Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FAMST 101A: Films

Library Research Guide for Film & Media Studies 101A: History of International Cinema: Silent Film

Silent Film at the UCSB Library

The library has a number of Silent Films or documentaries about Silent Film on Blu-ray and DVD in the Media Collection (2nd Floor, Ocean Side).

Start by searching the library catalog for subject "silent films" and material type "Video/Film"

DVD drives  are available on library computers and  viewings stations are available behind the Media Collection.

Silent Cinema Online

Cinémathèque française - Search "Henri" the free streaming platform for archival materials with English subtitles

Filmoteca Espanola - Their digital materials include the Sagarminaga Collection

Filmoteca UNAM, UNAM Film Library - Their digital collection includes silent films preserved by UNAM

Library of Congress National Screening Room

San Francisco Silent Film Festival - films and flip books restored by SFSFF Preservation 

The Sulphur Springs Collection of Pre-Nickelodeon Films (G. William Jones Film & Video Collection) 

Tyler, Texas Black Film Collection (G. William Jones Film & Video Collection)

Nitrato Argentino (Museo Del Cine, Argentina)

Museo Nazionale Del Cinema (Torino, Italy)

EYE Filmmuseum (Netherlands)  - a selection of films are viewable on their YouTube channel or you can search their database for the "silent  movie" sub-collection

Cineteca Universidad de Chile includes a selection of silent films in the "Feature Films" category of its audiovisual archives.

 

Newsreels

All-American News (Library of Congress): Newsreels produced in the 1940s-1950s specifically for black audiences to encourage participation in and support the war effort and to reflect the African American perspective on world and national events. Read more about the collection and the production.

AP Archive (Associated Press) 

British Movietone 

British Pathé: Includes Gaumont Graphic (1910-1932), Empire News Bulletin (1926-1930) British Paramount (1931-1957), and Gaumont British (1934-1959)

Cineteca Nacional Mexico: Their collection on YouTube includes a selection of the newsreel "Noticiero Mexicano"

Filmoteca Espanola Online Collections: Includes newsreels from the Spanish Civil War in their Civil War Collection and Historical Archive Collection

Fox Movietone News Collection (University of South Carolina Moving Image Research Collection): Includes Fox News (1919-1930) and Fox Movietone News (1927-1963

Hearst Metrotone Newsreels (UCLA Film & Television Archive): Includes a small selection of digitized material (1914-1968) from their larger collection.

Israel Film Archive / Jerusalem Cinematheque

Library of Congress National Screening Room

Paramount Newsreels and American Pathé (1895-1956) from the Sherman Grinberg Film Library

National Film Preservation Foundation (NFPF)  

National Cinema of Chile includes newscasts, documentaries, and films about the government in its online collections.

Hungarian National Film Archive - A selection of Hungarian World newsreels (1931-1924)

Swedish Film Institute

EYE Filmmuseum (Netherlands) - A selection of newsreels are on their YouTube page and Mirror of the Netherlands  (1958-1960) is available in the "Journal" subcollection


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies