Article Databases
The library's databases are excellent tools to use for finding scholarly articles. We subscribe to nearly 1,000 of these databases; I've included here a very small selection that will be especially useful for this class, but you will probably want to explore others as well. The complete list of databases, including their descriptions, is here: A-Z list of databases.
Many of these databases contain the full text of articles. If you do not see a link to the full text, use the 
link to find a different access point or to order a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
General
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCovers thousands of research journals and books across the disciplines
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
-
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSCI) This link opens in a new windowArticles, books, book reviews, and more.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowResearch articles covering sociology and related disciplines.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, and economics
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowNews, culture and history from the ethnic, minority and native press.
-
Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new windowCovers the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century. Includes information on major American brands
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of the full text of journals and books across most subjects. Also includes primary source images.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowCovers humanities and social science research. Note that UCSB does not subscribe to all of the journals or books in Project Muse; items whose full text is accessible are denoted by a green check mark.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowIncludes scholarly literature, theses, preprints, and more, across all broad areas of research.
Pop Culture & Related
-
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowBackfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines
-
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowFilm and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
-
The Vogue ArchiveVogue magazine issues from 1892 to the present. Great place to find advertisements.
-
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new windowIncludes The Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, 60+ Berg fashion ebooks, several major fashion journals, and more.
-
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new windowFocuses on the evolution of popular culture through music, politics, fashion, and youth culture in the U.S. and U.K.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly and popular journals and magazines across all disciplines.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers all disciplines of business, including marketing and industry reports. Mostly modern, with some content going back to 1886
-
Music Periodicals Database (MPD) This link opens in a new windowIndexes international music periodicals from over 20 countries.
Articles vs. Journals
To find journals (rather than specific articles within journals), use Browzine or UC Library Journal Search.
To locate an article for which you have a citation, use Google Scholar or Fetch Item (Citation Linker).
To find scholarly articles on your topic, use the library's Databases. See box above.