Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French: Full-Text Sources

Primary Sources and Archival Collections

See also the "Articles" tab above.
 
ABU: la Bibliothèque Universelle
Contains the full text of hundreds of French literary works that are in the public domain. Authors include Balzac, Flaubert, Hugo, Racine, and Voltaire. Links to ClicNet and some dictionaries.
ATHENA Textes Français
A vast database developed by Pierre Perroud of full-text books and documents, primarily of French and Swiss authors.
ARTFL Project
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) is a cooperative project based at the University of Chicago. The database contains close to 2,000 electronic texts ranging from works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and writing, and includes links to related sites and electronic resources.
 
Cairn
Online, full-text access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences, published since 2001. While access to current issues is restricted (a moving wall varies from title to title), full text searching, access to the archives, tables of contents, and article summaries are free of charge.
 
ClicNet: Littérature Francophone Virtuelle
Excerpts from contemporary francophone literature with links to web resources covering French language, art, literature, and culture. Maintained by Carole Netter, Swarthmore College.
Corpus de la littérature narrative
A digital library of about 1000 narrative works (novels, tales, and short stories) developed with the ARTFL Project at the University of Chicago.
EuroDocs
Richard Hacken of Brigham Young University has developed an impressive website of primary documents from Western Europe, arranged by country. The links connect to historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated, and which shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history).
French Language Resources
A collection of French texts at the University of Virginia's Electronic Text Center. Limited searching allowed for non-UVa users.
Gallica
Digitized, searchable texts from the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, including literary and reference materials, maps, images, and more.
 
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. You can search the full text of most items, including those that are in the public domain, but items still under copyright provide only limited access.   The University of California is a HathiTrust Partner Institution; you can log in with your UCSB NetID to get the most out of the collections.
 
Lire les femmes écrivains et les littératures africaines
An elegant effort to provide texts of novels, short stories, plays and poetry written by African women authors writing in French. Includes a general overview of the literature, biographical information of writers, and a number of links to other literary and political resources.
Littérature de langue française en ligne
Based at the Graduate Center at CUNY, this provides links to author sites, online texts, dictionaries, and other literature resources. Divided at one point into research by century.
Online Medieval and Classical Library
A collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization. Douglas B. Killings is responsible for the project, which is provided through the Berkeley Digital Library SunSITE.
Poésie Française
Over 6,000 francophone poems from the Renaissance to the early 20th century.
 
Revues.org
A platform for free, open-access journals and book collections in the humanities and social sciences, many in French.
 
Le Théâtre de la foire à ParisA hypertext project devoted to la foire à Paris (17th & 18th centuries), created and maintained by Barry Russell of Oxford Brookes University.
Théâtrales
Collection of hypertexts on theater.
                                                                                                                                                                                                        
 
University of Virginia's Online French Texts
Collection of searchable French texts and images.

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies