Dissertations - Online Tools
Dissertations are indexed by many subject databases (Historical Abstracts, PsycInfo, etc.)
This is a list of databases that exclusively index dissertations.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new windowINTERNATIONAL: It comprises two major search tools, Scirus ETD Search and VTLS Visualizer, and other tools for searching specific countries or regions.
- Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
An index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
- OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Incorporates EBSCO’s American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Indexes the work of authors from graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Starting with the 1980s records include abstracts of the works. Our subscription gives UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full text 1997 forward.
Print Dissertations in UCSB Library
UCSB Dissertations dated 1997 and later can be found in the Dissertations & Theses database.
For UCSB dissertations listed in the UC Library Search see Subject Heading:
University of California, Santa Barbara -- Dissertations