About Articles
This page presents resources for locating journal articles that will be useful for your research in Film and Media Studies. These are good places to learn what other scholars have already said about a topic, to identify potential primary sources for your review, and to locate gaps in scholarship where you can contribute to the ongoing conversation. To thoroughly research your topic, you will want to use a mix of sources including books, articles, media, and primary sources. Although not as comprehensive in coverage, journal articles are published more quickly and more frequently than books and monographs and are thus usually the best place to find the most recent discussions about a topic. No matter what type of source you use, be sure to critically evaluate the sources of your information using a method such as the ACT UP Source Evaluation Process.
Find Articles
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes content from scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals. Includes biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains citations from academic and popular film journals.
Remember to click the UC e-links link to find the article, either full-text (online) or in print on the library shelves.
If the library doesn't have access to the article you need, the Get it at UC button will provide a link to Interlibrary Loan (REQUEST).
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes journals published throughout the world. Also includes a targeted selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
- Africa-Wide Information (NiPAD) This link opens in a new window
Combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, focusing on health relating to Africa and other developing nations.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Indexes primarily western-language articles and book chapters on all topics pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia (especially humanities and social sciences).
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
- Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature. Contains indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, etc.
- Communication Source (including Communication Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
Full-text research database for communication studies. Offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of journals and books in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more (including those from Artstor).
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to essential humanities and social science research. Hosts journals and books from leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers. Note that UCSB does not subscribe to all of the journals or books on the Project Muse platform; items whose full text is accessible are denoted by a green check mark.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes journal articles, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Film Review Index by Call Number: PN1995 .F4655 1986Publication Date: 1986-07-01Full text temporarily available at HathiTrust.- Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals 1930-1971 by Call Number: PN1993 .B39 1975Publication Date: 1975This item has temporarily been changed from Non-circulating to Regular Loan during the COVID-19 pandemic.
- Film Literature Index by Call Number: PN1993 F58Publication Date: 1973-2004Coverage from 1976-2001 is online as the Film Literature Index database.
This item has temporarily been changed from Non-circulating to Regular Loan during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Try searching these film indexes, catalogs, and academic journals for film reviews.
Tip: Do a keyword search for your film title.
Add a director or actor last name if the title is a common word or phrase.
Pro Tip: Use quotation marks if there is more than one word in the title.
Examples:
"The Kid" AND Chaplin | "Fried Green Tomatoes" | "Kung Fu Hustle"