinae is a comprehensive, scholarly etymological dictionary of ancient Latin, based on critical analysis of texts from the earliest times up to 600 A.D. The dictionary enables the user to follow the semantic development and usage of each word. Use of the database requires installation of the TLL font on your computer. See the database help section for a link to download the font.
Date Coverage: Modern analysis of texts up to 600 A.D.