Using Article Databases
Use one or more of the Library's article databases to find in-depth scholarly articles. Here are the basic steps:
1. Decide which database to use. You can browse a list of the Library's databases organized alphabetically, by subject, or by type.
2. I've listed a few excellent databases for this topic in the column below.
3. Always use the Advanced Search option.
4. Databases don't like full sentences! Build your search using a few words that best describe the main concepts of your topic. These are your "keywords."
4. Select whichever filters are appropriate. You may need to select "peer-reviewed" or "academic articles" in the left margin.
6. Do not select "full text" as one of the filters because this will severely limit your results. Instead, see #7 below.
7. If the full text of an article is not available in the database itself, use the 
link. This will take you to the article on another platform or it will offer you an option to order a scanned copy through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
8. Most article databases allow you to save, email, cite, download, or export citations or full articles.
Article Databases
-
Olympic Movement: Sport, Global Politics and Identity
This multi-archive resource covers the development of the modern Olympic Games from 1896 to 1992, telling the story of the world’s biggest sporting event through primary sources while shining a light on key social and political phenomena throughout the twentieth century.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering thousands of journals and other publications. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, and indexing/abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books across hundreds of disciplines.
-
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and related disciplines from professional journals, book chapters, books, reports, and dissertations. Most citations include abstracts. In addition, there are millions of cited references in journal articles, books, and chapters.
-
Counseling & Therapy in Video: Library
Contains streaming video files of actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals. Provides a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
-
Counseling & Therapy in Video: Library
Contains streaming video files of actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals. Provides a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for millions of articles in medicine, life science, and health administration. Includes full contents of MEDLINE, plus "in process" citations for recent articles, and some additional references from life sciences journals.
-
MEDLINE (Web of Science)
The MEDLINE database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, is widely recognized as the premier source for citations, indexing, and abstracts of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information relevant to the fields of medicine, nursing, and dentistry, and it also covers areas of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering that are related to health and biomedicine.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Includes 3 primary collections: 1) full-text news sources (U.S. and international) 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents - U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to global news and business information, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, websites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Provides company information including market data, competitors, company profiles, financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting. Includes full-text of the Wall Street Journal and the Financial Times.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. Includes daily updates and provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications.
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
-
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. Includes English-language titles from East and West Africa, Asia, and South and Central America, the Caribbean, North America and Europe.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Covers scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental-organization and special reports. Provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, and the impact of gender and gender roles on society.
-
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
Offers three centuries of primary source material for the exploration of gender history from traditional constructions of femininity and masculinity, to the struggle for women’s rights and the emergence of the men’s movement. Explore records from men’s and women’s organisations, advice literature and etiquette books to reveal developing gender roles and relations.
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2023 This link opens in a new window
Serves as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2023.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Draws information from an international selection of thousands of journals and other sources.