Sociology: Reference Sources

Containing over 750 in-depth entries, this is the most wide-ranging and up-to-date dictionary of critical theory available. This authoritative guide covers the whole range of critical theory, including the Frankfurt school, cultural materialism, cultural studies, gender studies, film studies,literary theory, hermeneutics, historical materialism, and socio-political critical theory. Entries clearly explain complex theoretical discourses such as Marxism, psychoanalysis, structuralism, deconstruction, and postmodernism. There are biographies of hundreds of important figures in the field,with feature entries for those who have heavily influenced areas of the discipline, such as Derrida and Deleuze.This new edition of the dictionary has been updated to extend coverage of diaspora, race and postcolonial theory, including key authors such as C. L. R. James and Paul Gilroy, and of queer and sexuality studies, including notable figures such as Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick. Fully revised to keep up todate with this diverse field, this new edition expands the coverage to include entries such as hyperobject and transgender.Entries are fully cross-referenced and many contain further reading suggestions.Covering all aspects of critical theory from globalization and race studies, to queer theory and feminism, this multidisciplinary A-Z is essential for students in the humanities and social sciences.

This accessible dictionary provides authoritative definitions of terms in the field of organizational behaviour. Coverage spans ethics, stress and well-being, teamwork, leadership, and management knowledge. Including entries on key terms such as actor-network theory, iron cage, organizational space, and work–life balance, the dictionary encapsulates the different perspectives and concepts that make up organizational behaviour in one easy-to-use resource.

With additional features including a guide to further reading and recommended websites, it will be an invaluable resource for students, lecturers, and business professionals, and serve as a useful supplement to the dictionaries of Business and Management, Human Resource Management, Marketing, and Psychology.

Sexual non-normativity in the early-21st-century social sciences not only describes the cultural, social, and political needs, interests, experiences, and struggles of nonheterosexual desires and representations, but it also includes an array of identity formations. What does it mean to be “non-normative”? Ideally speaking, this connotation structures around a political claiming, a subversive metaphor that does not adhere to the standard gender(ed) expressions. That said, these gender traits challenge the cultural norms, or the dominant languages as historically coined within the medical dictionary. In order to address this, the politics further renders a non-foundationalist approach to gender, as making an attempt to de-objectify any sort of typification of classification. In addition, the diversity and fluidity of it aims to install de-pathologization of identity category, and further, to pacify the rigid gender traits that could potentially make gender more discrete. Thus, its very fluidity establishes an unsettling position of gender and sexual choices, as further to establish anti-imperial, non-hegemonic claim in the US-centric gender positions and theorizations. In lines to this argument, non-normative sexuality studies are an attempt to collate interdisciplinary and non–Euro-American modes of texts, theories, and approaches from the domains of culture, desire, beauty, aging, legalities, medicine, and health, complemented with several dimensions of these disciplines to create a bibliographical space addressing the several bodies, identities, and experiences of these representations. Furthermore, it maps the various changes in the lives, personal experiences, forms of discrimination faced in the past or present, needs, interests, and perspectives of these individuals in varied geopolitics, contexts, and cultures—modeling approaches that might be seen as alternatives to the dominant queer studies. My heartfelt thanks to Professor Raewyn Connell for introducing me to the Oxford Bibliographies series, Ms. Neha Pande as my research assistant who enabled me to complete this important piece of work, and Ms. Jennifer Pierce from Oxford University Press.

A consistent best-seller, the wide-ranging and authoritative Dictionary of Sociology was first published in 1994 and contains more than 2,500 entries on the terminology, methods, concepts, and thinkers in the field, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.For this fourth edition, Professor John Scott has conducted a thorough review of all entries to ensure that they are concise, focused, and up to date. Revisions reflect current intellectual debates and social conditions, particularly in relation to globaland multi-cultural issues. New entries cover relevant contemporary concepts, such as climate change, social media, terrorism, and intersectionality, as well as key living sociologists.This Dictionary is both an invaluable introduction to sociology for beginners, and an essential source of reference for more advanced students and teachers.Readership: Invaluable for A-level and undergraduate students, lecturers and teachers, and professionals; ideal for anyone looking for an introduction to sociology.

Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Theory presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary compendium of original entries focusing on the origins, evolution, and global development of contemporary social theory. Presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary overview and analysis of all aspects of social theory Features more than 850 in-depth, original entries contributed by international experts Includes all major theories, theorists, schools of thought, disciplines, debates, doctrines, developments, epistemologies, and methodologies relating to the development of modern social theory Brings in concepts from contemporary cultural studies, feminism, post-secularism, and postmodernism Explores controversial contemporary debates relating to the clash of civilization, environmentalism, post-colonialism, post-humanism, cyborgs, and the life-extension project

This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic, and addresses questions such as:   ·         What are the key theories used to understand variations in sexual orientation and gender identity? ·         How do Gay Straight Alliances (GSA) affect LGBTQ youth? ·         How do LGBTQ people experience the transition to parenthood? ·         How does sexual orientation intersect with other key social locations, such as race, to shape experience and identity? ·         What are the effects of marriage equality on sexual minority individuals and couples?   Top researchers and clinicians contribute to the 400 signed entries, from fields such as:   ·         Psychology ·         Human Development ·         Gender/Queer Studies ·         Sexuality Studies ·         Social Work ·         Sociology   The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies is an essential resource for researchers interested in an interdisciplinary perspective on LGBTQ lives and issues.

This is the first book to define and explore Black fatigue, the intergenerational impact of systemic racism on the physical and psychological health of Black people--and explain why and how society needs to collectively do more to combat its pernicious effects. Black people, young and old, are fatigued, says award-winning diversity and inclusion leader Mary-Frances Winters. It is physically, mentally, and emotionally draining to continue to experience inequities and even atrocities, day after day, when justice is a God-given and legislated right. And it is exhausting to have to constantly explain this to white people, even--and especially--well-meaning white people, who fall prey to white fragility and too often are unwittingly complicit in upholding the very systems they say they want dismantled. This book, designed to illuminate the myriad dire consequences of "living while Black," came at the urging of Winters's Black friends and colleagues. Winters describes how in every aspect of life--from economics to education, work, criminal justice, and, very importantly, health outcomes--for the most part, the trajectory for Black people is not improving. It is paradoxical that, with all the attention focused over the last fifty years on social justice and diversity and inclusion, little progress has been made in actualizing the vision of an equitable society. Black people are quite literally sick and tired of being sick and tired. Winters writes that "my hope for this book is that it will provide a comprehensive summary of the consequences of Black fatigue, and awaken activism in those who care about equity and justice--those who care that intergenerational fatigue is tearing at the very core of a whole race of people who are simply asking for what they deserve." 

The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology.