Article Databases
UCSB Library provides access to a wide variety of databases to support research in sociology.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Widely regarded as the leading guide to the alternative press in North America. Citations are drawn from roughly 380 alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Indexes such important periodicals as: Cineaste, Environmental Action, Socialist Review, and Women's Review of Books.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowImportant database that covers culture, history and society in the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowSignificant database that covers world's scholarly business sources, industries, and social sciences
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSignificant database that covers news sources, general topics, government, industries, legal issues and social sciences
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowGreat database for citation searching
- Social Sciences Databases (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA combined search of the best databases for sociology and social sciences research. Includes citations to articles, books, theses and dissertations, government publications, and reports
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowImportant database that focuses on political science, international relations, law and public administration and policy, and social sciences
Journal Search
To search for journals on a particular subject, or if you know the name of a journal you'd like to access, use the Journal Search.
Use the menu on the left to search by subject (e.g. Social Sciences).
Enter the name of the journal in the search bar to view our holdings (remember to enter the name of the journal and not the title of the article within the journal).
Google Scholar
Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources
Learn how you can connect UCSB Library to Google Scholar to easily access the full text of an article through UC Library Search.
Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources from UCSB Library on Vimeo.
Transcript:
Title: Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources: Teaching & Learning Series
Body: Starting on the Google Scholar homepage, login to Google using your UCSB NetID and password. Once you are logged in, find the menu in the top left corner of the screen and select the “settings” option, then the “library links” option. In the search box, enter “University of California, Santa Barbara” and search. Find the “Get it At UC” option and make sure the box is checked, then save your changes. Now, you can search for full-text articles in UCSB Library from Google Scholar! On the Google Scholar homepage, enter your search terms and search. Look for the “Get it at UC” links to access the full-text resource through the Library website. You’ve done it! Having trouble? Ask for help. Need help with your research? Visit us online: library.ucsb.edu/ask
For Articles Not Available at UCSB
Request an item directly from UC Library Search or a database (FASTEST service):
- Article Indexes & Research DatabasesLook for "Get it at UC" options