Newspapers (hover over title to learn more)
-
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains four separate collections of facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th to the early 20th centuries. Covers a broad range of subject areas.
-
American Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Paints a vivid picture of the American experience from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Contents include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper's, and Ladies' Home Journal.
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowU.S. and international news sources, including regional news and specific information about local politics, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains news, culture and history from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes complete articles and archival material. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages; more than 100,000 articles are in Spanish.
-
New York Times - Historical (1851-2008) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2008. Note: current issues of the New York Times are available as a separate file.
-
Washington Post - Historical (1877-2008) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of The Washington Post from 1877 to 2008.
-
Los Angeles Times - Historical (1881-1995) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1881 to 1995. Note: current files of the LA Times (1985-present) are available separately.
-
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 (Series 1)
Large collection of fully searchable 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers from 22 islands.