Finding Background Information
If this is your first time researching this subject, check out these encyclopedias and other reference books. They will help you identify topics and information necessary to do your research project.
Databases:
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Encyclopedias:
Afro-Latin American Studies by ISBN: 9781316822883Publication Date: 2018-04-24The first systematic, book-length survey of humanities and social science scholarship on the exciting field of Afro-Latin American studies. The essays synthesize and present the current state of knowledge on a broad variety of topics, including Afro-Latin American music, religions, literature, art history, political thought, social movements, legal history, environmental history, and ideologies of racial inclusion.
Encyclopedia of African American History by ISBN: 9781851097746Publication Date: 2010-02-09This work documents African American culture and political activism from the slavery era through the 20th century.
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora by ISBN: 9781851097050Publication Date: 2008-07-29This source has information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries. It includes maps showing key locations in the African Diaspora.
Image Source:
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. "Fête de Ste. Rosalie, patrone des nègres." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47df-c95b-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99