Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Following are the dictionaries and encyclopedias we have that are useful for research in molecular, cellular, and developmental biology.
Encyclopedias can be a great source of background information for your topic and can help you find words to use for further research.
You will find books with Reference listed in front of the call number on the 2nd floor of the library in the reference section. Online resources are available on campus, or off-campus for current students, staff, and faculty.
Biopolymers
This encyclopedia -- comprising 10 volumes plus cumulative index -- provides a thorough overview of the occurrence and metabolism of biopolymers. In addition, it treats processes for biotechnological production, isolation from organisms and modification, material properties and technical applications in areas such as: Medicine Pharmacy Agriculture Textiles The Food, chemical and packaging industries and even outlines the future prospects for biopolymers.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Concise Encyclopaedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Concise Encyclopaedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, 2nd Edition is a fully revised and updated version of this acclaimed resource. The book provides definitions and often explanations of over 1000 words, phrases and concepts relating to this fast-moving and exciting field, offering a convenient, one-stop summary of the core knowledge in the area. This second edition is an invaluable resource for students, researchers and academics.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
A Dictionary of Biology
"This new eighth edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent progress in the fields of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, with particular expansion to the areas of ecology, cell biology, and plant and animal development. Over 150 new entries include de-extinction, ecological footprint, rewilding, and Zika virus. Numerous appendices include classifications of the animal and plant kingdoms, SI units, Nobel prizewinners, and a new appendix on anatomical terms"--Publisher
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology, Fifth Edition, provides definitions for thousands of terms used in the study of cell and molecular biology. The headword count has been expanded to 12,000 from 10,000 in the Fourth Edition. Over 4,000 headwords have been rewritten. Some headwords have second, third, and even sixth definitions, while fewer than half are unchanged. Many of the additions were made to extend the scope in plant cell biology, microbiology, and bioinformatics. Several entries related to specific pharmaceutical compounds have been removed, while some generic entries ("alpha blockers," "NSAIDs," and "tetracycline antibiotics," for example), and some that are frequently part of the experimentalist's toolkit and probably never used in the clinic, have been retained. The Appendix includes prefixes for SI units, the Greek alphabet, useful constants, and single-letter codes for amino acids. Thoroughly revised and expanded by over 20% with over 12,000 entries in cellular and molecular biology Includes expanded coverage of terms, including plant molecular biology, microbiology and biotechnology areas Consistently provides the most complete short definitions of technical terminology for anyone working in life sciences today Features extensive cross-references Provides multiple definitions, notes on word origins, and other useful features
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology
A newly revised edition of the standard reference for the field today--updated with new terms, major discoveries, significant scientists, and illustrations Developmental biology is the study of the mechanisms of development, differentiation, and growth in animals and plants at the molecular, cellular, and genetic levels. The discipline has gained prominence in part due to new interdisciplinary approaches and advances in technology, which have led to the rapid emergence of new concepts and words. The Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology, Second Edition is the first comprehensive reference focused on the field's terms, research, history, and people. This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology. Extensively cross-referenced, the Dictionary includes definitions of terms, explanations of concepts, and biographies of historical figures. Comparative aspects are described in order to provide a sense of the evolution of structures, and topics range from fundamental terminology, germ layers, and induction to RNAi, evo-devo, stem cell differentiation, and more. Readers will find such features of embryology and developmental biology as: Vertebrates Invertebrates Plants Developmental genetics Evolutionary developmental biology Molecular developmental biology Medical embryology The author's premium on accessibility allows readers at all levels to enhance their vocabulary in their field and understand terminology beyond their specific focus. Researchers and students in developmental biology, cell biology, developmental genetics, and embryology will find the dictionary to be a vital resource.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
The Dictionary of Gene Technology
The most up-to-date and comprehensive collection of technical terms of gene technology and related disciplines, such as genomics, transcriptomics and proteomics, pointing to the forefront of this modern and extremely rapidly evolving science. More than 2,500 new terms have been added to the previous 6,500 terms in the best-selling second edition. This dramatic increase reflects the unprecedented and literally explosive development of novel technologies, new insights in genic and genomic biology, and the worldwide marketing of such achievements. They also bear witness to current tendencies towards miniaturization and the increasing involvement of bioinformatics. Extensive explanations, comprehensive and simple diagrams and illustrations accompany the terms, providing outstanding access to the complexities of gene technology in its broadest sense. Moreover, the ever-growing jungle of acronyms and exotic jargon has been structured for less confusion and more translucence. Multiple cross-references enable a broad readership, layman and expert alike, to form networks linking the various terms in context and to understand relationships between gene technology and genetics, molecular genetics, biochemistry, biotechnology, microbiology and applied sciences. Seasoned researchers, newcomers, students, R & D officials, politicians, journalists and biotech company representatives will all benefit from this user-friendly dictionary in coping with the boom in this exciting science.
Call Number: Reference QH506 .K333 2004 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2004
A Dictionary of Genetics
The publication of this fully updated edition of A Dictionary of Genetics coincides with the hundredth anniversary of the introduction of the term genetics by William Bateson in 1906 at the Third International Conference on Genetics. Since then genetics has made tremendous advances in knowledge and technique and now occupies a pivotal position in the life sciences as the most powerful means for probing fundamental questions in cell biology, development, and evolution. The determination of sequences of complete genomes, the study of gene expression and genetic variation on a global scale, and the ability to rapidly amplify gene sequences and to achieve targeted gene disruptions are just some examples of major achievements in this field. Proliferation of new terms inevitably accompanies such remarkable progress. This new edition of the Dictionary addresses the needs of students, educators, and clinical geneticists for an authoritative and up-to-date reference work that not only defines the latest terms, but in most cases, also presents important ancillary encyclopedic information. A Dictionary of Genetics is unique in that it includes terms from a wide range of disciplines which now intertwine with genetics, including molecular biology, cell biology, medicine, botany, and evolutionary studies. Its 7,000 cross-referenced definitions are supported by an excellent collection of line drawings, tables, and chemical formulae. One-fifth of the Dictionary is devoted to six appendices to which the definitions are cross-referenced and which contain an extraordinary trove of supplementary information. This includes a chronology of important advances spanning the years 1590 to 2005, lists of useful internet sites and periodicals, a classification of living organisms into an evolutionary hierarchy, and a sample table of genome sizes and gene numbers. These features make A Dictionary of Genetics a lexicon unparalleled in the field. For the first time, the Dictionary is available on Oxford Reference Online (ORO): Premium Collection
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics
The first edition of the Encyclopedia of Biostatistics proved an outstanding achievement in scientific publishing. A truly international work, its coverage ranges through statistical issues pertinent to life scientists, healthcare professionals and practising statisticians. Wiley is now pleased to announce the Second Edition of this landmark reference work publishing in February 2005. Drawing on the expertise of the original editorial team the new edition will be revised and expanded to provide, in particular, up-to-date material on bio-informatics and statistical genetics. This major publication is easily accessible for all those involved in statistical activities in medicine and health sciences, from health professionals who are not highly trained in statistics, through to fully qualified and experienced statisticians. For further information on this new edition please visit: www.wileyeurope.com/go/eob Reviews of the First Edition "...a resource beyond compare...the author index reads like a contemporary Who's Who...nothing in biostatistics is left uncovered...unsurpassed in quality and quantity" --British Medical Journal "An unsurpassed addition to the statistical literature ...The present scope of statistics in medical research is nowhere more manifest ...the coverage is breathtaking" --International Journal of Epidemiology
Call Number: RA409 .E53 2005 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Cell Biology
The Encyclopedia of Cell Biology offers a broad overview of cell biology, offering reputable, foundational content for researchers and students across the biological and medical sciences. This important work includes 285 articles from domain experts covering every aspect of cell biology, with fully annotated figures, abundant illustrations, videos, and references for further reading. Each entry is built with a layered approach to the content, providing basic information for those new to the area and more detailed material for the more experienced researcher. With authored contributions by experts in the field, the Encyclopedia of Cell Biology provides a fully cross-referenced, one-stop resource for students, researchers, and teaching faculty across the biological and medical sciences. Fully annotated color images and videos for full comprehension of concepts, with layered content for readers from different levels of experience Includes information on cytokinesis, cell biology, cell mechanics, cytoskeleton dynamics, stem cells, prokaryotic cell biology, RNA biology, aging, cell growth, cell Injury, and more In-depth linking to Academic Press/Elsevier content and additional links to outside websites and resources for further reading A one-stop resource for students, researchers, and teaching faculty across the biological and medical sciences
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology
A single, comprehensive resource for researchers, scientists, and students in environmental microbiology In recent years, the field of environmental microbiology has taken on new importance. But even with a wealth of new research and new interest in the subject, there has never been a single resource to which professionals and students could turn for reliable, detailed coverage of the field. This six-volume set serves as a comprehensive look at the field complete with the latest cutting-edge research. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology provides, in one source, all the information researchers and scientists need for this rapidly growing field. It covers the full range of topics, from aquatic microbiology and environmental biotechnology, to public health and water treatment microbiology. Features include: Approximately 350 articles provide A-Z coverage of the entire field of environmental microbiology and all important topics Extensive cross-referencing, bibliographies, and a complex index Illustrated with photographs, tables, and line drawings
Call Number: QR100 .B58 2002 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Genetics
The Encyclopedia of Genetics provides the most complete and authoritative coverage of genetics ever published. Dr. Sydney Brenner, the 2002 Nobel Prize winner for Physiology or Medicine, and Professor Jeffrey H. Miller of UCLA have gathered the world's top geneticists to contribute to this outstanding collection. Diverse information is compiled into a single, comprehensive source, containing a clear presentation of cutting-edge knowledge. Easy-to-use and well-organized, the Encyclopedia of Genetics is an invaluable reference work for everyone from the academic researcher to the educated layperson.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics
This new third edition updates a best-selling encyclopedia. It includes about 56% more words than the 1,392-page second edition of 2003. The number of illustrations increased to almost 2,000 and their quality has improved by design and four colors. It includes approximately 1,800 current databases and web servers. This encyclopedia covers the basics and the latest in genomics, proteomics, genetic engineering, small RNAs, transcription factories, chromosome territories, stem cells, genetic networks, epigenetics, prions, hereditary diseases, and patents. Similar integrated information is not available in textbooks or on the Internet.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Immunotoxicology
This work provides rapid access to focused information on topics of Immunotoxicology not only for scientists and those dealing with laboratory aspects but also for lecturers and advanced students. Over 200 contributing authors – including many of the world’s top specialists – have contributed full essays on all relevant topics, supplemented by keyword definitions of related terms. Full essays are structured uniformly to provide reader-friendly information on all aspects of Immunotoxicology, including methods of testing and analysis, characteristics of substances, the regulatory environment and the relevance of these to humans. The single A–Z format of both types of entry makes this reference book very easy to use. The Encyclopedic Reference of Immunotoxicology is intended to be a comprehensive work of reference which will provide easy access to relevant information in the fast-growing field of Immunotoxicology
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Wiley is pleased to announce the recent acquisition of the prestigious Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) from the Nature Publishing Group. "The most ambitious single source reference source ever produced in the biological sciences" --American Reference Books Annual Spanning the entire spectrum of life science research, the Encyclopedia features more than 3,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. These concentrate primarily on the molecular and cellular life sciences, including biochemical topics, methods and techniques. Applied areas of science are also included on a selective basis, as are biographies and general interest articles on ethics and the history of science. Articles are divided into three categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory articles ELS features more than 1,400 introductory level articles. These have been written primarily for undergraduates and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Scientists and researchers looking to extend their knowledge outside their own specific field of interest will also find these articles useful. Advanced articles Over 1,800 advanced articles provide more detailed discussions of specialised subjects, at a level equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles Written by leading international scientists, these keynote articles cover hot topics and controversial issues. All articles have been rigorously peer-reviewed and edited prior to publication by an international Editorial Advisory Board of 180 subject specialist advisors. Most articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms/synonyms, units and other technical data. "In particular, the illustrations are excellent..." --Microbiology Today The ELS provides an excellent source of information for undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, teachers/lecturers as well as professionals and researchers working in the biomedical sciences and related areas. Although chapters on more complex subjects have been written primarily for those with a scientific background, unnecessary technical jargon is avoided, enabling the material to be accessed by the non-specialist. "This resource is a must-have for all biological sciences libraries and most larger academic and public libraries. It will be used often by undergraduate and graduate biology students, scientists, researchers, professors and government employees and journalists." --American Reference Books Annual
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Available as an exclusive product with a limited print run, Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3e, is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and includes a glossary, list of abbreviations, defining statement, introduction, further reading and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles. Written at a level suitable for university undergraduates, the breadth and depth of coverage will appeal beyond undergraduates to professionals and academics in related fields. 16 separate areas of microbiology covered for breadth and depth of content Extensive use of figures, tables, and color illustrations and photographs Language is accessible for undergraduates, depth appropriate for scientists Links to original journal articles via Crossref 30% NEW articles and 4-color throughout - NEW!
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Molecular Pharmacology
An essential text, this is a fully updated second edition of a classic, now in two volumes. It provides rapid access to information on molecular pharmacology for research scientists, clinicians and advanced students. With the A-Z format of over 2,000 entries, around 350 authors provide a complete reference to the area of molecular pharmacology. The book combines the knowledge of classic pharmacology with the more recent approach of the precise analysis of the molecular mechanisms by which drugs exert their effects. Short keyword entries define common acronyms, terms and phrases. In addition, detailed essays provide in-depth information on drugs, cellular processes, molecular targets, techniques, molecular mechanisms, and general principles.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience
Explores various areas of the neuroscience on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of the discipline. This title features various articles that contain a glossary, introduction, a reference section, and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Parasitology
Knowledge in the field of parasitology must be kept at a high level and up to date in order to fight a parasitosis as quickly and effectively as possible. This work, one of Springer's renowned and authoritative Major Reference Works, contributes to these goals in several ways. First, it comprises a number of entries, consisting of both in-depth essays and definitions. Secondly, the content has been improved even more by adding additional tables and high-quality figures. Thirdly, the extensive linking between definitions and essays facilitates information within a minimum of time. The Encyclopedia of Parasitology contains clearly structured essays in alphabetical order with extensive cross-references between definitions and related entries. International contributors, who are well-known specialists in their fields, give a comprehensive review of all parasites and therapeutic strategies in veterinarian and human parasitology. This 4th edition presents all important parasites of humans and animals in detail and the less important ones in short. Each parasite has its own large "chapter" with all subheadings (life cycle, morphology, treatment etc.). Topics common for other parasites and/or transmitted agents of diseases are presented in separate topics, which altogether are listed alphabetically. Furthermore all important parasitological and medical terms are explained as separate topics and are cross-linked to the chapters/topics, where they are explained intensively. Existing entries are updated and presented in the light of the latest knowledge.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research
What is a stem cell? We have a basic working definition, but the way we observe a stem cell function in a dish may not represent how it functions in a living organism. Only this is clear: Stem cells are the engine room of multicelluar organismsùboth plants and animals. However, controversies, breakthroughs, and frustration continue to swirl in eternal storms through this rapidly moving area of research. But what does the average person make of all this, and how can an interested scholar probe this vast sea of information?The Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research provides a clear understanding of the basic concepts in stem cell biology and addresses the politics, ethics, and challenges currently facing the field. While stem cells are exciting alone, they are also clearly fueling the traditional areas of developmental biology and the field of regenerative medicine. These two volumes present more than 320 articles that explore major topics related to the emerging science of stem cell research and therapy.
Call Number: Reference QH588.S83 E53 2008 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
In the past decade, enormous strides have been made in understanding the human brain. The advent of sophisticated new imaging techniques (e.g. PET, MRI, MEG, etc.) and new behavioral testing procedures have revolutionized our understanding of the brain, and we now know more about the anatomy, functions, and development of this organ than ever before. However, much of this knowledge is scattered across scientific journals and books in a diverse group of specialties: psychology, neuroscience, medicine, etc. The Encyclopedia of the Human Brain places all information in a single source and contains clearly written summaries on what is known of the human brain. Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this four-volume encyclopedia contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world. The Encyclopedia articles range in size from 5-30 printed pages each, and contain a definition paragraph, glossary, outline, and suggested readings, in addition to the body of the article. Lavishly illustrated, the Encyclopedia includes over 1000 figures, many in full color. Managing both breadth and depth, the Encyclopedia is a must-have reference work for life science libraries and researchers investigating the human brain.
Call Number: QP376 .E586 2002 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences
The Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences explores all areas of the discipline in its 1000+ focused entries on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of neuroscience. The concise entries are all written at a level of comprehension not previously seen in existing literature by contributing authors representing an eclectic and diverse view of all aspects of neurology from many viewpoints and disciplines to provide a complete overview of the field. The easy-to-use "encyclopedic-dictionary" format features alphabetic entries, extensive cross-referencing, and a thorough index for quick reference. The wealth of information provided by these four volumes makes for compelling reading by everyone from the academic researcher to students, to the curious lay person. An online version of the Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences will be available on ScienceDirect in 2004. Visit http://info.sciencedirect.com/reference_works/ for contact and subscription information. Access options are available even if you're not an existing ScienceDirect customer!
Call Number: Reference RC334 .E52 2003 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Virology
Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues its success as the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of concise "mini-review" articles, this praised work covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects. Now in five volumes, this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the 50% increase in identified and accepted viruses since the year 2000. With over 25% new chapters and over 1000 illustrations, this edition takes into account the new developments in virology research by including information on new emerging diseases such as avian flu, SARS and West Nile and the ability of some viruses to be used as agents of bioterrorism. Edited by leading Virologists Mahy and van Regenmortel, this third edition remains the number one all-inclusive source of information for virology researchers, students, and reference departments of academic, medical, and corporate libraries. Extensive coverage on AIDS and HIV, viral immunology and vaccines, the economic importance and control of virus diseases, and the origin, history, evolution and phylogeny of viruses -NEW! Four color throughout -NEW! Sections on future perspectives that show the direction of current research 25% NEW articles Glossary of key terms for easy referencing Information on viruses of human clinical interest, including the virus causing SARS -NEW! More than 20% NEW virus classifications The most recent information from the 8th International Committee on Taxonomy and Classification of Viruses -NEW! Recommendations for further reading and a list of other relevant entries
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedic Reference of Genomics and Proteomics in Molecular Medicine
Here is a broad overview of the central topics and issues in molecular biology and molecular medicine, with up-to-the minute information about developments in the field including pharmacogenics and pharmacoproteomics, gene therapy and gene regulation. Presented in an accessible A to Z format, the Encyclopedia's more than 2000 entries are written by leading experts in genomics and proteomics. The entries comprise in-depth essays, illustrated with full-color figures, and presented in a lucid style that will appeal to both experts and interested lay people.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedic Reference of Immunotoxicology
This work provides rapid access to focused information on topics of Immunotoxicology not only for scientists and those dealing with laboratory aspects but also for lecturers and advanced students. Over 200 contributing authors - including many of the world's top specialists - have contributed full essays on all relevant topics, supplemented by keyword definitions of related terms. Full essays are structured uniformly to provide reader-friendly information on all aspects of Immunotoxicology, including methods of testing and analysis, characteristics of substances, the regulatory environment and the relevance of these to humans. The single A-Z format of both types of entry makes this reference book very easy to use. The Encyclopedic Reference of Immunotoxicology is intended to be a comprehensive work of reference which will provide easy access to relevant information in the fast-growing field of Immunotoxicology.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedic Reference of Molecular Pharmacology
This comprehensive encyclopedic reference provides rapid access to focused information on molecular pharmacology for research scientists, clinicians and advanced students. With the A-Z format of about 2000 entries, about 200 authors provide a complete reference to the area of molecular pharmacology. The book combines the knowledge of classic pharmacology describing drug action as well as the more recent approach of the precise analysis of the molecular mechanisms by which drugs exert their effects. Short keyword entries define common acronyms, terms and phrases. In addition, detailed essays provide in-depth information on drugs, cellular processes, molecular targets, techniques, molecular mechanisms and general principles. Each essay is well-structured, with extensive cross-referencing between all entries. The book is accompanied by a CD-ROM which provides the full text and facilitated searches. Please note that this publication is available as print only OR online only OR print + online set. Save 75% of the online list price when purchasing the bundle.
Call Number: Reference RM301.65 .E53 2004 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2003
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Includes information on almost 2,000 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology
From the beginning, immunologists have maintained a unique nomenclature that has often mystified and even baffled their colleagues in other fields, causing them to liken immunology to a black box. With more than 1200 illustrations, the Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology, Third Edition provides immunologists and nonimmunologists a single-volume resource for the many terms encountered in contemporary immunological literature. Encyclopedic in scope and including more than 1200 illustrations, the content ranges from photographs of historical figures to molecular structures of recently characterized cytokines, the major histocompatibility complex molecules, immunoglobulins, and molecules of related interest to immunologists. These descriptive illustrations provide a concise and thorough understanding of the subject. To reflect modern advances, the third edition includes entries on immunopharmacology, newly described interleukins, comparative immunology, immunity to infectious diseases, and expanded definitions in all of the immunological subspecialities. Providing unprecedented breadth and detail, this readily accessible book is not only a pictorial reference but also a primary resource.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Nature Encyclopedia of the Human Genome
This is a comprehensive and rigorously detailed overview of genetics and genomics research, its applications, and complex ethical, legal and social issues that arise from it. The reference includes approximately 1000 original, peer-reviewed articles organized alphabetically and commissioned around the following core subject areas: structural genomics; functional genomics; proteomics; evolution and comparative genomics; genome mapping; gene mapping and sequencing; chromosome structure and function; genes and disease; mathematical genetics; bioinformatics; behavioural and pscyhiatric genetics; biographies; and ethical, legal and social issues.
Call Number: Reference QH447 .E53 2003 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Nucleic Acids from A to Z
Concise but complete, this mini-encyclopedia contains over 1,500 entries covering all important concepts, compounds, techniques and acronyms for quick and easy reference. Guiding readers through the ever-increasing jungle of nucleic acid science and technology, the book distills the key information out of the large body of primary literature and presents it in a single volume. A first-stop resource for everyone, from students to established researchers, as both a desktop and library reference.
Call Number: QP620 .N797 2008 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Over the last few years, the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has expanded enormously to the extent that few scientists can expect to be familiar with all the terms and concepts. This is partly due the massive influence of the Genome and successive "-omics" projects which havedeveloped in to many new areas of research. At the same time, terms from other subject areas - including mathematics, statistics, physics and other life sciences - appear increasingly in the biochemical literature.The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive and 'encyclopaedic' survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. This new edition of the popular dictionary has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to include many important new concepts and words. Theentries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.There are over 21000 main entries, which include: details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, methods and concepts in molecular biology, and definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. Each entry is accessibly written. They point out pitfalls where termsare often confused, and explain the precise syntax of biochemical terms such as Greek letters and other formatting, which are invariably lost when searching the Internet. In addition, the dictionary is generously illustrated with over 900 chemical structures.The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will serve as an invaluable reference text for student and professional biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information both from within and outside their own fields. It will also be of relevance and use to a broader audience oflife scientists seeking an authoritative overview of fundamental principles.
Call Number: QP512 .O94 2006 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering, 6-Volume Set is a living and evolving repository of the biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base. To represent the vast diversity of the field and its multi-and cross-disciplinary nature and serve the BME community, the scope and content is comprehensive. As a peer reviewed primer, educational material, technical reference, research and development resource, the project encompasses the "best" in terms of its intellectual substance and rigor.
Call Number: R856.A3 .W55 2006 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology is an authoritative new work whose goal is to illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences. The encyclopedia will adopt an inclusive editorial approach, encompassing fundamental and blue-sky science as well as those areas of research that have more immediate medical or commercial applications. The scope and structure of the work will reflect the multidimensional character of chemical biology, focusing in particular on the fundamental science of biological structures and systems, the use of chemical and biological techniques to elucidate that science, and the applications of this knowledge in areas as diverse as drug discovery, sensor technology, and catalysis. Major topics areas covered in the encyclopedia: Chemical Views of Biology Biomolecules within the Cell Chemistry of Biological Processes and Systems Chemical Biology of Cellular Compartments Synthetic Molecules as Tools for Chemical Biology Technologies and Techniques in Chemical Biology Applications of Chemical Biology
Call Number: QP512 .W48 2009 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Wiley Encyclopedia of Molecular Medicine
The field of molecular biology is revolutionizing human medicine and the applications of molecular biology to medicine are expanding. Encyclopedia of Molecular Medicine brings together those aspects of medicine that have significance at the molecular level, plus advances in molecular biology that are relevant to medicine. With over 1,700 separate primary entries, this comprehensive encyclopedia sets the standard for reference works in this rapidly expanding field. Edited by one of the most renowned names in the field of protein science, the coverage in Encyclopedia of Molecular Medicine is multilayered, ranging from the organ to the cell to the molecular and includes extensive cross-referencing. Geneticists, biochemists, molecular biologists, medical researchers, and doctors with either an academic or industrial background will find the Encyclopedia of Molecular Medicine an essential resource.
Call Number: QH506 .W535 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2001
World Scientific Encyclopedia of Nanomedicine and Bioengineering I, Nanotechnology for Translational Medicine
Noble metal nanoparticles for biomedical applications / Application of nano-structured materials and devices in chemical and biological sensing / Nanotechnology in gene delivery / Nano imaging : from fundamental principles to translational medical applications /
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
