Search Tip for Databases
Search for KEYWORDS in the
- ABSTRACT field, or
- SUBJECT field
Do NOT use TEXT/ALL TEXT!!!!
Databases for Finding Articles
If you don't find what you need in Academic Search Complete, try a couple of discipline-specific database listed below.
And you don't find what you need using the below resources, Ask a Librarian for another database recommendation!
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering thousands of journals and other publications. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, and indexing/abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Covers education-related literature. Provides access to ERIC documents and journal articles.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes journals published throughout the world. Also includes a targeted selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
- Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature. Contains indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, etc.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes content from scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals. Includes biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and related disciplines from professional journals, book chapters, books, reports, and dissertations. Most citations include abstracts. In addition, there are millions of cited references in journal articles, books, and chapters.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Draws information from an international selection of thousands of journals and other sources.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books across hundreds of disciplines.
Get it at UC
If you can't get the Full Text of an article from the database you are working in, Click the "Get it at UC" link to find out if the Library has access to it in another place.
The "Get it at UC" link checks to see if the article is available either in full-text online in other databases or in print on the library shelves.
If the library does not have access to the article you need, the "Get it at UC" option will provide a link to Interlibrary Loan.