What is a Database?
UCSB Library pays for access to hundreds of research databases. A database is a curated, searchable collection of citations for articles, books, and other media.
Databases are useful for academic research because:
- access to the material is free to UCSB students through the library;
- your search results are not influenced by your internet search history;
- it is easier to find the types of sources you will be asked to use in research assignments.
Library databases often require different search techniques than the open web (for example Google). See the "Search Tips" tab to learn more.
Databases to Get You Started
Think of library databases as a toolkit. Some tools are multi-use, and others tools are for a specific job.
Multi-subject (or interdisciplinary) databases cover many subject areas, while subject-specific databases focus on a particular field of study.
Not sure which kind you need? Try an interdisciplinary database like one of the ones listed below first. Or, visit a Research Guide for subject-specific recommendations.
= UCSB Only
The lock icon indicates that this database is restricted to UCSB students. If you are working off campus, please refer to the Connect from Off-Campus page of this guide to learn more.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing results from thousands of journals and other publications. The database includes peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, book chapters, reports, and conference proceedings.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of journals and books in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more (including those from Artstor).
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science covers thousands of research journals and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books across hundreds of disciplines.
- UC Library SearchUC Library Search is a robust tool for locating items in from across all of the UC Campus libraries and a selection from our library databases. This is a good starting point and can be searched from the UCSB Library homepage. Materials not available at UCSB can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
General vs. Subject Specific Databases
Our suggestions in the "Databases to Get You Started" box are interdisciplinary databases that cover a variety of subjects. These are often a good place to start. If you need articles for a specific subject area, please refer to the Research Guides for recommendations.
Need Primary Sources?
Primary source materials are different depending on the field of study. Research Guides can point you to available primary resources.
- Arts & Humanities (Examples: History, Theatre, Film & Media Studies)
- Social Sciences (Examples: Communication, Environmental Studies, Political Science)
- Sciences & Engineering (Examples: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Sciences)
If you need any help, ask your librarian!