English Language Articles
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowOver 900,000 citations of Western-language journal articles, review articles, conference proceedings, chapters in edited volumes, and Festschriften published anywhere in the world that deal with East, Southeast and South Asia and with the overseas Asian communities, dating primarily from 1971 onwards.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA citation database of articles published in over 2,000 journals on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text.
Note: Newer works published in the recent 3-5 years may not be included. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCitation of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics published from over 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of hundreds of university press and other journals. Older issues of many (but not all) of the journals are available in JSTOR. The Project MUSE advanced search allows you to search and link through to the corresponding JSTOR archives as well.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from hundreds of electronic journals and thousands of electronic books published by Springer and its subsidiaries. Many of the journals and books are available for full-text display.
- Foreign Office Files for China This link opens in a new windowIncludes all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1949 and 1980. These formerly restricted British government documents, consist of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies, summaries of events, and a variety of other materials.1949-1956: The Communist revolution1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International PropagandaA collection of international documentary, newsreel and feature films reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers.
Chinese Language Articles
- CNKI China Academic Journals 中国期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new windowUC has access to the journals in the F (Literature/History/Philosophy), G (Politics/Law), H (Education/Social Sciences), and J (Economics/Management) portions of the database, approximately 1,700 journal titles.
A primary Chinese journal article database. - Chinese Communist Party History Database 中共党史期刊数据库 This link opens in a new windowClick "返回首頁" on the landing page to start.
Chinese Communist Party history database is a full-text database, providing access to journal articles on Chinese Communist Party history from 1900-1945.
- Chinese Cultural Revolution Database 中国文化大革命文库Full text of 10,000+ historical materials related to the Cultural Revolution, including Chinese Communist Party documents, speeches and writings by major party leaders and media commentaries.
- Collection of Chinese Literature and History Database 中国文史资料集粹 This link opens in a new window
An important resource for scholars of 20th century China, this database contains full texts of more than 20,000 volumes (650,000 articles) of publications arranged by regions and provinces. The articles are mostly first-person narratives on history, culture, politics, economy, literature and ethnicity.
- Dacheng Old Journals Full-text Database 大成老旧期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new windowFull texts of over 6,000 journals published between 1883 and 1949.
- Dragon Source 龙源Full texts of thousands of Chinese popular magazines and journals. UCSB has subscription to 1000 titles. They can be read from cover to cover in image file as a print copy in its entirety, or in text format, which offers "copy and paste" as well as"search" functions.
- Duxiu 读秀 This link opens in a new windowProvides full text search to 600 million volumes of e-books, dissertations, journals, magazines, web pages and newspapers. Its comprehensiveness and functionality can be best related as the Chinese version of Google Books and Google Scholar.
- Renda Periodicals 人大复印报刊资料数据库Access to 全文数据库 and 数字期刊库 only.
Note: Six (6) accesses shared among 4 UC campuses. - Encyclopedia of Taiwan 台灣文獻叢刊 This link opens in a new windowIncludes 309 books of classics related to Taiwanese studies from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese Occupation.
Note: Six (6) accesses shared among all UC campuses. Try again later if refused. Log out after use. - Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services 台灣電子期刊服務網 This link opens in a new windowFull texts and indexes of Taiwanese periodicals, covering Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Applied Sciences, and Medical and Life Sciences. Additional titles are added regularly. For better search result, users have to search in Chinese.
- Bibliothèque Numérique Asiatique/Asian Digital LibraryIncludes books, periodicals, archives, dissertations, films, and soundtracks from the resources available both in the personal libraries of scholars, on public institutional sites, individual sites, document and archival funds or even on commercial sites. Important titles include 點石齋畫報全集.
- Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Full-text Database 晚清期刊全文数据库 (1816-1911)
Contains historical articles from 600 periodicals, this collection covers the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898, and Revolution of 1911.
Chinese Article Interlibrary Loan (for articles can't be fulfilled by UCSB ILL)
- University of Pittsburgh's East Asian Gateway ServiceONLY for articles can't be fulfilled in the US.