Online Encyclopedias
A concise companion to the Jewish religion by
Searchable database containing entries describing every aspect of Jewish belief and practice, both ancient and modern. Covers personalities in the Bible to present-day Jewish thinkers and writers, and other coverage includes customs, traditions, and Jewish ideas on subjects as diverse as dance, vegetarianism, and eternity
Title from title screen
"First published 1995 as The Jewish Religion: A Companion."
Description based on content as of: April 3, 2002
Publication Date: 1999, c2002
Encyclopedia of Hebrew language and linguistics by
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions by
Provides a multicultural reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, including over 250 A-Z original, signed articles that cover major themes, beliefs, traditions, and folkways of Jewish groups around the world. The diverse range of articles covers specific artifacts, rituals, ceremonies, biblical figures, and legends-in addition to broad topics such as humor, folk dance, costumes, and folk narratives.
ISBN: 9780765682956Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World by
The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online (EJIW) is the first cohesive and discreet reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online is updated with newly commissioned articles, illustrations, multimedia, and primary source material.
Islam, Judaism, and Zoroastrianism by
The earlier volume in this series dealt with two religions of Indian origin, namely, Buddhism and Jainism. The Indian religious scene, however, is characterized by not only religions which originated in India but also by religions which entered India from outside India and made their home here. Thus religious life in India has been enlivened throughout its history by the presence of religions of foreign origin on its soil almost from the very time they came into existence. This volume covers three such religions--Zoraoastrianism, Judaism, and Islam . In the case of Zoraostianism, even its very beginnings are intertwined with India, as Zoroastrianism reformed a preexisting religion which had strong links to the Vedic heritage of India. This relationship took on a new dimension when a Zoroastrian community, fearing persecution in Persia after its Arab conquest, sought shelter in western India and ultimately went on to produce India's pioneering nationalist in the figure of Dadabhai Naoroji ( 1825-1917), also known as the Grand Old Man of India. Jews found refuge in south India after the destruction of the Temple by the Romans in 70 C.E. and have remained a part of the Indian religious scene since then, some even returning to Israel after it was founded in 1948. Islam arrived in Kerala as soon as it was founded and one of the earliest mosques in the history of Islam is found in India. Islam differs from the previously mentioned religions inasmuch as it went on to gain political hegemony over parts of the country for considerable periods of time, which meant that its impact on the religious life of the subcontinent has been greater compared to the other religions. It has also meant that Islam has existed in a religiously plural environment in India for a longer period than elsewhere in the world so that not only has Islam left a mark on India, India has also left its mark on it. Indeed all the three religions covered in this volume share this dual feature, that they have profoundly influenced Indian religious life and have also in turn been profoundly influenced by their presence in India.
ISBN: 9789402412673Publication Date: 2018-07-25
Jewish EnyclopediaThis website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations.
Reference titles
Most of these titles are in the reference section on the first floor, it's always good to check the location in the catalog!
Print Dictionaries
The complete English-Hebrew dictionary by Call Number: PJ4833 .A4 2000ISBN: 9654481790Publication Date: 2000
Oxford English-Hebrew Hebrew-English Dictionary by
80,000 entries Up-to-date idioms and expressions make this dictionary a sophisticated, bilingual tool. It has clear, bold type and includes notes on English grammar such as plurals, adjectives, verbs, tenses, time of day and much more.
Call Number: PJ4833 .O94 1995ISBN: 9653070274Publication Date: 1997-11-01
Up-to-Date Dictionary by
Contains rules of pronunciation of the English and Hebrew languages, numerous idioms and slang expressions. Useful for home or office, teachers and students. The new 2003 edition contains 82,000 entries.
Call Number: PJ4833 .Z553 2001ISBN: 9652228621Publication Date: 2000-01-01- מלון עברי־אנגלי של העברית הישראלית בת־זמננו by Call Number: PJ4833 .D24 1998ISBN: 9651701722Publication Date: 1998Hebrew-English Dictionary of Contemporary Israeli Hebrew
- Sephardic dictionary : Ladino to English, English to Ladino : a collection of the most used words by Call Number: Main Library PC4813.4 .P327 1992Publication Date: 1992
Modern English-Yiddish Dictionary by
The standard reference guide, with more than 20,000 entries ranging from colloquial to literary Yiddish, plus: a grammar guide, a pronunciation key, and instructions for usage nbsp; Dr. Uriel Weinreich's Modern English-Yiddish Yiddish-English Dictionary has been praised by both scholars and Yiddish writers for its completeness, its remarkable insight into the meanings of Yiddish words and expressions, and its precise presentation of Yiddish grammar and pronunciation. It is the work of one of this century's most admired scholars of Yiddish language and culture, and took twenty years to complete. nbsp; Comprehensive and reliable, the Modern English-Yiddish Yiddish-English Dictionary is the standard reference guide to contemporary Yiddish, an essential volume for the beginner and the expert alike.
Call Number: PJ5117 .W4 1977ISBN: 0805205756Publication Date: 1977
Yidish-English-Hebrew Dictionary by
Alexander Harkavy (1863-1939) is credited with almost single-handedly creating an intellectual environment conducive to Yiddish, and his trilingual dictionary is an indispensable tool for research in Yiddish language and literature. This dictionary has been a classic since it originally appeared in New York in 1925.
Call Number: PJ5117 .H54 2006ISBN: 0300108397Publication Date: 2005-09-10
Print Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of American Jewish History by
Written by the most prominent scholars in American Jewish history, this encyclopedia illuminates the varied experiences of America's Jews and their impact on American society and culture over three and a half centuries. * An outstanding series of maps by Sir Martin Gilbert locates places of origin, points of embarkation, sites of pogroms, Holocaust death camps, and transport routes * More than 125 photographs depict prominent individuals, Jewish neighborhoods, demonstrations, and rituals
Call Number: E184.35 .E53 2008ISBN: 1851096388Publication Date: 2007-08-28
Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture (7 Vol. Set) by
From Europe and America to the Middle East, North Africa and other non-European Jewish settlement areas, the Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture covers the recent history of the Jewish people from 1750 through the 1950s. Originally published in German as the Enzyklop die j discher Geschichte und Kultur by J.B. Metzler Verlag (Stuttgart/Weimar) in 2011 the work includes approximately 800 entries that present the state of international research and reveal a complex portrait of Jewish life - illuminated by many maps and illustrations. Central themes convey information on topics such as autonomy, exile, emancipation, literature, liturgy, music, and science of Judaism. The encyclopedia provides knowledge in an overall context and offers academics and other interested readers new insights into Jewish history and culture. The work is an outstanding contribution to the understanding of Judaism and modernity. The first volume of the English edition will appear in 2017 with subsequent volumes following in due course. The volumes may be purchased individually as they appear or as a set once all 7 are available. Both the German and the English editions will also be available online.
Call Number: DS102.8 .E59913 2017ISBN: 9004309403Publication Date: 2021-06-15
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust by
More information and sample text and photos available on the companion web site http://www.nyupress.org/jewishlife Winner of the 2001-2002 National Jewish Book Award, Reference Winner, Best Reference Resource, 2001, Library Journal Winner, Editor's Choice Award, Reference, 2001, Booklist Winner, Best Reference Book, 2001, Association of Jewish Libraries New York University Press announces with pride the publication of a remarkable project, The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust. Edited by Dr. Shmuel Spector and the late Dr. Geoffrey Wigoder and published in conjunction with Yad Vashem, the Holocaust Remembrance Authority of Israel, the Encyclopedia represents the fruit of more than three decades of labor and stands as one of the most important and ambitious projects the Press has published. Nobel Peace Prize-winner Elie Wiesel contributed the foreword. Today throughout much of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, only fragmentary remnants of once thriving Jewish communities can be found as evidence of more than two thousand years of vibrant Jewish presence among the nations of the world. These communities, many of them ancient, were systematically destroyed by Hitler's forces during the Holocaust. Yet each of their stories-from small village enclaves to large urban centers-is unique in its details and represents one of the countless intertwined threads that comprise the rich tapestry of Jewish history. The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust captures these lost images. In three volumes, it chronicles the people, habits and customs of more than 6,500 Jewish communities that thrived during the early part of the twentieth century only to be changed irrevocably by the war. It clarifies precise locations of settlements based on documents and maps found in recently opened archives; it traces their development through history; it shares small details of everyday life-the culture, the politics, and the faith that inspired the people; and its photographs put faces on the immeasurable loss. Based on decades of research at Yad Vashem, The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust tells the story of thousands of Jewish communities in concise prose, illustrated with maps and poignant images of a world that can no longer be visited. The Encyclopedia is a rich source of information for students, teachers, genealogists and anyone interested in the pageant of Jewish life through the ages. From the Foreword "But the enemy did not only annihilate individuals; his aim was also to destroy our social structures, our economic foundations, religious and secular, our schools, our institutions, our libraries, our workshops, our synagogues, our cultural centers-in a word: our communities. . . . In the Jewish world one knew a town by its Jewish life. Belz and Munkacs, Bialystok and Amsterdam, Kiev and Lille and Zablotow-offering families and individuals a sense of security and countless opportunities for fulfillment, each community had its own particular characteristics and problems, its roots, its challenges, and its ambitions. . . . To understand the extent of the unprecedented crimes committed against the Jewish people in Europe is not enough; one must also seek to understand the life of this people before the catastrophe." --Elie Wiesel Features -Three volumes -1,824 pages -81/2 x 11 -More than 6,500 communities profiled -600 b&w photographs and illustrations -17 pages of maps -21-page glossary -Complete bibliography -Index of communities including alternate spellings and pronunciations -Index of personalities Go to companion web site
ISBN: 0814793568Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Encyclopedia Judaica by
Providing an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, Second Edition is important to scholars, general readers and students. With more than 22,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, this second edition incorporates more than three decades of changes and the latest scholarship-such as new archaeological sites, theories and analytical methodologies. Featuring original work by top scholars representing all major universities and centres of research in Jewish studies, this invaluable set expands the scope and relevance of the original with some 2,200 brand-new entries.
Call Number: DS102.8 .E496 2007ISBN: 0028659287Publication Date: 2006-12-12
The Encyclopedia of Judaism by
The Encyclopedia of Judaism provides a full and reliable account of Judaism, the religion, its diverse history, literature, beliefs, practices, observances, and its place in the context of society and culture from ancient Israelite times to our own day. By reason of its antiquity, influence on other world religions, power to persuade the faithful of its truth, and contemporary vitality, Judaism demands sustained attention.
Call Number: BM50 .E63 1999ISBN: 0826411789Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Encyclopedia of Modern Jewish Culture by
The Encyclopedia of Modern Jewish Culture is an extensively updated revision of the very successful Companion to Jewish Culturepublished in 1989 and has now been updated throughout. Experts from all over the world contribute entries ranging from 200 to 1000 words broadly, covering the humanities, arts, social sciences, sport and popular culture, and 5000-word essays contextualize the shorter entries, and provide overviews to aspects of culture in the Jewish world. Ideal for student and general readers, the articles and biographies have been written by scholars and academics, musicians, artists and writers, and the book now contains up-to-date bibliographies, suggestions for further reading, comprehensive cross referencing, and a full index. This is a resource, no student of Jewish history will want to go without. amp;lt;/P>
Call Number: DS102.8 .E56 2005ISBN: 041529813XPublication Date: 2005-01-12
Historical Dictionary of Judaism by
This third edition of Historical Dictionary of Judaism covers the history of the Jewish religion, ranging from its biblical roots, through its formulation in the era of the Talmud, to the present day. This collection covers the development of Judaism in the medieval Christian and Islamic worlds, its varied responses to Enlightenment and modernity, the creation of new philosophies of Judaism in the wake of the Holocaust, and the establishment of the State of Israel, and contemporary issues such as feminism, secularism, and the ethics of war and medicine. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 800 cross-referenced entries on important personalities in Jewish religious history, including biblical personalities with an emphasis on how they are understood in Jewish, Christian, and Islamic tradition. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Judaism.
Call Number: BM50 .S65 2015ISBN: 1442241411Publication Date: 2015-01-30
Historical Dictionary of Prophets in Islam and Judaism by
Both traditions recognize and draw theological and historical lessons from some of the same narrative sources, but this is the first comparative resource to provide interdisciplinary coverage of the history and textual sources associated with prophets and prophecy. This thorough treatment of a difficult and increasingly controversial subject area will encourage and cultivate knowledge and understanding.
Call Number: BM645.P67 N64 2002ISBN: 0810843056Publication Date: 2002-09-26
The Holocaust Encyclopedia by
The Holocaust has been the subject of countless books, works of art, and memorials. Fifty-five years after the fact the world still ponders the enormity of this disaster. The Holocaust Encyclopedia is the only comprehensive single-volume work of reference providing both a reflective overview of the subject and abundant detail concerning major events, policy decisions, cities, and individuals. Up-to-date and designed for easy access, the encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust in essays by scholars from eleven countries who draw on a number of sources--including recently uncovered evidence from the former Soviet bloc--to provide in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, and moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, and individuals. The book also has more than 250 photographs, many of them rare, and 19 maps. The volume includes: * Raul Hilberg on concentration camps and Gypsies * Ruth Bondy, Israel Gutman, and Dina Porat on major ghettoes * Roger Greenspun on the Holocaust in cinema and television * Richard Breitman on American policy * Michael Berenbaum on theological and philosophical responses * Saul Friedländer on Nazi policy * Michael Hagemeister on the Protocols of the Elders of Zion * Michael R. Marrus on historiography * Christopher R. Browning on the Madagascar Plan * Robert S. Wistrich on Holocaust denial * James E. Young on Holocaust literature
Call Number: D804.25 .H66 2001ISBN: 0300084323Publication Date: 2001-03-29
Holocaust Literature by
Featuring 300 alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words, this comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events. Including writers whose works first appeared in Czech, Dutch, English, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Italian, Portuguese, Polish, Russian, Spanish, and Yiddish, this reference provides wide international coverage, though its focus will be on writers whose work is available in English. It will prove a valuable resource to students, scholars, general readers, or to anyone interested in world history. Also includes maps. For a full list of entries, sample entries, and more, visit the website Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work website.
Call Number: PN56.H55 H66 2003ISBN: 0415929857Publication Date: 2002-12-20
Medieval Jewish Civilization by
This is the first encyclopedic work to focus exclusively on medieval Jewish civilization, from the fall of the Roman Empire to about 1492. The more than 150 alphabetically organized entries, written by scholars from around the world, include biographies, countries, events, social history, and religious concepts. The coverage is international, presenting people, culture, and events from various countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East. For a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample entries, and more, visit the Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia website.
Call Number: DS124 .M386 2003ISBN: 0415937124Publication Date: 2002-11-27
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism by
Winner, The New York Public Library, Best of Reference Award, 2002 New York University Press is proud to announce the return of a valuable resource for both Jewish families and those interested in learning more about the Jewish faith. The New Encyclopedia of Judaism is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that accessibly presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements. The original version of the encyclopedia was selected by the American Library Association as an Outstanding Reference Book. This revised and expanded edition updates the original thousand entries and adds nearly 250 new ones. Magnificently illustrated, it also contains a new introduction, a guide for usage, new illustrations, as well as a new annotated bibliography. Its compilation was overseen by the late Geoffrey Wigoder, best known as the Editor-in-chief of the Encyclopedia Judaica. The articles cover a vast spectrum of topics. There are biographical entries on biblical figures, rabbis, and others whose thoughts and actions have influenced the development of Judaism. Also included are dozens of insightful commentaries on specific prayers. Issues of particular contemporary interest are given special attention, as are women's roles, with a separate entry on the feminist movement and new biographical entries on figures ranging from Miriam and Deborah to Blu Greenberg and Suzannah Heschel. Particularly emphasized are the customs and folk traditions of Jewish outposts the world over. Authoritative and accessible, The New Encyclopedia of Judaism fulfills the promise of the first edition and serves as a standard one-volume Jewish reference work for the new millennium. It is an ideal reference for every Jewish household and synagogue library.
Call Number: BM50 .E63 2002ISBN: 0814793886Publication Date: 2002-09-01
JPS Hebrew - English Tanakh by
Read our customer guide Bound in navy leatherette with gilded edges and navy satin ribbon; padded binding. The JPS Hebrew-English TANAKH features the oldest-known complete Hebrew version of the Holy Scriptures, side by side with JPS's renowned English translation. Its well-designed format allows for ease of reading and features clear type, an engaging and efficient two-column format that enables readers to move quickly from one language to another, and an organization that contemporary readers will find familiar. The Hebrew text of this TANAKH is based on the famed Leningrad Codex, the Masoretic text traceable to Aaron ben Moses ben Asher, ca. 930 CE. Ben-Asher researched all available texts to compile an authoritative Bible manuscript. In 1010 CE his work was revised by Samuel ben Jacob, a scribe in Egypt. Lost for centuries, the manuscript was eventually discovered in the mid-nineteenth century and became known as the Leningrad Codex. This edition adapts the latest BHS edition of the Leningrad text by correcting errors and providing modern paragraphing. The English text in this TANAKH is a slightly updated version of the acclaimed 1985 JPS translation. Wherever possible, the results of modern study of the languages and culture of the ancient Near East have been brought to bear on the biblical text, which allows for an English style reflective of the biblical spirit and language rather than of the era of the translation. This edition also includes an informative preface that discusses the history of Bible translation, focusing on the latest JPS English translation of the Holy Scriptures. It is the result of a 30-year interdenominational collaboration of eminent Jewish Bible scholars. Readers are sure to appreciate one of the most intensive projects in the history of The Jewish Publication Society.
Call Number: BS895 .J4 1999ISBN: 0827606567Publication Date: 1999-05-01
