Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Following are the dictionaries and encyclopedias we have that are useful for research in Biotechnology.
Encyclopedias can be a great source of background information for your topic and can help you find words to use for further research.
You will find books with Reference in front of the call number on the 2nd floor of the library in the reference section. Online resources are available on campus or off-campus for current students, staff, and faculty.
Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology
Rapid advances in science, medicine, and molecular biology have created a large amount of new information on biomedicine and molecular biology. Keeping up with the latest information can become a cumbersome task for professionals and students working in these fields. Updated to include new terminology and accurate characterizations of previously existing terms, the Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology, Second Edition provides easy access to the most commonly used drugs, antibiotics, and bio-chemically important compounds. Containing over 30,000 entries, the second edition of this dictionary provides concise, up-to-date definitions of terms commonly used in biotechnology, molecular biology, and biomedicine. Included in this second edition are over 23,000 definitions, 4,000 chemical structures, 1,200 equations of enzymatic reactions, and approximately 600 restriction endonucleases with explanations of their specific activities. Here is what's new in the second edition: Over 100 new illustrations of chemical structures A number of newly collected terms More than 3000 additional abbreviations commonly used in biomedicine, chemistry, biochemistry and molecular biology This updated edition integrates terminology and chemical structures from a variety of disciplines in a single, easy-to-use source. From defining existing terms to accounting for new developments, the Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology, Second Edition helps you stay abreast of the current advances in biomedicine and molecular biology.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Concise Encyclopedia of Biomedical Polymers and Polymeric Biomaterials
The Concise Encyclopedia of Biomedical Polymers and Polymeric Biomaterials presents new and selected content from the 11-volume Biomedical Polymers and Polymeric Biomaterials Encyclopedia. The carefully culled content includes groundbreaking work from the earlier published work as well as exclusive online material added since its publication in print. A diverse and global team of renowned scientists provide cutting edge information concerning polymers and polymeric biomaterials. Acknowledging the evolving nature of the field, the encyclopedia also features newly added content in areas such as tissue engineering, tissue repair and reconstruction, and biomimetic materials.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Concise Encyclopedia of Biostatistics for Medical Professionals
Concise Encyclopedia of Biostatistics for Medical Professionals focuses on conceptual knowledge and practical advice rather than mathematical details, enhancing its usefulness as a reference for medical professionals. The book defines and describes nearly 1000 commonly and not so commonly used biostatistical terms and methods arranged in alphabetical order. These range from simple terms, such as mean and median to advanced terms such as multilevel models and generalized estimating equations. Synonyms or alternative phrases for each topic covered are listed with a reference to the topic.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Dictionary of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Recent developments in molecular biology, genomics, proteomics, and other areas have produced a wealth of experimental data on sequences and three-dimensional structures of biological macromolecules. As a result, the employment of various computational methods of analysis to obtain useful information is now a major new discipline: bioinformatics. The Dictionary of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology provides a vital reference for important terms, offering students and researchers a convenient summary of the core knowledge of the field. With concise and accurate definitions of over 600 words, phrases, and concepts, this volume: * Offers thorough A-Z coverage * Lists references and Internet links * Incorporates cross-referencing throughout * Features a comprehensive index of topics Anyone working in basic sciences and clinical research today will find the Dictionary of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology to be an essential companion.
Call Number: Reference QH324.2 .D53 2004 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2004
A Dictionary of Biomedicine
Over 10,000 entries. This new edition fills the need to define the specialist language used within an evolving field by offering clear, concise definitions of even the most complex biomedical terms. It includes entries on all areas of biomedicine, focusing on areas that have developed since the first edition, such as genomics and biomedical science. Entries are authoritative and wide-ranging, covering terms from the related areas of anatomy, genetics, molecular bioscience, pathology, pharmacology, and clinical medicine"
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Dictionary of DNA and Genome Technology
DNA technology is evolving rapidly, with new methods and a fast-growing vocabulary. This unique dictionary offers current, detailed and accessible information on DNA technology to lecturers, researchers and students throughout the biomedical and related sciences. The third edition is a major update, with over 3000 references from mainstream journals and data from the very latest research - going well beyond the remit of most science dictionaries. It provides clear explanations of terms, techniques, and tests, including commercial systems, with detailed coverage of many important procedures and methods, and includes essay-style entries on many major topics to assist newcomers to the field. It covers topics relevant to medicine (diagnosis, genetic disorders, gene therapy); veterinary science; biotechnology; biochemistry; pharmaceutical science/drug development; molecular biology; microbiology; epidemiology; genomics; environmental science; plant science/agriculture; taxonomy; and forensic science.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
The Dictionary of Gene Technology: Genomics, Transcriptomics, Proteomics
The most up-to-date and comprehensive collection of technical terms of gene technology and related disciplines, such as genomics, transcriptomics and proteomics, pointing to the forefront of this modern and extremely rapidly evolving science. More than 2,500 new terms have been added to the previous 6,500 terms in the best-selling second edition. This dramatic increase reflects the unprecedented and literally explosive development of novel technologies, new insights in genic and genomic biology, and the worldwide marketing of such achievements. They also bear witness to current tendencies towards miniaturization and the increasing involvement of bioinformatics. Extensive explanations, comprehensive and simple diagrams and illustrations accompany the terms, providing outstanding access to the complexities of gene technology in its broadest sense. Moreover, the ever-growing jungle of acronyms and exotic jargon has been structured for less confusion and more translucence. Multiple cross-references enable a broad readership, layman and expert alike, to form networks linking the various terms in context and to understand relationships between gene technology and genetics, molecular genetics, biochemistry, biotechnology, microbiology and applied sciences. Seasoned researchers, newcomers, students, R & D officials, politicians, journalists and biotech company representatives will all benefit from this user-friendly dictionary in coping with the boom in this exciting science.
Call Number: Reference QH506 .K333 2004 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2004
A Dictionary of Genetics
This eighth edition of A Dictionary of Genetics contains over 7,500 up-to-date and cross-referenced entries, including 540 that are newly written. The entries include the latest terminology, concepts, theories, and techniques, covering not only genetics but also such overlapping disciplines ascell biology, medicine, and evolutionary biology.The fully revised six appendices are a unique source of detailed supplementary information, including a chronology of scientific and technological breakthroughs spanning the period from 1590 to the present, lists of useful internet sites and journals, and a table of sample genome sizes and genenumbers. A Dictionary of Genetics continues to be the definitive reference work for students, educators, and clinicians in the field of genetics.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal, and Policy Issues in Biotechnology
This set is comprehensive and technically literate and more informative on regulation and policy issues. Thomas Murray is a world-renowned leader in this field. This set is comprehensive and technically literate with very informative entries on regulation and policy issues.
Call Number: Reference TP248.16 .M87 2000 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Genetics
The Encyclopedia of Genetics provides the most complete and authoritative coverage of genetics ever published. Dr. Sydney Brenner, the 2002 Nobel Prize winner for Physiology or Medicine, and Professor Jeffrey H. Miller of UCLA have gathered the world's top geneticists to contribute to this outstanding collection. Diverse information is compiled into a single, comprehensive source, containing a clear presentation of cutting-edge knowledge. Easy-to-use and well-organized, the Encyclopedia of Genetics is an invaluable reference work for everyone from the academic researcher to the educated layperson.
Call Number: Reference QH427 .E532 2002 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics
This new third edition updates a best-selling encyclopedia. It includes about 56% more words than the 1,392-page second edition of 2003. The number of illustrations increased to almost 2,000 and their quality has improved by design and four colors. It includes approximately 1,800 current databases and web servers. This encyclopedia covers the basics and the latest in genomics, proteomics, genetic engineering, small RNAs, transcription factories, chromosome territories, stem cells, genetic networks, epigenetics, prions, hereditary diseases, and patents. Similar integrated information is not available in textbooks or on the Internet.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics
This unique reference brings together all four fields of genetics, genomics, proteomics, and bioinformatics to meet your dynamic research requirements. It brings together the latest concepts in these vibrant areas and ensures a truly multidisciplinary approach. Topics include genetic variation and evolution, epigenetics, the human genome, expression profiling, proteome families, structural proteomics, gene finding/gene structure, protein function and annotation, and more. The work incorporates a vast amount of topical information, profiles cutting-edge techniques, and presents the very latest findings from an international team of over five hundred contributors. With articles for both students and more experienced scientists, this is a key reference source for everyone. Contains more than 450 articles covering all aspects of genomics, proteomics, bioinformatics and related technologies Includes a glossary containing over 550 clear and concise definitions "I am pleased to recommend it heartily as a essential reference tool...should remain the definitive work...for many years to come." THE CHEMICAL EDUCATOR "Jorde...and co-editors have done a remarkable job in coordinating this information, distilling it into a package that is both easy to navigate and over-flowing in discovery." ELECTRIC REVIEW
Call Number: QH431 .E62 2005 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics
This work presents the first comprehensive and systematic treatment of all relevant issues and topics in contemporary global bioethics. Now that bioethics has entered into a novel global phase, a wider set of issues, problems and principles is emerging against the backdrop of globalization and in the context of global relations. This new stage in bioethics is furthermore promoted through the ethical framework presented in the UNESCO Universal Declaration on Bioethics and Human Rights adopted in 2005. This Declaration is the first political statement in the field of bioethics that has been adopted unanimously by all Member States of UNESCO. In contrast to other international documents, it formulates a commitment of governments and is part of international law (though not binding as a Convention). It presents a universal framework of ethical principles for the further development of bioethics at a global level. The encyclopedia caters to the need for a comprehensive overview and systematic treatment of all pertinent new topics and issues in the emerging global bioethics debate. It provides descriptions and analysis of a vast range of important new issues from a truly global perspective and with a cross-cultural approach. The issues covered by the encyclopedia include sponsorship of research and education, scientific misconduct and research integrity, exploitation of research participants in resource-poor settings, brain drain and migration of healthcare workers, organ trafficking and transplant tourism, indigenous medicine, biodiversity, commodification of human tissue, benefit sharing, bio industry and food, malnutrition and hunger, human rights and climate change
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Human Genetics and Disease
This encyclopedia examines the history, characteristics, causes, and treatment of genetic disease, as well as the science of genetics itself. Modern science has unlocked many of the mysteries of genetics, providing a blueprint for understanding the origins behind previously mysterious ailments and conditions, both common and uncommon. A complete understanding remains elusive, however: geneticists are still refining theories about what causes chromosomes to mutate, and genetic diseases remain difficult to diagnose and challenging to treat. This fascinating reference explores the scientific and human aspects of this complex field of science. Encyclopedia of Human Genetics and Disease features nearly 400 entries, including well-known genetic diseases, rare and lesser-known genetic diseases, and the genetic factors that may contribute to common diseases and health conditions, such as breast cancer and obesity. The author presents in-depth discussions of concepts essential to understanding genetic disease in 18 entries that provide background on key topics, such as "Genetics 101," the genome and the foundations of genetics, genetic counseling, and newborn screening. Each of the 355 disorders profiled provides the history of the condition, its prevalence, causes, treatment (if any), and further reading. Interesting sidebars and compelling photos that help inform content accompany many entries. Illustrations and photographs An informative timeline of genetic study advancements An annotated list of websites and helpful books
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Wiley is pleased to announce the recent acquisition of the prestigious Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) from the Nature Publishing Group. "The most ambitious single source reference source ever produced in the biological sciences" --American Reference Books Annual Spanning the entire spectrum of life science research, the Encyclopedia features more than 3,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. These concentrate primarily on the molecular and cellular life sciences, including biochemical topics, methods and techniques. Applied areas of science are also included on a selective basis, as are biographies and general interest articles on ethics and the history of science. Articles are divided into three categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory articles ELS features more than 1,400 introductory level articles. These have been written primarily for undergraduates and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Scientists and researchers looking to extend their knowledge outside their own specific field of interest will also find these articles useful. Advanced articles Over 1,800 advanced articles provide more detailed discussions of specialised subjects, at a level equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles Written by leading international scientists, these keynote articles cover hot topics and controversial issues. All articles have been rigorously peer-reviewed and edited prior to publication by an international Editorial Advisory Board of 180 subject specialist advisors. Most articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms/synonyms, units and other technical data. "In particular, the illustrations are excellent..." --Microbiology Today The ELS provides an excellent source of information for undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, teachers/lecturers as well as professionals and researchers working in the biomedical sciences and related areas. Although chapters on more complex subjects have been written primarily for those with a scientific background, unnecessary technical jargon is avoided, enabling the material to be accessed by the non-specialist. "This resource is a must-have for all biological sciences libraries and most larger academic and public libraries. It will be used often by undergraduate and graduate biology students, scientists, researchers, professors and government employees and journalists." --American Reference Books Annual
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Marine Biotechnology
A keystone reference that presents both up-to-date research and the far-reaching applications of marine biotechnology Featuring contributions from 100 international experts in the field, this five-volume encyclopedia provides comprehensive coverage of topics in marine biotechnology. It starts with the history of the field and delivers a complete overview of marine biotechnology. It then offers information on marine organisms, bioprocess techniques, marine natural products, biomaterials, bioenergy, and algal biotechnology. The encyclopedia also covers marine food and biotechnology applications in areas such as pharmaceuticals, cosmeceuticals, and nutraceuticals. Each topic in Encyclopedia of Marine Biotechnology is followed by 10-30 subtopics. The reference looks at algae cosmetics, drugs, and fertilizers; biodiversity; chitins and chitosans; aeroplysinin-1, toluquinol, astaxanthin, and fucoxanthin; and algal and fish genomics. It examines neuro-protective compounds from marine microorganisms; potential uses and medical management of neurotoxic phycotoxins; and the role of metagenomics in exploring marine microbiomes. Other sections fully explore marine microbiology, pharmaceutical development, seafood science, and the new biotechnology tools that are being used in the field today. One of the first encyclopedic books to cater to experts in marine biotechnology Brings together a diverse range of research on marine biotechnology to bridge the gap between scientific research and the industrial arena Offers clear explanations accompanied by color illustrations of the techniques and applications discussed Contains studies of the applications of marine biotechnology in the field of biomedical sciences Edited by an experienced author with contributions from internationally recognized experts from around the globe Encyclopedia of Marine Biotechnology is a must-have resource for researchers, scientists, and marine biologists in the industry, as well as for students at the postgraduate and graduate level. It will also benefit companies focusing on marine biotechnology, pharmaceutical and biotechnology, and bioenergy.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Metagenomics: Environmental Metagenomics
Metagenomics has taken off as one of the major cutting-edge fields of research. The field has broad implications for human health and disease, animal production and environmental health. Metagenomics has opened up a wealth of data, tools, technologies and applications that allow us to access the majority of organisms that we still cannot access in pure culture (an estimated 99% of microbial life). Numerous research groups are developing tools, approaches and applications to deal with this new field, as larger data sets from environments including the human body, the oceans and soils are being generated. See for example the human microbiome initiative (HMP) which has become a world-wide effort and the Global Ocean Sampling (GOS) surveys. The number of publications as measured through PubMed that are focused on metagenomics continues to increase. The field of metagenomics continues to evolve with large common datasets available to the scientific community. A concerted effort is needed to collate all this information in a centralized place. By having all the information in an Encyclopedia form, we have an opportunity to receive seminal contributions from the leaders in the field and at the same time provide this information to a significant number of junior and senior scientists, via colleges, libraries, and just through online access. This format also allows scientists in the developing world to have continued access to this growing field. It is anticipated that the Encyclopedia will also be used by many other groups including, clinicians, undergraduate and graduate level students, as well as ethical and legal groups associated with or interested in the issues surrounding metagenome science.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Metagenomics: Genes, Genomes and Metagenomes; Basics, Methods, Databases and Tools
Metagenomics has taken off as one of the major cutting-edge fields of research. The field has broad implications for human health and disease, animal production and environmental health. Metagenomics has opened up a wealth of data, tools, technologies and applications that allow us to access the majority of organisms that we still cannot access in pure culture (an estimated 99% of microbial life). Numerous research groups are developing tools, approaches and applications to deal with this new field, as larger data sets from environments including the human body, the oceans and soils are being generated. See for example the human microbiome initiative (HMP) which has become a world-wide effort and the Global Ocean Sampling (GOS) surveys. The number of publications as measured through PubMed that are focused on metagenomics continues to increase. The field of metagenomics continues to evolve with large common datasets available to the scientific community. A concerted effort is needed to collate all this information in a centralized place. By having all the information in an Encyclopedia form, we have an opportunity to gather seminal contributions from the leaders in the field, and at the same time provide this information to a significant number of junior and senior scientists. It is anticipated that the Encyclopedia will also be used by many other groups including, clinicians, undergraduate and graduate level students, as well as ethical and legal groups associated with or interested in the issues surrounding metagenome science.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Available as an exclusive product with a limited print run, Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3e, is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and includes a glossary, list of abbreviations, defining statement, introduction, further reading and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles. Written at a level suitable for university undergraduates, the breadth and depth of coverage will appeal beyond undergraduates to professionals and academics in related fields. 16 separate areas of microbiology covered for breadth and depth of content Extensive use of figures, tables, and color illustrations and photographs Language is accessible for undergraduates, depth appropriate for scientists Links to original journal articles via Crossref 30% NEW articles and 4-color throughout - NEW!
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Molecular Pharmacology
An essential text, that provides rapid access to information on molecular pharmacology for research scientists, clinicians and advanced students. With the A-Z format of over 2,000 entries, around 350 authors provide a complete reference to the area of molecular pharmacology. The book combines the knowledge of classic pharmacology with the more recent approach of the precise analysis of the molecular mechanisms by which drugs exert their effects. Short keyword entries define common acronyms, terms and phrases. In addition, detailed essays provide in-depth information on drugs, cellular processes, molecular targets, techniques, molecular mechanisms, and general principles.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research
What is a stem cell? We have a basic working definition, but the way we observe a stem cell function in a dish may not represent how it functions in a living organism. Only this is clear: Stem cells are the engine room of multicelluar organismsùboth plants and animals. However, controversies, breakthroughs, and frustration continue to swirl in eternal storms through this rapidly moving area of research. But what does the average person make of all this, and how can an interested scholar probe this vast sea of information?The Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research provides a clear understanding of the basic concepts in stem cell biology and addresses the politics, ethics, and challenges currently facing the field. While stem cells are exciting alone, they are also clearly fueling the traditional areas of developmental biology and the field of regenerative medicine. These two volumes present more than 320 articles that explore major topics related to the emerging science of stem cell research and therapy.
Call Number: Reference QH588.S83 E53 2008 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Virology
Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues its success as the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of concise "mini-review" articles, this praised work covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects. Now in five volumes, this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the 50% increase in identified and accepted viruses since the year 2000. With over 25% new chapters and over 1000 illustrations, this edition takes into account the new developments in virology research by including information on new emerging diseases such as avian flu, SARS and West Nile and the ability of some viruses to be used as agents of bioterrorism. Edited by leading Virologists Mahy and van Regenmortel, this third edition remains the number one all-inclusive source of information for virology researchers, students, and reference departments of academic, medical, and corporate libraries. Extensive coverage on AIDS and HIV, viral immunology and vaccines, the economic importance and control of virus diseases, and the origin, history, evolution and phylogeny of viruses -NEW! Four color throughout -NEW! Sections on future perspectives that show the direction of current research 25% NEW articles Glossary of key terms for easy referencing Information on viruses of human clinical interest, including the virus causing SARS -NEW! More than 20% NEW virus classifications The most recent information from the 8th International Committee on Taxonomy and Classification of Viruses -NEW! Recommendations for further reading and a list of other relevant entries
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedic Reference of Genomics and Proteomics in Molecular Medicine
Here is a broad overview of the central topics and issues in molecular biology and molecular medicine, with up-to-the minute information about developments in the field including pharmacogenics and pharmacoproteomics, gene therapy and gene regulation. Presented in an accessible A to Z format, the Encyclopedia's more than 2000 entries are written by leading experts in genomics and proteomics. The entries comprise in-depth essays, illustrated with full-color figures, and presented in a lucid style that will appeal to both experts and interested lay people.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedic Reference of Molecular Pharmacology
This comprehensive encyclopedic reference provides rapid access to focused information on molecular pharmacology for research scientists, clinicians and advanced students. With the A-Z format of about 2000 entries, about 200 authors provide a complete reference to the area of molecular pharmacology. The book combines the knowledge of classic pharmacology describing drug action as well as the more recent approach of the precise analysis of the molecular mechanisms by which drugs exert their effects. Short keyword entries define common acronyms, terms and phrases. In addition, detailed essays provide in-depth information on drugs, cellular processes, molecular targets, techniques, molecular mechanisms and general principles. Each essay is well-structured, with extensive cross-referencing between all entries. The book is accompanied by a CD-ROM which provides the full text and facilitated searches. Please note that this publication is available as print only OR online only OR print + online set. Save 75% of the online list price when purchasing the bundle.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2003
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
Includes information on almost 2,000 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Glossary of Biotechnology and Agrobiotechnology Terms
The 5th edition of Glossary of Biotechnology and Agrobiotechnology Terms will be a significant expansion of the previous 4th edition. In the past decade, many new terms have been introduced due to the appearance and application of new crop plant breeding methods as well as technical advances in genetics, molecular biology, cell biology and agricultural research. The terms associated with important new technologies have been added to this new edition including terms related to Zinc Finger Proteins, Transcription Activator-Like Effectors (TALEs), TALE Nucleases, Genome Editing, CRISPR/Cas 9 Gene-editing Systems, Oligonucleortide-mediated Mutagenesis, and RNA Interference, as well as hundreds of others. The 5th edition, like previous editions, will be useful for regulators of agricultural biotechnology around the world, customers, biotech patent officials, venture capitalists, and agbiotech company executives, as well as biopharmaceutical industries and academics.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology
From the beginning, immunologists have maintained a unique nomenclature that has often mystified and even baffled their colleagues in other fields, causing them to liken immunology to a black box. With more than 1200 illustrations, the Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology, Third Edition provides immunologists and nonimmunologists a single-volume resource for the many terms encountered in contemporary immunological literature. Encyclopedic in scope and including more than 1200 illustrations, the content ranges from photographs of historical figures to molecular structures of recently characterized cytokines, the major histocompatibility complex molecules, immunoglobulins, and molecules of related interest to immunologists. These descriptive illustrations provide a concise and thorough understanding of the subject. To reflect modern advances, the third edition includes entries on immunopharmacology, newly described interleukins, comparative immunology, immunity to infectious diseases, and expanded definitions in all of the immunological subspecialities. Providing unprecedented breadth and detail, this readily accessible book is not only a pictorial reference but also a primary resource.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Nature Encyclopedia of the Human Genome
This is a comprehensive and rigorously detailed overview of genetics and genomics research, its applications, and complex ethical, legal and social issues that arise from it. The reference includes approximately 1000 original, peer-reviewed articles organized alphabetically and commissioned around the following core subject areas: structural genomics; functional genomics; proteomics; evolution and comparative genomics; genome mapping; gene mapping and sequencing; chromosome structure and function; genes and disease; mathematical genetics; bioinformatics; behavioural and pscyhiatric genetics; biographies; and ethical, legal and social issues.
Call Number: Reference QH447 .E53 2003 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Nucleic Acids from A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia
Concise but complete, this mini-encyclopedia contains over 1,500 entries covering all important concepts, compounds, techniques and acronyms for quick and easy reference. Guiding readers through the ever-increasing jungle of nucleic acid science and technology, the book distills the key information out of the large body of primary literature and presents it in a single volume. A first-stop resource for everyone, from students to established researchers, as both a desktop and library reference.
Call Number: Reference QP620 .N797 2008 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Over the last few years, the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has expanded enormously to the extent that few scientists can expect to be familiar with all the terms and concepts. This is partly due the massive influence of the Genome and successive "-omics" projects which havedeveloped in to many new areas of research. At the same time, terms from other subject areas - including mathematics, statistics, physics and other life sciences - appear increasingly in the biochemical literature.The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive and 'encyclopaedic' survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. This new edition of the popular dictionary has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to include many important new concepts and words. Theentries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.There are over 21000 main entries, which include: details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, methods and concepts in molecular biology, and definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. Each entry is accessibly written. They point out pitfalls where termsare often confused, and explain the precise syntax of biochemical terms such as Greek letters and other formatting, which are invariably lost when searching the Internet. In addition, the dictionary is generously illustrated with over 900 chemical structures.The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will serve as an invaluable reference text for student and professional biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information both from within and outside their own fields. It will also be of relevance and use to a broader audience oflife scientists seeking an authoritative overview of fundamental principles.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering
A repository of the biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base. Represents the vast diversity of the field and its multi-and cross-disciplinary nature. As a peer reviewed primer, educational material, technical reference, research and development resource, the project encompasses the "best" in terms of its intellectual substance and rigor.
Call Number: R856.A3 .W55 2006 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Wiley Encyclopedia of Molecular Medicine
The field of molecular biology is revolutionizing human medicine and the applications of molecular biology to medicine are expanding. Encyclopedia of Molecular Medicine brings together those aspects of medicine that have significance at the molecular level, plus advances in molecular biology that are relevant to medicine. With over 1,700 separate primary entries, this comprehensive encyclopedia sets the standard for reference works in this rapidly expanding field. Edited by one of the most renowned names in the field of protein science, the coverage in Encyclopedia of Molecular Medicine is multilayered, ranging from the organ to the cell to the molecular and includes extensive cross-referencing. Geneticists, biochemists, molecular biologists, medical researchers, and doctors with either an academic or industrial background will find the Encyclopedia of Molecular Medicine an essential resource.
Call Number: QH506 .W535 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2002
The World Scientific Encyclopedia of Nanomedicine and bioengineering I, Nanotechnology for Translational Medicine: Tissue Engineering, Biological Sensing, Medical Imaging, and Therapeutics
Noble metal nanoparticles for biomedical applications / Application of nano-structured materials and devices in chemical and biological sensing / Nanotechnology in gene delivery / Nano imaging : from fundamental principles to translational medical applications
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
