Finding Articles & Journals
To find a specific journal, use Browzine or UC Library Journal Search.
To locate an article for which you have a citation, use Fetch Item (Citation Linker).
To find scholarly articles on your topic, use the library's Article Databases.
Best Places to Start
The UCSB Library subscribes to hundreds of research databases which are excellent tools for finding scholarly articles. Below is a selection of recommended databases for research in Comparative Literature, many of which contain the full text of articles. If you do not see a link to the full text, use the 
link to find a different access point or to order a copy through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
The complete list of databases, including descriptions, is here: A-Z list of databases.
-
ProQuest One LiteratureOver 3 million citations and full text from literary journals, monographs, and dissertations covering much of the world's literature. Includes book reviews and more than 500,000 primary works.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndex to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary index to thousands of journals and other publications.
-
Literature Resource CenterCritical and literary analysis and full-text information about authors and their works.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowJournals and books from leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of journals and books in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes primary sources from around the world, including those from Artstor.
Other Recommended Databases
-
Brepolis Medieval & Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowArticles about the medieval period derived from periodicals, conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and others.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowNews, culture and history from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press.
-
FRANCIS This link opens in a new windowAn international index to 3,000 journals across major scholarly disciplines, with an emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (the U.S. and Canada are covered in America: History and Life)
-
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowBibliography on the Renaissance (1300-1700) and Middle Ages (400-1500). Includes citations for books, articles, dissertations, and essays.
-
Literary Sources from Gale This link opens in a new windowGateway to Gale Reference Book Collection.
-
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowCriticism, biographies, primary texts, and more.
-
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowDigitized journal articles in the arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology and geography from 1802-2005.
-
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology and geography (1665-1995).
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, and more.
-
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
-
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new windowMedieval manuscripts from libraries around the world, dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries, with a focus on accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India, and China
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).