Hearst Newsreels 1929-1967 (UCLA Film & Television Archive) **NEW**
All-American News (Library of Congress): Newsreels produced in the 1940s-1950s specifically for black audiences to encourage participation in and support the war effort and to reflect the African American perspective on world and national events. Read more about the collection and the production.
British Pathé: Includes Gaumont Graphic (1910-1932), Empire News Bulletin (1926-1930) British Paramount (1931-1957), and Gaumont British (1934-1959)
Cineteca Nacional Mexico: Their collection on YouTube includes a selection of the newsreel "Noticiero Mexicano"
Filmoteca Espanola Online Collections: Includes newsreels from the Spanish Civil War in their Civil War Collection and Historical Archive Collection
Fox Movietone News Collection (University of South Carolina Moving Image Research Collection): Includes Fox News (1919-1930) and Fox Movietone News (1927-1963
Hearst Metrotone Newsreels (UCLA Film & Television Archive): Includes a small selection of digitized material (1914-1968) from their larger collection.
Israel Film Archive / Jerusalem Cinematheque
Library of Congress National Screening Room
Paramount Newsreels and American Pathé (1895-1956) from the Sherman Grinberg Film Library
National Film Preservation Foundation (NFPF)
National Cinema of Chile includes newscasts, documentaries, and films about the government in its online collections.
Hungarian National Film Archive - A selection of Hungarian World newsreels (1931-1924)
EYE Filmmuseum (Netherlands) - A selection of newsreels are on their YouTube page and Mirror of the Netherlands (1958-1960) is available in the "Journal" subcollection
The Performing Arts Collection contains more than 300,000 historical sound recordings and over 150 archival collections containing manuscripts, letters, photographs, scrapbooks, artwork and other primary source documents that document and support research in the performing arts, including music, theater, dance, broadcast media (film/television/radio), and the circus.
Dame Judith Anderson Collection, ca. 1915-1980s
Film Press Kit Collection (PA Mss 39)
Film Scripts Collection (PA Mss 60) -- 247 screenplays for major and independent American films (1950s-2003)
Margaret Herrick Library (MHL) Digital Collections - Contains more than 35,000 items representing a curated selection of materials from the library's holdings including correspondence, photographs, sheet music, scrapbooks, lobby cards, movie ephemera, books, film magazines, and industry publications.
UCLA Library Digital Collections - Provides access to more than 10,000 digitized motion picture stills , digitized images from the Los Angeles Times and Los Angeles Daily News, and UCLA preserved silent animation.
Academy Film Archive - Dedicated to the preservation, restoration, documentation, exhibition and study of motion pictures the collections include Academy Award® nominated films, the annual Oscar® telecasts, documentaries, silent movies, experimental films, film industry related interviews, behind-the-scenes footage, home movies, and a wide range of international cinema. Be sure to review their policies for access and use
Autry Museum of the American West (Collections are searchable online but unavailable for research until late 2021) - The Autry's Library and Archives hold unique, rare and significant primary and secondary resources focusing on the peoples and cultures of the American West including materials related to the motion picture industry such as films, promotional brochures, as well as collections from Western stunt performers and actors.
Frances Howard Goldwyn Hollywood Regional Library (Special Collections) is a public library collection that represents Hollywood in film, television, the performing arts, and community history. The collection includes many out-of-print books, film yearbooks (1920s-30s), casting directories, unpublished motion picture and television scripts, production files, posters and lobby cards, theatre and dance programs, as well as community records related to events and notable community members.
Hollywood Heritage Museum - Hollywood Heritage works to preserve and protect the historic built environment of Hollywood and operates the Hollywood Heritage Museum (the Lasky DeMille Barn). Their archive includes documents, photographs, and paper ephemera relating to the history of both Hollywood and the film industry as well as an object collection which includes costumes, equipment and props used in films. Contact them to schedule an appointment.
Louis B. Mayor Library (American Film Institute) - Dedicated to supporting AFI Conservatory studies by offering resources that complement the curriculum and promote scholarship. Resources include books and periodicals, photographs, published and unpublished scripts, a film and television collection (including all films made by AFI Conservatory Fellows and the Directing Workshop for Women, as well as the AFI Archives. Review access and use policies prior to contacting.
Margaret Herrick Library - Devoted to the history and development of the motion picture as an art form and an industry the Library holds periodicals, books and pamphlets, scripts, production files, oral histories, and much more which can be explored via catalogs and databases. Review the library's policies for access and use as well as their modified remote research and reference services before contacting them, but expect slower response times during closure for the pandemic.
The Mayme A. Clayton Library & Museum (MCLM) Film & Recorded Sound Archives - Collections related to the history and culture of African Americans in the United States, with a special focus on Southern California and the American West, including more than 700 film titles with strengths in pre-1959 black films. Be sure to review their policies for access and use and complete a Research Application before contacting.
UCLA Performing Arts Collections - Acquires materials in all formats that document the performing arts created in and around Los Angeles and Southern California including film, television, dance, theater, and music. Collections include scrapbooks, personal papers, scripts, oral histories, and publicity materials. Review their helpful guide to conducting film and television research as well as their guide specific to Women in Entertainment.
USC Cinematic Arts Library - Extensive book collection and archives focusing on the history of the film industry, including photographs, scores, and artifacts. Significant collections include the Constance McCormick Collection of print articles, photos and reviews; the Elmer Bernstein Collection of music, film, and related materials; The Archives of Performing Arts containing the studio collections of MGM, Universal Studios, Twentieth Century Fox, Hal Roach, Republic Pictures, and Carolco Pictures; and The Warner Bros. Archives which contains the records of Warner Bros. Pictures Inc. and its subsidiaries including First National and Vitagraph (1918-1968).