Best Article Sources for the Classics
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Citations to scholarly work on classical antiquity, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, early Christian texts and patristics, and Greek and Roman history, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, and science.
JSTOR - Classical Studies journals.
-Search JSTOR's journals that focus on Classical Studies.
To search for book reviews, see the links on the How to Find Books tab on this guide, in the How to Find Book Reviews in the Classics box.
Other Article Sources for the Classics
Bulletin Analytique d'Histoire Romaine. (BAHR)
- Pick your preferred search language, English or French, and then proceed to the Search (or Recherche) link.
- Citations and abstracts for articles on Roman history and archaeology. Coverage is 1992 forward. Contains materials not indexed in L'Annee philologique.
- Dyabola This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
An index to scholarly journals and collected works on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology. Brush up on your German, or select the "English" interface option at the bottom of the left column.
Fasti Online.
- A database of information on archaeological excavations in Italy and elsewhere in the ancient Roman world, reported from 2000 forward. A project of the International Association of Classical Archaeology (AIAC) and the Center for the Study of Ancient Italy (CSAI) of the University of Texas at Austin.
Gnomon; kritische Zeitschrift für die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft.
Berlin, Weidmann 1925-
- 1925-2015 available through JSTOR.
- Also available in print at Sciences & Engineering Z7016 .G56 (current copies)
- Includes citations to articles, books and other scholarly literature in classical studies, including works more recent than available in L'Annee philologique, and dissertations not findable elsewhere.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Citations and abstracts to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in the database called America: History and Life).
Nestor.
- Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. Issues are published monthly from September to May (each volume covers one calendar year) by the Department of Classics, University of Cincinnati. The online version contains citations from the printed volumes back to 1959.
Persée.
- An open access journal archive presented as a joint service of the Université de Lyon, the Le Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) and the École normale supérieure de Lyon. Persée has gained the support of the Ministère de l'Éducation nationale, de l'Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche.
- Journals can be sorted by discipline. As in JSTOR, there is an embargo on access to most publications. The typical embargo period is 3-5 years from the present date.
- Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Even smaller than JSTOR, but covering many very useful titles, Project Muse is a searchable index of over 180 university press journals.
Revue des études anciennes.
Paris: Societé d'Edition Les belles lettres, 1899-
- Main Library P1 .R47
Revue des études grecques.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Association pour l'encouragement des études grecques en France.
Paris: E. Leroux, 1888-
- Latest 4 years not available online.
- Print copies available at Main Library D1 .R483
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
- Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. TOCS-IN is an entirely volunteer project, started in 1992 on the original idea of R. Morstein-Marx (Santa Barbara, California) (Yay Bob!), and currently managed by PMW Matheson (Toronto, Canada) and Jacques Poucet (Louvain, Belgium).
One more useful resource for study in the classics:
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
The Web of Science provides access to three important databases: the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 to present), the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to present), and the Science Citation Index (1945 to present).
If you want to know who has cited an important article or book since its publication, go to the Web of Science and do a Cited Reference Search. Search for the author's last name and first initial, plus the date of publication - no more than this. DO NOT fill in the Cited Work (title) field.