Article Databases
Below is a select list of article databases that are particularly useful for French literature and language, many of which contain the full text of articles. If you do not see a link to the full text, use the 
link to find a different access point or to order a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
The complete A-Z list of databases is here.
Article Databases
- ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
Includes a variety of databases for research in the French language, including a text-searchable database of works of French literature and databases of French women writers and of Provençal poetry. Links to a variety of other resources in French language and literature, including dictionaries and thesauri.
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new windowAn international index to 3,000 journals across major scholarly disciplines, with a particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Coverage begins in 1984 and is updated monthly. Searches can be limited to French language only.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe standard bibliography for all modern languages and literatures worldwide. Indexes journals, monographs, working papers and proceedings, but does not include book reviews. Searches can be limited to French language only.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowLiterature Online (LION) is a large collection of full-text works of prose, poetry and drama. Works may be located by author or title, or searched full-text for specific words or phrases. Additionally, you can search secondary sources for biographical and critical pieces on authors and their works.
- Brepolis Medieval & Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOver 300,000 articles from regular periodicals, conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogs. Searches can be limited to French language only.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIncludes two separate databases: one indexes journal articles and reviews from over 550 journals, the other is a bibliography of monographs, essays, and other scholarly resources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is technically not an index, but rather an archive of fullt-text scholarly journals available from the first issue of the journal to roughly 3-5 years ago. UCSB now has access to some current content: look for the green icon to see if we have subscribed.
You can limit your searches to French language only. - Grand Tour This link opens in a new window
Consists of manuscripts, visual and printed works on the history of travel during 1550-1850 from libraries and archives around the world, including the Beinecke Library, the Paul Melon Centre, the Chaney Library, the British Library, and other selected sources. Topics include European political and religious life; British diplomacy; material culture; everyday life; and life at court.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of news, culture and history from the ethnic, minority and native press. An excellent source for francophone studies. Can be limited to French-language only: from the Advanced search screen, change the dropdown menu to "document language."
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. Allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
- Caribbean LiteratureThe collection focuses on the literary output of Caribbean authors from the 18th to 21st centuries and contains poems, drama, novels, stories, and related materials, written in European languages and local languages and dialects such as Papiamento, French Creole, and others.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowGeneral index to both scholarly journals and popular magazines. Searches can be limited to French language only.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Searches can be limited to French language. For U.S. and Canada, see "America: History and Life".
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowThe digitized, full-image version of much (not all) of the content from Periodical Index Online, below. Searches can be limited to French language only.
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowAn international index to journal articles from their first issues to the early 2000s in arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology, and geography. Useful for articles from the 1800s and early 1900s that are not indexed elsewhere. Searches can be limited to French language only. The full-text, digitized version of many of the records are available in Periodicals Archive Online, above.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of hundreds of university press journals. Search by author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full text. Searches can be limited to French language only.
- Anthropological Index Online (1957 - present)An index based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at The British Museum (Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world. Use the Advanced Search and then change the "choose a field" menu to limit searches to French language.
- PerséeOpen access journals archive supported by the Ministry of State for Higher Education and Research. Journals can be sorted by discipline.
As in JSTOR, publishers impose an embargo on access to publications. The typical embargo period is 3-5 years from the present date.
Revues.org
- Revues.org (2000-present)A portal of open-access electronic resources in the humanities and social sciences. Contains mostly French journals and book collections in the humanities and social sciences.