The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit membership organization that coordinates the U.S. voluntary standards system. Among the features of this site are: the ANSI Public Document Library, containing various publications and forms that ANSI uses in electronic form and NSSN a site with searchable indexes to national and international standards and ordering information.
"Incorporated by Reference" refers to standards which are referred to in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and become part of the regulation. Since the CFR is a matter of public record, ANSI has created a database my read the full text of such standards. Note that the text cannot be printed or downloaded from this site - only read online. The site includes a page listing other organizations that provide free readable access to their IBR standards (https://ibr.ansi.org/Standards/Default.aspx#sdo)
The American Petroleum Institute, among its many activities, develops standards for the petroleum industry. Among the features of this site is Infoport, a searchable database of API publications (including standards) with online ordering capability.
Through its membership, ASHRAE writes standards that set uniform methods of testing and rating equipment and establish accepted practices for the HVAC&R industry worldwide, such as the design of energy efficient buildings.
ASTM International is one of the largest voluntary standards development organizations in the world-a trusted source for technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services. The ASTM standards collection includes a host of detailed standard testing methods. The online collection may be searched by keyword, or browsed by standard number, and includes both the most up-to-date standards as well as previous versions. ASTM Compass has the full text of all current and recent pat ASTM standards (as well as other ASTM materials.) Access is limited to UCSB Internet addresses, or UCSB users of the proxy server or VPN.
Featuring information about Military Specifications and Standards reform, including Acquisition Practices Directorate and the Office of the Deputy Under-Secretary of Defense for Industrial Affairs & Installations, Defense Standards Improvement Council, and the Standardization Library.
EverySpec.com is a commercial, advertiser-supported site which provides free access to over 20,000 Military, DoD, Federal, NASA, DOE, and Government specifications, standards, handbooks, and publications. Publications are available as PDF files.
An agency under the U. S. Department of Commerce, NIST's explicit mission is to promote U.S. economic growth by working with industry to develop and apply technology,measurements, and standards. See espeically their Standards.gov website.
UL is the leading third-party certification organization in the United States and the largest in North America. As a not-for-profit product safety testing and certification organization, UL has been evaluating products in the interest of public safety since 1894. UL's activities involve evaluating more than 16,500 different types of products for safety hazards, developing standards to test products, and registering the quality systems of organizations worldwide to various quality standards. This site gives information on how to order UL standards.