Handbooks and Manuals
Following are the handbooks and manuals we have that are useful for research in biotechnology.
You will find books with Reference in front of the call number on the 2nd floor of the library in the reference section. Online resources are available on campus or off-campus for current students, staff, and faculty.
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Compendium
This book is an accessible resource offering practical information not found in more database-oriented resources. The first chapter lists acronyms with definitions, and a glossary of terms and subjects used in biochemistry, molecular biology, biotechnology, proteomics, genomics, and systems biology. There follows chapters on chemicals employed in biochemistry and molecular biology, complete with properties and structure drawings. Researchers will find this book to be a valuable tool that will save them time, as well as provide essential links to the roots of their science. Key selling features: Contains an extensive list of commonly used acronyms with definitions Offers a highly readable glossary for systems and techniques Provides comprehensive information for the validation of biotechnology assays and manufacturing processes Includes a list of Log P values, water solubility, and molecular weight for selected chemicals Gives a detailed listing of protease inhibitors and cocktails, as well as a list of buffers
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Color Atlas of Genetics
Ever since the international Human Genome Project achieved its extraordinary goal of sequencing and mapping the entire human genome--with far-reaching implications for understanding the causes and diagnosis of human genetic disorders--progress in the field has been rapid. In the fourth edition of the bestselling Color Atlas of Genetics, readers will get a full overview of the field today, with an emphasis on the interface between fundamental principles and practical applications in medicine. The book utilizes the signature Flexibook format designed for easy visual learning and retention, and is invaluable for students, clinicians, and scientists interested in keeping current in this fast-moving area. New topics in the fully revised fourth edition of this highly praised atlas: Genetic signaling pathways involved in genetic disorders DNA repair systems Genomic disorders and genome-wide association studies Cancer genomes Ciliopathies, neurocristopathies, and other groups of causally related disorders Epigenetic changes in certain disorders Illustrated outline of human evolution With almost 200 stunning color plates concisely explained on facing pages, and including useful tables of data, a glossary of terms, key references, and online resources, this book makes every concept clear and accessible. It is an excellent introduction to genetics and basic genomics for students of medicine and biology, as well as an ideal teaching aid and refresher for investigators in any field of medicine or science.
Call Number: Reference QH436 .P3713 2013 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Comprehensive Biotechnology
Comprehensive Biotechnology, Third Edition, Six Volume Set unifies, in a single source, a huge amount of information in this growing field. The book covers scientific fundamentals, along with engineering considerations and applications in industry, agriculture, medicine, the environment and socio-economics, including the related government regulatory overviews. This new edition builds on the solid basis provided by previous editions, incorporating all recent advances in the field since the second edition was published in 2011. Offers researchers a one-stop shop for information on the subject of biotechnology Provides in-depth treatment of relevant topics from recognized authorities, including the contributions of a Nobel laureate Presents the perspective of researchers in different fields, such as biochemistry, agriculture, engineering, biomedicine and environmental science
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Comprehensive Physiology
"Comprehensive Physiology is the most authoritative and comprehensive collection of physiology information that has ever been assembled. Its starting point is more than 30,000 pages of content from the American Physiological Society's renowned Handbook of Physiology (HoP) series, which is presented here for the first time in an online format. With the launch of Comprehensive Physiology in January 2011, we will begin publishing regular issues that update and expand the classic content from HoP, as well as adding fresh review material. In this way, we aim to capture the full breadth and depth of the evolving science of physiology. New and updated materials will be published in a quarterly serial format ... The primary audience for Comprehensive Physiology is academic scientists in the life sciences. Secondary audiences include advanced students in the life sciences and medicine, instructors in these disciplines, and academic clinicians"
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011-
Data Science Handbook: A Practical Approach
DATA SCIENCE HANDBOOK This desk reference handbook gives a hands-on experience on various algorithms and popular techniques used in real-time in data science to all researchers working in various domains. Data Science is one of the leading research-driven areas in the modern era. It is having a critical role in healthcare, engineering, education, mechatronics, and medical robotics. Building models and working with data is not value-neutral. We choose the problems with which we work, make assumptions in these models, and decide on metrics and algorithms for the problems. The data scientist identifies the problem which can be solved with data and expert tools of modeling and coding. The book starts with introductory concepts in data science like data munging, data preparation, and transforming data. Chapter 2 discusses data visualization, drawing various plots and histograms. Chapter 3 covers mathematics and statistics for data science. Chapter 4 mainly focuses on machine learning algorithms in data science. Chapter 5 comprises of outlier analysis and DBSCAN algorithm. Chapter 6 focuses on clustering. Chapter 7 discusses network analysis. Chapter 8 mainly focuses on regression and naive-bayes classifier. Chapter 9 covers web-based data visualizations with Plotly. Chapter 10 discusses web scraping. The book concludes with a section discussing 19 projects on various subjects in data science. Audience The handbook will be used by graduate students up to research scholars in computer science and electrical engineering as well as industry professionals in a range of industries such as healthcare.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Digital Qualitative Research Methods
The field of digital methods for qualitative research is a rapidly developing one. More and more researchers are researching the social, cultural, political, anthropological and other dimensions of computer-mediated communication (CMC), or using CMC as a means of generating and analysing research data. There is now a proliferating diversity of terms, including digital methods, online methods, virtual ethnography, hypermedia methods, and so forth, that requires clarification and classification. This four-volume set brings together the most important and influential articles that have been published in this area and which enable the reader to understand the implications of digital technology for all aspects and phases of qualitative research design and dissemination. There are eight main sections to the volumes, two in each volume:Volume One: Mapping the Field of Digital Qualitative Research Methods1. Online Research Methods2. Researching Online CommunicationVolume Two: Multimedia and Hypermedia3. Hypertext and Hypermedia Applications4. Multimedia and MultimodalityVolume Three: Data Analysis in Digital Applications5. Computer-Aided Qualitative Data Analysis6. Data Analysis in Sound, Vision and MultimediaVolume Four: Collaboration, Sharing and Ethics in Digital Research7. Data Sharing and Collaboration8. Research Ethics in the Digital Age
Call Number: Reference Q180.55.E4 D54 2012 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Environmental Biotechnology
The past 30 years have seen the emergence of a growing desire worldwide that positive actions be taken to restore and protect the environment from the degrading effects of all forms of pollution - air, water, soil, and noise. Since pollution is a direct or indirect consequence of waste production, the seemingly idealistic demand for "zero discharge" can be construed as an unrealistic demand for zero waste. However, as long as waste continues to exist, we can only attempt to abate the subsequent pollution by converting it to a less noxious form. Three major questions usually arise when a particular type of pollution has been identi ed: (1) How serious is the pollution? (2) Is the technology to abate it available? and (3) Do the costs of abatement justify the degree of abatement achieved? This book is one of the volumes of the Handbook of Environmental Engineering series. The principal intention of this series is to help readers formulate answers to the last two questions above. The traditional approach of applying tried-and-true solutions to speci c pollution problems has been a major contributing factor to the success of environmental engineering, and has accounted in large measure for the establishment of a "methodology of pollution control. " However, the realization of the ever-increasing complexity and interrelated nature of current environmental problems renders it imperative that intelligent planning of pollution abatement systems be undertaken.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
The Gene Ontology Handbook (Open Access Book)
This book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license. This book provides a practical and self-contained overview of the Gene Ontology (GO), the leading project to organize biological knowledge on genes and their products across genomic resources. Written for biologists and bioinformaticians, it covers the state-of-the-art of how GO annotations are made, how they are evaluated, and what sort of analyses can and cannot be done with the GO. In the spirit of the Methods in Molecular Biology book series, there is an emphasis throughout the chapters on providing practical guidance and troubleshooting advice. Authoritative and accessible, The Gene Ontology Handbook serves non-experts as well as seasoned GO users as a thorough guide to this powerful knowledge system.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Gray's Anatomy
The most trusted name in anatomy! Readers will benefit from 2100 superb, high-quality illustrations, thorough coverage of important topics such as the structure and function of each body system, anatomical aspects of common surgical techniques, cross-sectional imaging, the anatomy encountered during endoscopic surgery, and more. "Stands alone as the greatest single reference in anatomy." (Radiology, review of a previous edition of Gray's Anatomy). Spanish version also available, ISBN: 84-8174-384-4
Call Number: QM23.2 .G73 1995 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1995
Handbook of Behavior Genetics
This handbook provides research guidelines to study roles of the genes and other factors involved in a variety of complex behaviors. Utilizing methodologies and theories commonly used in behavior genetics, each chapter features an overview of the selected topic, current issues, as well as current and future research.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Edited by renowned protein scientist and bestselling author Roger L. Lundblad, with the assistance of Fiona M. Macdonald of CRC Press, this fifth edition of the　Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology　gathers a wealth of information not easily obtained, including information not found on the web. Presented in an organized, concise, and simple-to-use format, this popular reference allows quick access to the most frequently used data. Covering a wide range of topics, from classical biochemistry to proteomics and genomics, it also details the properties of commonly used biochemicals, laboratory solvents, and reagents. An entirely new section on Chemical Biology and Drug Design gathers data on amino acid antagonists, click chemistry, plus glossaries for computational drug design and medicinal chemistry. Each table is exhaustively referenced, giving the user a quick entry point into the primary literature. New tables for this edition: Chromatographic methods and solvents Protein spectroscopy Partial volumes of amino acids Matrix Metalloproteinases Gene Editing Click Chemistry
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Biological Confocal Microscopy
Once the second edition was safely off to the printer, the 110 larger world of micro-CT and micro-MRI and the smaller world authors breathed a sigh of relief and relaxed, secure in the belief revealed by the scanning and transmission electron microscopes. that they would "never have to do that again. " That lasted for 10 To round out the story we even have a chapter on what PowerPoint years. When we ?nally awoke, it seemed that a lot had happened. does to the results, and the annotated bibliography has been In particular, people were trying to use the Handbook as a text- updated and extended. book even though it lacked the practical chapters needed. There As with the previous editions, the editor enjoyed a tremendous had been tremendous progress in lasers and ?ber-optics and in our amount of good will and cooperation from the 124 authors understanding of the mechanisms underlying photobleaching and involved. Both I, and the light microscopy community in general, phototoxicity. It was time for a new book. I contacted "the usual owe them all a great debt of gratitude. On a more personal note, I suspects" and almost all agreed as long as the deadline was still a would like to thank Kathy Lyons and her associates at Springer for year away.
Call Number: QH224 .H36 2006 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Handbook of Biomaterial Properties
This book provides tabular and text data relating to normal and diseased tissue materials and materials used in medical devices. Comprehensive and practical for students, researchers, engineers, and practicing physicians who use implants, this book considers the materials aspects of both implantable materials and natural tissues and fluids. Examples of materials and topics covered include titanium, elastomers, degradable biomaterials, composites, scaffold materials for tissue engineering, dental implants, sterilization effects on material properties, metallic alloys, and much more. Each chapter author considers the intrinsic and interactive properties of biomaterials, as well as their appropriate applications and historical contexts. Now in an updated second edition, this book also contains two new chapters on the cornea and on vocal folds, as well as updated insights, data, and citations for several chapters.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Computational Molecular Biology
The enormous complexity of biological systems at the molecular level must be answered with powerful computational methods. Computational biology is a young field, but has seen rapid growth and advancement over the past few decades. Surveying the progress made in this multidisciplinary field, the Handbook of Computational Molecular Biology offers comprehensive, systematic coverage of the various techniques and methodologies currently available. Accomplished researcher Srinivas Aluru leads a team of experts from around the world to produce this groundbreaking, authoritative reference. With discussions ranging from fundamental concepts to practical applications, this book details the algorithms necessary to solve novel problems and manage the massive amounts of data housed in biological databases throughout the world. Divided into eight sections for convenient searching, the handbook covers methods and algorithms for sequence alignment, string data structures, sequence assembly and clustering, genome-scale computational methods in comparative genomics, evolutionary and phylogenetic trees, microarrays and gene expression analysis, computational methods in structural biology, and bioinformatics databases and data mining. The Handbook of Computational Molecular Biology is the first resource to integrate coverage of the broad spectrum of topics in computational biology and bioinformatics. It supplies a quick-reference guide for easy implementation and provides a strong foundation for future discoveries in the field.
Call Number: QH324.2 .H357 2006 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Handbook of Developmental Science, Behavior, and Genetics
The Handbook of Developmental Science, Behavior, and Genetics brings together the cutting-edge theory, research and methodology that contribute to our current scientific understanding of the role of genetics in the developmental system. * Commemorates the historically important contributions made by Gilbert Gottlieb in comparative psychology and developmental science * Includes an international group of contributors who are among the most respected behavioral and biological scientists working today * Examines the scientific basis for rejecting the reductionism and counterfactual approach to understanding the links between genes, behavior, and development * Documents the current status of comparative psychology and developmental science and provides the foundation for future scientific progress in the field
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and BiotechnologyCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Molecular and Cellular Methods in Biology and Medicine
Several milestones in biology have been achieved since the first publication of the Handbook of Molecular and Cellular Methods in Biology and Medicine. This is true particularly with respect to genome-level sequencing of higher eukaryotes, the invention of DNA microarray technology, advances in bioinformatics, and the development of RNAi technology. Now in its third edition, this volume provides researchers with an updated tool kit that incorporates conventional as well as modern approaches to tackle biological and medicinal research in the post-genomics era. Significantly revised to address these recent changes, the editors have evaluated, revised, and sometimes replaced protocols with more efficient, more reliable, or simpler ones. The book has also been reorganized with section headings focusing on different biological levels connected to one another, taking into account the central dogma of biology (DNA → RNA → protein → metabolites). The book first explores traditional approaches and then moves to the modern "omics" approaches, including genomics, proteomics, and metabolomics. It also discusses the manipulation of biological systems (including RNAi) and macromolecular analyses, focusing on the use of microscopy. In each chapter, various notes and cautionary considerations are presented for potentially hazardous reagents. Filled with diagrams, tables, and figures to clarify methods, most chapters also contain Troubleshooting Guides indicating problems, possible causes, and solutions that may be incurred in carrying out the procedures. Researchers and scientists who master the techniques in this book are putting themselves at the cutting edge of biological and medicinal research.
Call Number: Reference QH506 .H36 2012 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
The Handbook of Nanomedicine
Nanomedicine is defined as the application of nanobiotechnology in clinical medicine, which is currently being used to research the pathomechanism of disease, refine molecular diagnostics, and aid in the discovery, development, and delivery of drugs. In The Handbook of Nanomedicine, Third Edition, Prof. Kewal K. Jain updates, reorganizes, and replaces information in the comprehensive second edition in order to capture the most recent advances in this dynamic field. Important components of nanomedicine such as drug delivery via nanobiotechnology and nanopharmaceuticals as well as nanooncology, where the greatest number of advances are occurring, are covered extensively. As this text is aimed at nonmedical scientists, pharmaceutical personnel, as well as physicians, descriptions of the technology involved and other medical terminology are kept as clear and simple as possible. In depth and cutting-edge, The Handbook of Nanomedicine, Third Edition informs its readers of the ever-growing field of nanomedicine, destined to play a significant role in the future of healthcare.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Nanoscience, Engineering, and Technology
In his 1959 address, "There is Plenty of Room at the Bottom," Richard P. Feynman speculated about manipulating materials atom by atom and challenged the technical community "to find ways of manipulating and controlling things on a small scale." This visionary challenge has now become a reality, with recent advances enabling atomistic-level tailoring and control of materials. Exemplifying Feynman's vision, Handbook of Nanoscience, Engineering, and Technology, Third Edition continues to explore innovative nanoscience, engineering, and technology areas. Along with updating all chapters, this third edition extends the coverage of emerging nano areas even further. Two entirely new sections on energy and biology cover nanomaterials for energy storage devices, photovoltaics, DNA devices and assembly, digital microfluidic lab-on-a-chip, and much more. This edition also includes new chapters on nanomagnet logic, quantum transport at the nanoscale, terahertz emission from Bloch oscillator systems, molecular logic, electronic optics in graphene, and electromagnetic metamaterials. With contributions from top scientists and researchers from around the globe, this color handbook presents a unified, up-to-date account of the most promising technologies and developments in the nano field. It sets the stage for the next revolution of nanoscale manufacturing--where scalable technologies are used to manufacture large numbers of devices with complex functionalities.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Plant Biotechnology
This important reference is the first work on Plant Biotechnology. Written by an international team of experienced researchers and professionals from both academia and industry, it will bring together the principles and practice of contemporary plant biotechnology to include: * the techniques of plant genetic modification - applications of plant biotechnology, crop improvement in agriculture and a production system for pharmaceutical proteins * ethics and safety issues - public perception, public relations, scale-up and testing, and legislation within the business of plant biotechnology.
Call Number: TP248.27.P55 C545 2004 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2004
The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis
Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from many studies in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given research issue. When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for conducting meta-analyses in both the social and behavioral sciences. In the third edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of classic chapters and add new sections that evaluate cutting-edge developments in the field. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. The editors and leading scholars guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions and distills a vast literature to explain the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, the development of machine-based abstract screening, the increased use of meta-regression and the problems of missing data. The Handbook also addresses the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis, including searching the literature and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can foster communication of the results of research syntheses. The third edition of the Handbook provides comprehensive instruction in the skills necessary to conduct research syntheses and represents the premier text on research synthesis. Praise for the first edition: "The Handbook is a comprehensive treatment of literature synthesis and provides practical advice for anyone deep in the throes of, just teetering on the brink of, or attempting to decipher a meta-analysis. Given the expanding application and importance of literature synthesis, understanding both its strengths and weaknesses is essential for its practitioners and consumers. This volume is a good beginning for those who wish to gain that understanding." --Chance "Meta-analysis, as the statistical analysis of a large collection of results from individual studies is called, has now achieved a status of respectability in medicine. This respectability, when combined with the slight hint of mystique that sometimes surrounds meta-analysis, ensures that results of studies that use it are treated with the respect they deserve....The Handbook of Research Synthesis is one of the most important publications in this subject both as a definitive reference book and a practical manual."--British Medical Journal When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for researchers conducting meta-analyses of existing research in both the social and biological sciences. In this fully revised second edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of the Handbook''s classic chapters, as well as entirely new sections reporting on the most recent, cutting-edge developments in the field. Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from a variety of sources in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given question or topic. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon years of groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. Cooper, Hedges, and Valentine have assembled leading authorities in the field to guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions. Distilling a vast technical literature and many informal sources, the Handbook provides a portfolio of the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed by the authors are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, and the problem of missing data. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis also provides a rich treatment of the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis. Topics include searching the literature, and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will also find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can be used to provide the most meaningful communication of the results of research synthesis. In addition, the editors address the potentials and limitations of research synthesis, and its future directions. The past decade has been a period of enormous growth in the field of research synthesis. The second edition Handbook thoroughly revises original chapters to assure that the volume remains the most authoritative source of information for researchers undertaking meta-analysis today. In response to the increasing use of research synthesis in the formation of public policy, the second edition includes a new chapter on both the strengths and limitations of research synthesis in policy debates
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Statistical Genetics
The Handbook for Statistical Genetics is widely regarded as the reference work in the field. However, the field has developed considerably over the past three years. In particular the modeling of genetic networks has advanced considerably via the evolution of microarray analysis. As a consequence the 3rd edition of the handbook contains a much expanded section on Network Modeling, including 5 new chapters covering metabolic networks, graphical modeling and inference and simulation of pedigrees and genealogies. Other chapters new to the 3rd edition include Human Population Genetics, Genome-wide Association Studies, Family-based Association Studies, Pharmacogenetics, Epigenetics, Ethic and Insurance. As with the second Edition, the Handbook includes a glossary of terms, acronyms and abbreviations, and features extensive cross-referencing between the chapters, tying the different areas together. With heavy use of up-to-date examples, real-life case studies and references to web-based resources, this continues to be must-have reference in a vital area of research. Edited by the leading international authorities in the field. David Balding - Department of Epidemiology & Public Health, Imperial College An advisor for our Probability & Statistics series, Professor Balding is also a previous Wiley author, having written Weight-of-Evidence for Forensic DNA Profiles, as well as having edited the two previous editions of HSG. With over 20 years teaching experience, he's also had dozens of articles published in numerous international journals. Martin Bishop - Head of the Bioinformatics Division at the HGMP Resource Centre As well as the first two editions of HSG, Dr Bishop has edited a number of introductory books on the application of informatics to molecular biology and genetics. He is the Associate Editor of the journal Bioinformatics and Managing Editor of Briefings in Bioinformatics. Chris Cannings - Division of Genomic Medicine, University of Sheffield With over 40 years teaching in the area, Professor Cannings has published over 100 papers and is on the editorial board of many related journals. Co-editor of the two previous editions of HSG, he also authored a book on this topic.
Call Number: Reference QH438.4.S73 H36 2007 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Handbook of Statistical Genomics
A timely update of a highly popular handbook on statistical genomics This new, two-volume edition of a classic text provides a thorough introduction to statistical genomics, a vital resource for advanced graduate students, early-career researchers and new entrants to the field. It introduces new and updated information on developments that have occurred since the 3rd edition. Widely regarded as the reference work in the field, it features new chapters focusing on statistical aspects of data generated by new sequencing technologies, including sequence-based functional assays. It expands on previous coverage of the many processes between genotype and phenotype, including gene expression and epigenetics, as well as metabolomics. It also examines population genetics and evolutionary models and inference, with new chapters on the multi-species coalescent, admixture and ancient DNA, as well as genetic association studies including causal analyses and variant interpretation. The Handbook of Statistical Genomics focuses on explaining the main ideas, analysis methods and algorithms, citing key recent and historic literature for further details and references. It also includes a glossary of terms, acronyms and abbreviations, and features extensive cross-referencing between chapters, tying the different areas together. With heavy use of up-to-date examples and references to web-based resources, this continues to be a must-have reference in a vital area of research. Provides much-needed, timely coverage of new developments in this expanding area of study Numerous, brand new chapters, for example covering bacterial genomics, microbiome and metagenomics Detailed coverage of application areas, with chapters on plant breeding, conservation and forensic genetics Extensive coverage of human genetic epidemiology, including ethical aspects Edited by one of the leading experts in the field along with rising stars as his co-editors Chapter authors are world-renowned experts in the field, and newly emerging leaders. The Handbook of Statistical Genomics is an excellent introductory text for advanced graduate students and early-career researchers involved in statistical genetics.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Statistical Systems Biology
Systems Biology is now entering a mature phase in which the key issues are characterising uncertainty and stochastic effects in mathematical models of biological systems. The area is moving towards a full statistical analysis and probabilistic reasoning over the inferences that can be made from mathematical models. This handbook presents a comprehensive guide to the discipline for practitioners and educators, in providing a full and detailed treatment of these important and emerging subjects. Leading experts in systems biology and statistics have come together to provide insight in to the major ideas in the field, and in particular methods of specifying and fitting models, and estimating the unknown parameters. This book: Provides a comprehensive account of inference techniques in systems biology. Introduces classical and Bayesian statistical methods for complex systems. Explores networks and graphical modeling as well as a wide range of statistical models for dynamical systems. Discusses various applications for statistical systems biology, such as gene regulation and signal transduction. Features statistical data analysis on numerous technologies, including metabolic and transcriptomic technologies. Presents an in-depth presentation of reverse engineering approaches. Provides colour illustrations to explain key concepts. This handbook will be a key resource for researchers practising systems biology, and those requiring a comprehensive overview of this important field.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of Stem Cells
New discoveries in the field of stem cells increasingly dominate the news and scientific literature revealing an avalanche of new knowledge and research tools that are producing therapies for cancer, heart disease, diabetes, and a wide variety of other diseases that afflict humanity. The Handbook of Stem Cells integrates this exciting area of life science, combining in two volumes the requisites for a general understanding of adult and embryonic stem cells. Organized in two volumes entitled Pluripotent Stem Cells and Cell Biology and Adult and Fetal Stem Cells, this work contains contributions from the world's experts in stem cell research to provide a description of the tools, methods, and experimental protocols needed to study and characterize stem cells and progenitor populations as well as a the latest information of what is known about each specific organ system.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Toxicology
The Handbook of Toxicology, Third Edition provides an updated practical reference source for practicing toxicologists in the pharmaceutical and chemical industries, contract laboratories, regulatory agencies, and academia. Written by experts in their specific toxicology fields, the chapters provide both fundamental and applied information. Topics r
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Kent and Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology
This substantially revised and updated classic reference offers a valuable overview and myriad details on current chemical processes, products, and practices. No other source offers as much data on the chemistry, engineering, economics, and infrastructure of the industry. The two volume Handbook serves a spectrum of individuals, from those who are directly involved in the chemical industry to others in related industries and activities. Industrial processes and products can be much enhanced through observing the tenets and applying the methodologies found in the book's new chapters.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
The Merck Index Online
"The Merck index online offers the same information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs, including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck index online will be updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts."
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013-
Molecular Biomethods Handbook
An authoritative team of investigators illuminate the core bioanalytical techniques used every day in their own laboratories, and laboratories throughout the world. These highly experienced scientists fully explain both the theory behind, and the application of, these key techniques, and include extensive references for those seeking detailed laboratory protocols. The techniques covered range from the extraction, separation, detection, and characterization of nucleic acids to gene cloning and library production, mapping, expression, transgenesis, differential display, and DNA profiling, to name a few. Numerous key protein methods, as well as support and related techniques, are also included. The goal is to provide established scientists and novices who are new to these techniques with a deeper understanding of the widest variety of biotechniques and their applications.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Nanobiomaterials Handbook
Nanobiomaterials exhibit distinctive characteristics, including mechanical, electrical, and optical properties, which make them suitable for a variety of biological applications. Because of their versatility, they are poised to play a central role in nanobiotechnology and make significant contributions to biomedical research and healthcare.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Nanoscience: Nanobiotechnology and Nanobiology
Nanobiotechnology is a rapidly developing field of research with new applications constantly emerging. This book presents the basics, fundamental results and latest achievements of nanobiotechnological research. It extends as far as promising applications of new nanomaterials and newly discovered nanoeffects. Additionally, it presents a large variety of nanobio-analysis methods.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
The landmark text in medical pharmacology is now in full color Includes DVD with image bank A Doody's Core Title for 2017! 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This 12th edition of the most authoritative book in pharmacology is the best both in content and physical appearance....This edition of Goodman & Gilman's continues to be the most authoritative and widely used resource bridging the discipline of pharmacology with therapeutics. Moreover, readers will find this edition to be substantially improved from past editions in both content and physical appearance."--Doody's Review Service The most universally respected and read medical text in all of pharmacology, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. Enriched by a new full-color presentation and updated to reflect all critical new developments in drug action and drug-disease interaction, the twelfth edition includes more than 440 color illustrations depicting key principles and actions of specific pathways and therapeutic agents. The companion DVD includes all the images and tables in the text along with narrated animations. Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 12e is divided into nine sections, covering: General Principles Neuropharmacology Modulation of Cardiovascular Function Inflammation, Immunomodulation, and Hematopoiesis Endocrine Pharmacology Gastrointestinal Pharmacology Chemotherapy of Infectious Disease Chemotherapy of Neoplastic Diseases Special Systems Pharmacology More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
Call Number: Reference RM300 .G644 2011 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Plant Cell and Tissue Culture - A Tool in Biotechnology
This book provides a general introduction as well as a selected survey of key advances in the fascinating field of plant cell and tissue culture as a tool in biotechnology. After a detailed description of the various basic techniques employed in leading laboratories worldwide, follows an extended account of important applications in, for example, plant propagation, secondary metabolite production and gene technology. Additionally, some chapters are devoted to historical developments in this domain, metabolic aspects, nutrition, growth regulators, differentiation and the development of culture systems. The book will prove useful to both newcomers and specialists, and even "old hands" in tissue culture should find some challenging ideas to think about.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Research Data Management and Data Literacies
Research Data Management and Data Literacies help researchers familiarize themselves with RDM, and with the services increasingly offered by libraries. This new volume looks at data-intensive science, or 'Science 2.0' as it is sometimes termed in commentary, from a number of perspectives, including the tasks academic libraries need to fulfil, new services that will come online in the near future, data literacy and its relation to other literacies, research support and the need to connect researchers across the academy, and other key issues, such as 'data deluge,' the importance of citations, metadata and data repositories. This book presents a solid resource that contextualizes RDM, including good theory and practice for researchers and professionals who find themselves tasked with managing research data. Gives guidance on organizing, storing, preserving and sharing research data using Research Data Management (RDM) Contextualizes RDM within the global shift to data-intensive research Helps researchers and information professionals understand and optimize data-intensive ways of working Considers RDM in relation to varying needs of researchers across the sciences and humanities Presents key issues surrounding RDM, including data literacy, citations, metadata and data repositories
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Springer Handbook of Enzymes
The Springer Handbook of Enzymes provides concise data on some 5,000 enzymes sufficiently well characterized - and here is the second, updated edition. Their application in analytical, synthetic and biotechnology processes as well as in food industry, and for medicinal treatments is added. Data sheets are arranged in their EC-Number sequence. The new edition reflects considerable progress in enzymology: the total material has more than doubled, and the complete 2nd edition consists of 39 volumes plus Synonym Index. Starting in 2009, all newly classified enzymes are treated in Supplement Volumes.
Call Number: Reference QP601 .E5158 2001 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Springer Handbook of Marine Biotechnology
This Springer Handbook provides, for the first time, a complete and consistent overview over the methods, applications, and products in the field of marine biotechnology. A large portion of the surface of the earth (ca. 70%) is covered by the oceans. More than 80% of the living organisms on the earth are found in aquatic ecosystems. The aquatic systems thus constitute a rich reservoir for various chemical materials and (bio-)chemical processes. Edited by a renowned expert with a longstanding experience, and including over 60 contributions from leading international scientists, the Springer Handbook of Marine Biotechnology is a major authoritative desk reference for everyone interested or working in the field of marine biotechnology and bioprocessing - from undergraduate and graduate students, over scientists and teachers, to professionals. Marine biotechnology is concerned with the study of biochemical materials and processes from marine sources, that play a vital role in the isolation of novel drugs, and to bring them to industrial and pharmaceutical development. Today, a multitude of bioprocess techniques is employed to isolate and produce marine natural compounds, novel biomaterials, or proteins and enzymes from marine organisms, and to bring them to applications as pharmaceuticals, cosmeceuticals or nutraceuticals, or for the production of bioenergy from marine sources. All these topics are addressed by the Springer Handbook of Marine Biotechnology. The book is divided into ten parts. Each part is consistently organized, so that the handbook provides a sound introduction to marine biotechnology - from historical backgrounds and the fundamentals, over the description of the methods and technology, to their applications - but it can also be used as a reference work. Key topics include: - Marine flora and fauna - Tools and methods in marine biotechnology - Marine genomics - Marine microbiology - Bioenergy and biofuels - Marine bioproducts in industrial applications - Marine bioproducts in medical and pharmaceutical applications - and many more...
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology Online
The prescriber's guide -- Essential psychopharmacology -- Essential neuropharmacology -- Other resources -- Stahl's illustrated -- Drug interaction.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008-
Stem Cells Handbook
This book discusses critical areas of progress in stem cell research, including the most recent research and applications of pluripotent embryonic cells, induced pluripotent cells, oligopotent tissue stem cells and cancer stem cells. The text covers basic knowledge of stem cell biology, stem cell ethics, development of techniques for applying stem cell therapy, the technology of obtaining appropriate cells for transplantation as well as the role of stem cells in cancer and how therapy may be directed to cancer stem cells. This new volume is essential reading for all scientists currently in the field or allied research areas, and those for those graduate students who envision a career in stem cells.nbsp;
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Stereoselective Synthesis of Drugs and Natural Products
Brings together the best tested and proven stereoselective synthetic methods Both the chemical and pharmaceutical industries are increasingly dependent on stereoselective synthetic methods and strategies for the generation of new chiral drugs and natural products that offer specific 3-D structures. With the publication of Stereoselective Synthesis of Drugs and Natural Products, researchers can turn to this comprehensive two-volume work to guide them through all the core methods for the synthesis of chiral drugs and natural products. Stereoselective Synthesis of Drugs and Natural Products features contributions from an international team of synthetic chemists and pharmaceutical and natural product researchers. These authors have reviewed the tremendous body of literature in the field in order to compile a set of reliable, tested, and proven methods alongside step-by-step guidance. This practical resource not only explores synthetic methodology, but also reaction mechanisms and applications in medicinal chemistry and drug discovery. The publication begins with an introductory chapter covering general principles and methodologies, nomenclature, and strategies of stereoselective synthesis. Next, it is divided into three parts: Part One: General Methods and Strategies Part Two: Stereoselective Synthesis by Bond Formation including C-C bond formation C-H bond formation C-O bond formation C-N bond formation Other C-heteroatom formation and other bond formation Part Three: Methods of Analysis and Chiral Separation References in every chapter serve as a gateway to the literature in the field. With this publication as their guide, chemists involved in the stereoselective synthesis of drugs and natural products now have a single, expertly edited source for all the methods they need.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
