Subject Guide
Anne Cong-Huyen
she/her/hers
Librarian
Angela Chikowero
she/her/hers
Contact:
UCSB Library
Room 5511, Ocean Side
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
achikowero@ucsb.edu
Room 5511, Ocean Side
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
achikowero@ucsb.edu
(805) 893-5873
Website
Library Award for Undergraduate Research
Enter your research for a chance to win $750!
The annual UCSB Library Award for Undergraduate Research (LAUR) recognizes students who produce a scholarly or creative work that makes expert and sophisticated use of the collections, resources, and services of the UCSB Library.
Welcome
This is a general guide and information resource on race, racial relations, the Black experience in the U.S., and for addressing white and other forms of privilege. It is not exhaustive and should serve as a starting point.
Please help build this resource by suggesting links, etc, by emailing Anne Cong-Huyen or Angela Chikowero.
Free at Last - A Juneteenth Poem
Books on Juneteenth
Africa and the Americas by
This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa. * Over 100 expert contributors--a diverse group of international scholars from all sides of the Atlantic representing many different disciplines * A rich collection of photographs of major political, cultural, and intellectual leaders from both sides of the Atlantic
ISBN: 9781851094462Publication Date: 2008
All Different Now by
Experience the joy of Juneteenth in this celebration of freedom from the award-winning team of Angela Johnson and E.B. Lewis. Through the eyes of one little girl, All Different Now tells the story of the first Juneteenth, the day freedom finally came to the last of the slaves in the South. Since then, the observance of June 19 as African American Emancipation Day has spread across the United States and beyond. This stunning picture book includes notes from the author and illustrator, a timeline of important dates, and a glossary of relevant terms. Told in Angela Johnson's signature melodic style and brought to life by E.B. Lewis's striking paintings, All Different Now is a joyous portrait of the dawn breaking on the darkest time in our nation's history.
ISBN: 9780689873768Publication Date: 2014
Free at Last by
This lyrical celebration of Juneteenth, deeply rooted in Black American history, spans centuries and reverberates loudly and proudly today. After 300 years of forced bondage; hands bound, descendants of Africa picked up their souls--all that they owned-- leaving shackles where they fell on the ground, headed for the nearest resting place to be found. Deeply emotional, evocative free verse by poet and activist Sojourner Kincaid Rolle traces the solemnity and celebration of Juneteenth from its 1865 origins in Galveston, Texas to contemporary observances all over the United States. This is an ode to the strength of Black Americans and a call to remember and honor a holiday whose importance reverberates far beyond the borders of Texas.
ISBN: 9781454943747Publication Date: 2022
Juneteenth by
Shot on the Senate floor by a young Black man, a dying racist senator summons an elderly Black Baptist minister from Oklahoma to his side for a remarkable dialogue that reveals the deeply buried secrets of their shared past and the tragedy that reunites them.
ISBN: 0394464575Publication Date: 1999
Juneteenth by
In Texas, all slaves found out they were free on June 19, 1865. This day is known as Juneteenth. At first, it was a holiday in Texas, but now people celebrate Juneteenth all across the United States. Readers will learn about the history of the holiday as well as how it is celebrated today. In addition, they can prepare a delicious recipe for corn muffins and construct Juneteenth flag pinwheels to place in a garden, yard, or window.
ISBN: 076608339XPublication Date: 2016
Juneteenth by
The Civil War was undoubtedly the most important and seminal event in 19th-century American history. Students who understand the Civil War have a better grasp of the central dilemmas in the American historical narrative: states rights versus federalism, freedom versus slavery, the role of the military establishment, the extent of presidential powers, and individual rights versus collective rights. Many of these dilemmas continue to shape modern society and politics. This comprehensive work facilitates both detailed reading and quick referencing for readers from the high school level to senior scholars in the field. The exhaustive coverage of this encyclopedia includes all significant battles and skirmishes; important figures, both civilian and military; weapons; government relations with Native Americans; and a plethora of social, political, cultural, military, and economic developments. The entries also address the many events that led to the conflict, the international diplomacy of the war, the rise of the Republican Party and the growing crisis and stalemate in American politics, slavery and its impact on the nation as a whole, the secession crisis, the emergence of the "total war" concept, and the complex challenges of the aftermath of the conflict.
ISBN: 1851096825Publication Date: 2013
Juneteenth: The Story Behind the Celebration by
Juneteenth has been touted as a national day celebrating the end of slavery. Observances from coast to coast have turned this event into part of the national conversation about race, slavery, and how Americans understand, acknowledge, and explain what has been called the national "original sin." But, why Juneteenth? Where did this celebration--which promises to become a national holiday--come from? What is the origin story? What are the facts, and legends, around this important day in the nation's history? This is the first scholarly book to delve into the history behind Juneteenth. Using decades of research in archives around the nation, this book helps separate myth from reality and tells the story behind the celebration in a way that provides new understanding and appreciation for the event. This book will captivate people interested in the history of emancipation and African American history but also those interested in Civil War and Texas history. As the United States continues to wrestle with race relations and the meaning of full equality, Juneteenth promises to become an important expression of that equality--an Independence Day celebration in its own right, a couple of weeks in advance of the traditional July 4th Holiday. This book will be a welcome addition to classrooms, book clubs and general readers interested in this once obscure regional event now destined for the national spotlight.
ISBN: 1649670001Publication Date: 2021
Juneteenth at Comanche Crossing by
These informative and inspiring biographies will give young readers a look at the lives of some of the world's most influential people in history. Each over 100 pages, the books are also ideal for reports.
ISBN: 0890153736Publication Date: 1983
Juneteenth Texas by
Juneteenth Texas, Publications of the Texas Folklore Society #LIV, received a San Antonio Conservation Society award for the preservation of historic buildings, objects and places relating to the history of Texas and its natural beauty and all that is admirably distinctive of our state, and to educate the public with knowledge of our inherited regional values.
ISBN: 1574410180Publication Date: 1996
