LibGuides: English: Newspapers

Current Newspapers

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Provides comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events. Provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community.
Los Angeles Times - Current (1985-present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1985 to the present. (Note: historical backfiles of the LA Times are available separately for 1881-1984.)
New York Times - Current (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1980 to the present. Note: historical backfiles of the New York Times are available as a separate file.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Includes 3 primary collections: 1) full-text news sources (U.S. and international) 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents - U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews.
San Francisco Chronicle - Historical (1865-1922) This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable and displayable full text of the historical San Francisco Chronicle. No current edition available online.
Wall Street Journal - Current (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present.

Historical Newspapers

British Newspaper Archive (17th and 18th Centuries)
17th and 18th C. newspapers digitized by the British Library. While UCSB does not have a subscription to this full-text database, the search interface is free to the public and quite a few selected articles are available free of charge. It is an excellent finding aid.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Contains Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The Colored American (1837-1841), The North Star (1847-51) The National Era (1847-1860), Provincial Freeman (1854-1857), Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-1855, eventually to 1859) and The Christian Recorder (1861-1870, eventually to 1902). Other papers will be added in chronological order, with the goal of offering the complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.
Our subscription includes access to the following titles: The Colored American (1837-1840), Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The National Era (1847-1860), The North Star (1847-1851), Weekly Advocate
Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
Uncheck all but the Newspapers boxes from the front page. Includes Early American Newspapers, Series I, (1690-1876) and Series II (primarily 182-1860).
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints:

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 -- Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans, including publications unavailable earlier.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 -- Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, including thousands of publications unavailable earlier.

Newspapers:

Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 -- More than a million pages of hundreds of historic newspapers listed in the authoritative bibliographies of Clarence Brigham and others.
Early American Newspapers, Series 2 complements Series 1 by offering more than 200 significant 18th and 19th-century newspapers. The bulk of Series 2 focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of American newspapers rose dramatically. Based primarily on the newspaper collection of the American Antiquarian Society, Series 2 also includes titles from the holdings of the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society and other organizations.

Government publications:

American State Papers, 1789-1838 -- U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838 but not published until the second and third quarters of the 19th century.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 -- Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes.
Chicago Tribune - Historical (1849-1987) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the Chicago Tribune from 1849 to 1987.
Los Angeles Sentinel - Historical (1934-2005) This link opens in a new window
A historical archive of the Los Angeles Sentinel, a weekly African American-owned newspaper.
Los Angeles Times - Historical (1881-1995) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1881 to 1995. Note: current files of the LA Times (1985-present) are available separately.
New York Times - Current (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1980 to the present. Note: historical backfiles of the New York Times are available as a separate file.
New York Times - Historical (1851-2008) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2008. Note: current issues of the New York Times are available as a separate file.
San Francisco Chronicle - Historical (1865-1922) This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable and displayable full text of the historical San Francisco Chronicle. No current edition available online.

Times Digital Archive
Searchable full text of The Times of London historical archive.

Wall Street Journal - Current (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present.
Washington Post - Historical (1877-2008) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of The Washington Post from 1877 to 2008.