Laboratory Protocols
Following are protocols resources we have access to at UCSB.
Online resources are available on campus or off-campus for current students, staff, and faculty.
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2000-
Disease Gene Identification: Methods and Protocols
Recent efforts to characterize genetic variation in the human genome, coupled with the rapidly developing field of genomics, have lead directly to the development of new and innovative approaches to the identification of genes contributing to complex human diseases. In Disease Gene Identification: Methods and Protocols, expert researchers in the field provide up-to-date molecular methodologies used in the process of identifying a disease gene, from the initial stage of study design to the next stage of preliminary locus identification, and ending with stages involved in target characterization and validation. As a volume in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series, chapters contain brief introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols, and detailed tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Authoritative and essential, Disease Gene Identification: Methods and Protocols seeks to aid scientists striving toward the identification and characterization of the many disease-related genes, which may someday pave the way for more accurate and improved methods of disease diagnosis as well as vital strategies for disease treatment and prevention
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of ELISPOT: Methods and Protocols
The Handbook of ELISPOT: Methods and Protocols provides a comprehensive collection of ELISPOT protocols covering topics from vaccine development, tuberculosis research on animal models, and for human studies. It represents the first book dedicated entirely to the ELISPOT technique and is written for both researchers as a convenient reference manual and as a troubleshooting guide for experienced ELISPOT users.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005Methods in Molecular Biology
Call Number: QH506 .M45 - Select Volumes (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 1984-2011
Molecular Imaging: Methods and Protocols
In recent years, molecular imaging techniques have grown to be invaluable tools for molecular biology research and, to a more modest extent, clinical medicine. In Molecular Imaging: Methods and Protocols, expert researchers explore the latest advances in the field, describing a rich variety of practical procedures and methods for diverging imaging technologies. Chapters are divided into sections that cover the imaging of basic molecular and biochemical events, imaging in pre-clinical settings, and imaging in clinical settings. Composed in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, each chapter contains a brief introduction, step-by-step methods, a list of necessary materials, and a Notes section which shares tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Comprehensive and ground-breaking, Molecular Imaging: Methods and Protocols is an essential handbook for students, established practitioners, and research fellows alike
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010Nature Protocols Nature Protocols is an interactive online resource for experimental and laboratory protocols for bench researchers primarily in biology and chemistry. Protocols are presented in a 'recipe' style providing step-by-step descriptions of procedures that users can take to the lab bench and immediately apply in their own research. Protocols on the site are fully searchable and organized into logical categories to be easily accessible. Together, 'Nature Protocols' and the interactive 'Protocols Network' create a dynamic forum for scientists to upload and comment on protocols
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006-
Plant Developmental Biology
The beauty and variety of plants has fascinated mankind for thousands of years, and this fascination continues today as plant developmental biologists discover mechanisms that control the establishment of specialized cell types, tissues, and organs from the fertilized egg during a plant's life. In Plant Developmental Biology: Methods and Protocols, expert researchers provide a collection of protocols for many of the common experimental approaches in plant developmental biology, including diverse methods that range from grafting over bimolecular fluorescence complementation to chromatin immunoprecipitation. Chapters are divided into six major parts: growth protocols, manipulation of gene activity, assaying developmental phenotypes, assaying gene activity, testing protein-protein interactions, and probing chromatin. Composed in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, each chapter contains a brief introduction, step-by-step methods, a list of necessary materials, and a Notes section which shares tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Comprehensive and revolutionary, Plant Developmental Biology: Methods and Protocols is an essential guide for all plant developmental geneticists, biochemists, and researchers in stress physiology and plant nutrition
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
protocols.io
A secure platform for developing and sharing reproducible methods.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)
Springer Nature Experiments
A tool to help researchers discover the most relevant protocols and methods. It brings together content from SpringerProtocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols and Protocol Exchange
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017-
Vascular Biology Protocols
Over the past decades, the pathogenesis, diagnosis, treatment and prevention of cardiovascular diseases have been benefited significantly from intensive research activities. In order to provide a comprehensive "manual" in a field that has become as broad and deep as cardiovascular medicine, this volume of "Methods in Molecular Medicine" covers a wide spectrum of in vivo and in vitro techniques encompassing biochemical, pharmacological and molecular biology disciplines which are currently used to assess vascular disease progression. Each chapter included in this volume focuses on a specific vascular biology technique and describes various applications as well as caveats of these techniques. The protocols included here are described in detail, allowing beginners with little experience in the field of vascular biology to embark on new research projects.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
