LibGuides: Technical Reports: Indexes & Databases

Indexes and Databases

Once you have relevant citations, use the Ask a Librarian service or contact the Government Data & Information Librarian if you need assistance in locating the full text of a document.

Comprehensive sources for technical reports:

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to US Federal government technical reports in science and technology. Indexes reports and provides PDF copies of some reports. Note: While access is free to the public, you must register with NTRL to gain access, and you may only download five reports per session. Also, free access is only available within the borders of the United States of America.
Date Coverage: 1964 - present (index); 1995 - present (full-text PDFs)
Materials Indexed: Technical Reports
Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) This link opens in a new window
A collaborative project from academic libraries working to build a complete collection of digitized technical reports. Most of the technical reports were issued prior to 1976, with some reports as late as 1999.
NASA Technical Reports Server This link opens in a new window
Provides access to NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results. The types of information included are NASA STI Series reports, abstracts, book chapters and books, conference papers and presentations, contractor and grantee reports, journal articles, patents, technical reports, technical videos, and white papers – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new window
Portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. OSTI.GOV was developed to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies.

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) (citations and full text)
- The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.

National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP) (citations and full text)
- This site is EPA's premier site for accessing EPA publications, with more than 7,000 in stock and 35,000 digital titles, free of charge. EPA’s print publications are available through the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP), and EPA's digital publications are stored in the National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) database.

BEACON eSpace at Jet Propulsion Laboratory (citations and full text)
- BEACON provides digital copies of JPL-authored externally published papers and reprints.

OpenNet (citations and full text)
- Use OpenNet to locate over 485,000 bibliographic references and 140,000 recently declassified documents, including information declassified in response to Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests received by the Department of Energy.