ENVI 2 - Introduction to Environmental Science (Murray, Summer 2024): Environmental Victories

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Covers all aspects of aquatic science including aquaculture, biology, conservation, environmental quality, fisheries, freshwater environments, limnology, marine biotechnology, marine environments, meteorology, oceanography, policy and legislation, and wildlife management.

The ProQuest Earth and Environmental Sciences database cluster allows users to simultaneously perform a search in any or all of the following databases: ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts, ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, GeoRef, TOXLINE. For more information on the individual databases, see their respective entries in the Databases list.

Summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.

Provides over 2.2 million citations from over 3,500 journals, serials, maps, theses and dissertations, government publications, books, and reports in the fields of geology and geophysics, including information on energy sources, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, groundwater pollution, nuclear reactor sites, landslides, and erosion, as well as the history of the earth, the structure of the earth, the study of ore deposits, and geostatistics. The database is updated every two weeks with approximately 3,000 new records. Note: GeoRef In Process contains records, not necessarily recent ones, which are currently being indexed by GeoRef. The GeoRef Preview at AGI database contains the most recently indexed records, not yet fully indexed for the main GeoRef file. For the most complete searches, search all three: GeoRef, GeoRef In Process and GeoRef Previews.

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The UC has partnered with Google Scholar to allow our users to click on the familiar "Get it at UC" button to reach full text of some items indexed. Use the "Scholar Preferences" link and select "University of California, Santa Barbara - Get it at UC" before saving your preferences.

GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Web of Science consists of nine databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded for journal aritcles; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science and Conference Proceedings - Social Sciences and Humanities; Book Citation Index - Science and Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities; and Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus. Web of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines. Both the science and social sciences journal article files offer searchable author abstracts. All three databases are updated weekly.