Statistical Sites about Hispanic/Latinos in the U.S.
The key to find statistics about the Hispanic/Latino population in the United States is to understand how governmental and non-governmental agencies categorize this information
Because Chicana/o is a political label not an ethnic one, you will rarely find statistical information about them as a group. Instead focus on searching using either nationality or ethic labels. For example:
- Instead of Chicana/o search for Mexican American (for Mexican descendants) or Mexican (for immigrants)
- In most cases, Hispanic American is used more often in statistical data than Latino. It is OK to use both in your searches to make sure you are getting all possible results
- For specific statistics for other Hispanic/Latino groups use their nationality, e.g. Puerto Rican, Cuban, Salvadoran, etc.
Check the tabs in this table to find resources on where to find census, education, health data and much more!
- Explore Census DataYou can search the Census site for statistical information regarding the Hispanic American population. You can select from the Advanced Menu to search by topic, e.g. Race and Ethnicity and then narrow it down by ethnic groups, e.g. Mexican American, Puerto Rican, Cuban American, etc. You can also search by State, City, Town, Years, etc.
- CensusScopeThis site shows census trends for states, cities and metropolitan areas.
- National Center for Education Statistics: DataLabIn this site, you can create all type of tables, graphs and data visualization using data collected and shared by the National Center for Education Statistics. Data from K-12 and college and universities in the United States.
- NAEP Data ExplorerThe NAEP Data Explorer allows visitors to create statistical tables, charts, maps using educational data from the United States. Created by the Nation's Report Card.
- Health of Hispanic or Latino PopulationFrom the National Center for Health Statistics, a summary of health statistics for the Hispanic/Latino Population in the United States as a general group
- Health of Mexican American PopulationFrom the National Center for Health Statistics, a summary of health statistics for the Mexican American population in the United States
- Hispanic/Latino Americans Health ReportFrom the Office of Minority Health Resource Center
- Healthy People 2020Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new windowThe Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The Roper Center provides access to summary-level (aggregate) and micro-level (raw) public opinion data. While the data collection focuses strongly on United States public opinion, it also includes collections of micro-level European, Latin American (Latin American Databank), and Japanese (JPOLL) polls.You must create an individual login to gain full access to the features of this resource.
- Pew Hispanic Center--Data and ResourcesThe Pew Hispanic Center makes the datasets from each of its surveys available to researchers free of charge. The Center also compiles data on the Latino population and electorate, and its demographic characteristics and geographic distribution. Characteristics of the foreign-born population in the U.S. are also a focus of the Center's work.
- Pew Research Center--Statistical Portaits: Hispanic TrendsThese profiles focus on the demographic and economic characteristics of Hispanics and the foreign born in the U.S. Topics covered include racial self-identification, age, geographic dispersion, nativity, citizenship, origin, language proficiency, living arrangements, marital status, fertility, schooling, health insurance coverage, earnings, poverty and other labor market outcomes. Comparisons with the white, black and total populations are also available.
- MPI | Immigration Data HubThe MPI Data Hub showcases in-depth and latest data on immigrant trends and patterns in the United States and around the world. Research tools include US State Data on the Foreign Born, Maps of the Foreign Born, the World Migration Map, Comparative Charts and Tables, the Global Remittances Guide, and asylum data.
Crime statistics are available at the state and federal level
- CA Crime DataThis site contains crime data submitted by county and local law enforcement agencies, as well as current and historical publications on crime, juvenile justice, homicide, and hate crimes in California.
- FBI: Crime Data ExplorerThis site helps you find crime data both at the state and federal level.
- Police Violence Report (2022)This non-profit organization compile data from media reports, obituaries, public records, and databases like The Gun Violence Archive and the Washington Post, to report police violence nationwide.
- The California Racial and Identity Profiling Advisory Board (RIPA) ReportsThis organization tracks how prevalent is racial and identity profiling in CA. The last report published is 2024, but you can access early reports at the bottom of the page.