Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FAMST 101A: UCSB Library Search Basics

Library Research Guide for Film & Media Studies 101A: History of International Cinema: Silent Film

About

UC Library Search is a tool that you can use to find books, articles, media, and more. This page tells you how to do simple and advanced searches, sign into your library account, and request items from other libraries if we do not have them readily available. If you have any questions Ask a Librarian for help!

What is UC Library Search?

With UC Library Search you can find and borrow materials from UC Libraries quickly and easily. As of July 27, 2021, the libraries on all 10 University of California campuses were connected through UC Library Search, a unified discovery and borrowing system. 

With UC Library Search, you are able to:

  • Search UCSB’s local library collection and all 10 UC libraries’ collections in the same system;

  • Locate millions of print and online books, journal articles, and other content;

  • Borrow and renew materials from any library in the UC system using only your UCSB NetID and password. 

My Library Account

NOTE:  There is currently an issue with logging into My Library Account if you are using the proxy server.  If you plan to log into your account, do not log into the proxy server before coming into UC Library Search.

My Library Account provides access to current Loans, Requests, Fines & Fees, and Blocks and Messages.

To access My Library Account, select “Sign in” in UC Library Search at the top of the screen.

UCSB Students, Faculty and Staff:  Sign in with your UCSB NetID and password.

Community Users:   Sign in with the barcode number from your UCSB Library borrower's card and your password. 
NOTE:  On first use, you will need to contact the Services Desk to have them set a password for your account.

After signing in, select your name to display the “My Library Card” link

login and select library card info for UC Library Search

 

Description of the tabs seen on My Library Card
Loans Requests Fines + Fees Blocks + Messages Personal Details

The "Loans" box shows all the books and other materials that you have checked out from the Library. 

You can use the "Renew All" option to renew your books, or you can renew just specific items. 

NOTE:  To renew Interlibrary Loan materials you need to use the My ILL system.

The "Requests" box will show the status of any items that you have requested through UC Library Search. 

NOTE:  To check the status of Interlibrary Loan requests, you need to use the My ILL system.

The "Fines + Fees" box will show if you have any outstanding fines or fees due to the Library.

NOTE: A list of common charges and how to pay any bills related to library loans can be found on the Fines and Fees page.

The "Blocks + Messages" will show any blocks on your account or messages that need your attention.

Use the "Personal Details" link to edit your personal information in your library account.

We highly recommend that you:

1. Keep your contact information up to date.

2. Opt in to receiving all the reports from the system.

 

Be sure to always log out of your session.  This is especially important if you are using a shared computer such as one of the public computers in the library.

Logging out is a 2-step process:

1. Click on the Log Out icon

UC Library Search sign out menu indicated in orange

2. Close the browser

NOTE:  If you do not close the browser after logging out, the next person may be able to log into your account.  Protect your privacy -- always close the browser after logging out!

Simple Search

The search box on the UCSB Library website directs you to the Simple Search for UC Library Search by typing a title or one or more words into this search box will return results that contain all or part of your specified terms.

UC Library homepage displaying six menu tiles with, "UC Library Search; Course Reserves; Articles & Databases; Research Guides; Alexandria Digital Research Library; Archives & Manuscripts"

Once you have been directed to your results from the UCSB Library website, you will find this Simple Search box remains at the top of your screen. 

Simple Search Box: Inside the UCSB Library Search Interface

When typing into the Simple Search box from the top of your screen, you will be given a drop down menu where you can choose from a variety of scoping options.

Scoping options for a Simple Search in UC Library Search with options displayed for, "Articles, Books, and More; UCSB Library Catalog; UCSB Course Reserves; UCSB Special Research Collections; UCS Discovery Network"

Scoping Options:  

Articles, Books, and More: Everything provided by all UC Campuses plus other libraries

UCSB Library Catalog: Resources only from UC Santa Barbara

UCSB Course Reserves: Resources reserved for courses offered at UC Santa Barbara

UCSB Special Research Collections: Resources only from UC Santa Barbara Special Collections

UCS Discovery Network: Resources from all University of California Libraries.

Boolean Operators:

AND, OR, NOT: Change the operator between your search terms or phrase to expand or narrow your results.

UCSB Library Advanced Search, Operators AND, OR, NOTAND: Requires both terms are present in the result list. Results will decrease as both terms must be present.

OR: Either term can be present in the result list. Results will increase as one or both terms can be present.

NOT: Removes a results with a given term. Results will decrease as results with that term will be omitted.

Advanced Search

UC Library Search also offers an Advanced Search option. Use this search to build more advanced search statements and limit your results to specified parameters.

You can find the link for UC Library Advanced Search under the search box on the UCSB Library website.

UCSB Library homepage with the "Advanced Search" option circled for UC Library Search
 
If you have already executed a Simple Search from the UCSB Library website, you can easily find the Advanced Search link next to the search box near the top of your screen.
"Advanced Search" feature circled within a results page for UC Library Search
 
Using the UCSB Library Advanced Search you can create more complex search statements by using multiple search terms and phrases limited to a specific field, such as Title, Author, or Subject. You can also limit your results by choosing the scope of the search, the material type, language, and publication date.
Advanced Search scopes (Articles, Books, & More; UCSB Library Catalog; UCSB Course Reserves; UCSB Special Research Collections; UCS Discovery Network) ) and filters (keyword filters; material type, language; start date; end date)
 
 

Filtering your results

Use the facets on the left side of the results screen to narrow your search.

Interlibrary Loan Requests

If you have identified an item that is checked out, or not available at UCSB, you will first need to sign in.

Next, select the link for Interlibrary Loan.

Enter your library card/account number, which is the number listed on the bottom of your UCSB Access card below the barcode.

 

After you submit the form and the item has been sent from elsewhere, it will be available for you at the Services Desk. The library will notify you when it is available for pick up.


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies