UC Library Search
Perform your search, then select "Peer Reviewed Journals" under "Show Only" on the left side of the results screen.
Find & Evaluate Journals
UCSB E-Journals:
- E-Journals Collection (main search)
Evaluate Journals and Find Impact Factors
Locating Articles:
Click the 
button to find the full text of an article, either online or in print on the library shelves. If the library does not have access to the article you need, you can request the article to be sent to you through interlibrary loan.
If you already have a citation, first, use Google Scholar and search for the title of the article. Look for the link to the pdf or Get it at UC button on the right side. You may first need to Connect Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources. If you do not see the article, use the Citation Linker where you should see if the UCSB Library has access to it or use the Request function to request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
Indexes to Scholarly Journals - Science and Engineering & More
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
- National Agricultural Library Search This link opens in a new window
National Agricultural Library Search is the USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. It provides simple, one-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. Search Everything for results from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC). Or you can limit your SEARCH to PubAg by selecting it at the top of the advanced search form.
The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations from over 4,000 journals and other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowAnnual Reviews is a non-profit organization that provides the worldwide scholarly community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scholarly disciplines. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of aquatic science including aquaculture, biology, conservation, environmental quality, fisheries, freshwater environments, limnology, marine biotechnology, marine environments, meteorology, oceanography, policy and legislation, and wildlife management.
- Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Biological Science Collection provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. The resource also includes access to MEDLINE®, and the ability to cross-search with over 30 subject-specialized abstract and citation databases.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowBioOne Complete provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Communication Source (including Communication Abstracts) This link opens in a new windowCommunication Source is the most complete full-text research database for communication studies. It offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.
Communication Source combines Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts to provide full-text access to more than 700 journals, and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,000 core journals. Coverage dating goes back to 1900.
Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. Content development for Communication Source is guided by expert advisers who are academic librarians and communication bibliographers from leading international institutions. - Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education-related literature. Provides access to ERIC documents and journal articles. Updated monthly. A freely accessible site covering 1966 to the present is also available.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowProvides over 2.2 million citations from over 3,500 journals, serials, maps, theses and dissertations, government publications, books, and reports in the fields of geology and geophysics, including information on energy sources, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, groundwater pollution, nuclear reactor sites, landslides, and erosion, as well as the history of the earth, the structure of the earth, the study of ore deposits, and geostatistics. The database is updated every two weeks with approximately 3,000 new records. Note: GeoRef In Process contains records, not necessarily recent ones, which are currently being indexed by GeoRef. The GeoRef Preview at AGI database contains the most recently indexed records, not yet fully indexed for the main GeoRef file. For the most complete searches, search all three: GeoRef, GeoRef In Process and GeoRef Previews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Searches may be limited to a specific subject category of journals.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowThe database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Dissertations & Theses offers UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full-text digital format starting with titles published from 1997 forward.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProvides access to international literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and related disciplines from professional journals, book chapters, books, reports, and dissertations. Most citations include abstracts. In addition, there are millions of cited references in journal articles, books, and chapters.
- SciTech ConnectProvided by the U.S. Department of Energy; good for renewable energy sources. Includes many full-text technical reports.
1948 to present.
Note: This database is not limited to UCSB users. This database does not have UCeLinks. You will need to look up journals in the library catalog to determine availability.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCSA Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of thousands of journals and other sources.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science consists of nine databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded for journal aritcles; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science and Conference Proceedings - Social Sciences and Humanities; Book Citation Index - Science and Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities; and Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus. Web of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines. Both the science and social sciences journal article files offer searchable author abstracts. All three databases are updated weekly.
Find subject-based databases
Select "by Subject" to find databases. Use a database that is most recommended in that subject, listed near the top of the options.