Contains dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Date Coverage: 20th Century
Materials Indexed: Video
Contains more than 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.
Kanopy provides streaming access to educational videos from producers including Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber, BBC, A&E, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, and others. Only videos currently licensed by UCSB Library will be listed after UCSB patrons are authenticated.
Over 2,000 streaming films with a focus on environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, the arts, and more. Films have a perpetual license and features include closed captions, subtitles, searchable and interactive transcripts, capability for clipping, citation, and playlist creation.
Comprised of 20th century documentaries, newsreels, and feature films created in the communist world and later modified with English language enhancements for distribution to Western audiences. All 2,000 films come from 16mm and 35mm reels held in the ETV-Plato Films collection which was donated to British Film Institute (BFI) archives in 2003 by British communist Stanley Forman.
The UCSB Library's subscription to Swank Digital Campus allows access to the platform’s top 1,000 most-requested videos from the prior year. Films may be shown to enrolled students in on-campus or virtual classrooms; no public performance rights. Filters include category, or audio or subtitle language. On first use, site visitors are asked to select “student” or “instructor.” Clicking on “Instructor” prompts the user to create an account, but no account is required (click “Student”) to access the UCSB-licensed content while connected to campus VPN.
Contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances.
Archive of television news from major U.S. national broadcast networks, covering special reports and periodic news broadcasts. Most any content that is not available to stream online can be requested for loan in a physical format. Contact your Subject Librarian for assistance.
Date Coverage: 1968 - present
Materials Indexed: Video