About
Trade magazines and other industry literature are key primary sources for the study of film, television, and media history.
These sources are good places to start for many research topics including finding film reviews, ratings and box office data, advertisements, and information about media production and distribution.
Trade magazines are written by industry representatives, and it's not uncommon that an author is not named. Articles are written to share industry information including trends, products, and techniques. Articles in these publications are written for people within the industry using technical language or jargon. References are provided via contextual referrals to other works, and the publications are reviewed by one or more editors employed by the publication.
Popular magazines are written by journalists, or a writer whose specialty is writing, not necessarily in the field that they are reporting. Articles are aimed at a general audience and written without using technical terms, or will define technical terms if used. The articles are reviewed by editors employed by the magazine, and referrals to other works rely on contextual information in the text.
Highlighted Resources
Tip: Start by finding Article Indexes and Research Databases by Subject.
Tip: Search for journals and magazines by category including "Music, Dance, Drama & Film."
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window US and UK trade and fan magazines from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The EIMA includes Billboard (1984-1960, 1963-2000), Box Office (1936-2000), Spin (1985-2000), and Variety (1905-2000)
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window The PAPD includes abstract and full text articles from American Cinematographer, Cineaste, Rolling Stone, Sight and Sound, Spin, Time, and Variety.
- Women's Magazine Archive An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.