LibGuides: Taiwan Studies: Articles

English Language Articles

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Over 900,000 citations of Western-language journal articles, review articles, conference proceedings, chapters in edited volumes, and Festschriften published anywhere in the world that deal with East, Southeast and South Asia and with the overseas Asian communities, dating primarily from 1971 onwards.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A citation database of articles published in over 2,000 journals on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text.
Note: Newer works published in the recent 3-5 years may not be included.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citation of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics published from over 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of hundreds of university press and other journals. Older issues of many (but not all) of the journals are available in JSTOR. The Project MUSE advanced search allows you to search and link through to the corresponding JSTOR archives as well.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from hundreds of electronic journals and thousands of electronic books published by Springer and its subsidiaries. Many of the journals and books are available for full-text display.

UCSB E-journal Collection

Foreign Office Files for China This link opens in a new window
Foreign Office Files for China collection makes available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1949 and 1980.

Chinese Language Articles

CNKI China Academic Journals 中国期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
UC has access to the journals in the Literature/History/Philosophy, Economics/Politics/Law and Education/Social Science portions of the database, approximately 1,700 journal titles.
A primary Chinese journal article database.
Note: UCSB only has access to certain collections:
- CAJ: Series F - Literature/History/Philosophy
- CAJ: Series G - Politics/Military affairs/Law
- CAJ: Series H - Education/Social Sciences
- CAJ: Series J - Economics/Management
Users can create a personal account to use additional features.
Dacheng Old Journals Full-text Database 大成老旧期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
Full texts of over 6,000 journals published between 1883 and 1949.
Duxiu 读秀 This link opens in a new window
Provides full text search to 600 million volumes of e-books, dissertations, journals, magazines, web pages and newspapers. Its comprehensiveness and functionality can be best related as the Chinese version of Google Books and Google Scholar.
Materials Indexed: Books; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Newspaper Articles; Theses & Dissertations
Encyclopedia of Taiwan 台灣文獻叢刊 This link opens in a new window
Includes 309 books of classics related to Taiwanese studies from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese Occupation.
Note: Six (6) accesses shared among several UC campuses. Try again later if refused. Log out after use.
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services 台灣電子期刊服務網 This link opens in a new window
Full texts and indexes of Taiwanese periodicals, covering Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Applied Sciences, and Medical and Life Sciences. Additional titles are added regularly. For better search result, users have to search in Chinese.