Criticism and BiographyPublishers & BooksellersReference and General
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

French 

Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/french  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Full-Text Sources             Print Page
  
 
 

Full-Text Sources


ABU: la Bibliothèque Universelle
Contains the full text for nearly 300 French literary works that are in the public domain. Authors include Balzac, Flaubert, Hugo, Racine, and Voltaire. Links to ClicNet and some dictionaries.


Anthropological Index Online
A combination of 20 databases from three continents containing over 800,000 indexed references, many with abstracts. Records are derived from books, periodical articles, pamphlets, maps and music recordings. Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music and much more.


ATHENA Textes Français
A vast database developed by Pierre Perroud of full-text books and documents, primarily of French and Swiss authors.


ARTFL Project
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) is a cooperative project based at the University of Chicago. The database contains close to 2,000 electronic texts ranging from works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and writing, and includes links to related sites and electronic resources.


ClicNet: Littérature Francophone Virtuelle
Excerpts from contemporary francophone literature with links to web resources covering French language, art, literature, and culture. Maintained by Carole Netter, Swarthmore College.


Corpus de la littérature narrative
A digital library of about 1000 narrative works (novels, tales, and short stories) developed with the ARTFL Project at the University of Chicago.


EuroDocs
Richard Hacken of Brigham Young University has developed an impressive website of primary documents from Western Europe, arranged by country. The links connect to historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated, and which shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history).


French Language Resources
A collection of French texts at the University of Virginia's Electronic Text Center. Limited searching allowed for non-UVa users.


Gallica
Nearly 309,000 digitized, searchable texts from the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, including literary and reference materials.


Lire les femmes écrivains et les littératures africaines
An elegant effort to provide texts of novels, short stories, plays and poetry written by African women authors writing in French. Includes a general overview of the literature, biographical information of writers, and a number of links to other literary and political resources.


Littérature de langue française en ligne
Based at the Graduate Center at CUNY, this provides links to author sites, online texts, dictionaries, and other literature resources. Divided at one point into research by century.


Online Medieval and Classical Library
A collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization. Douglas B. Killings is responsible for the project, which is provided through the Berkeley Digital Library SunSITE.


Poésie Française
Over 3,000 francophone poems from the Renaissance to the early 20th century.


Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links
One could argue that Tennessee Bob makes all other French Studies web pages redundant and unnecessary. See for yourself!


Le Théâtre de la foire à Paris
A hypertext project devoted to la foire à Paris (17th & 18th centuries), created and maintained by Barry Russell of Oxford Brookes University.

Théâtrales
Collection of hypertexts on theater.

University of Virginia's Online French Texts
Collection of searchable French texts and images.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJane Faulkner
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561 B
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805.893.5380
Send Email

Subjects:
English, French

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait