LibGuides: FAMST 101F: Historical Newspapers

Local Papers

California Digital Newspaper Collection
The CDNC requires that you register for a free account to read articles.
more...less...
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a growing repository of historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of current California newspapers, collected as PDFs, that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.

UCSB LIBRARY

Santa Barbara gazette (1855-1857) - available online
Santa Barbara News-Press - available on microfilm in the Main Library
Santa Barbara Area newspapers (SBHC Mss 50) - available by appointment at Special Research Collections

CALIFORNIA DIGITAL NEWSPAPER COLLECTION (CDNC) - available online, requires a free account to access

SANTA BARBARA PUBLIC LIBRARY

Online access to historical Santa Barbara newspapers on-site at the Library or through paid subscription to Newspapers.com.

Santa Barbara Weekly Press (1868-1880)
Santa Barbara Times (1870-1874)
The Morning Press (1872-1937)
The Weekly Index (1872-1877)
The Independent (1883-1913)
Weekly Independent (1886-1889)
The Santa Barbara Daily News (1896-1904)
The Santa Barbara Daily News and the Independent (1913-1919)
Santa Barbara News-Press (1924-1966)
The Santa Barbara Star (1950-1962)
Santa Barbara Post (1963-1965)

UCSB LIBRARY

The Carpinteria Chronicle (1933-1934, 1938-1939) - available online
Santa Barbara Area newspapers (SBHC Mss 50) - available by appointment at Special Research Collections

CALIFORNIA DIGITAL NEWSPAPER COLLECTION (CDNC) - available online, requires a free account to access

SANTA BARBARA PUBLIC LIBRARY

Online access to historical Santa Barbara County newspapers on-site at the Library or through paid subscription to Newspapers.com includes

Carpinteria Herald (1911-1986)
Goleta Valley Leader (1938-1942)
Goleta Valley Review (1942-1951)
Goleta Valley Times (1954-1958)
Goleta Gazette-Citizen (1958-1968)
Goleta Valley Sun (1969-1973)
Goleta Sun (1972-1984)

UCSB Student Newspapers are available online at the Alexandria Research Library and in print at Special Research Collections.

Daily Nexus (1971-2001)
UCSB Daily Nexus (1970-1971)
El Gaucho (1934-1970)
El Gauchito (Summer sessions 1935-1965)
Roadrunner (1930-1934)
Stray Feathers (Summer sessions 1932-1934)
The Eagle (1923-1930)

UCSB LIBRARY:

UCSB Library offers access to many historical U.S. newspapers through the ProQuest News and Newspapers Databases.

Pay particular attention to databases titles that begin with "ProQuest Historical Newspapers"

OTHER SOURCES:

Reveal Digital - historical newspapers available online including American Prison Newspapers and alternative press publications
Chronicling America - many historical papers are available online through the Library of Congress (see "All digitized newspapers")
Historic LGBTQIA+ Periodicals and Newspapers - many available online through the Library of Congress
Historical African American Newspapers Available Online - list made by Marist College Librarian, not all may accessible to you