Data Sources
Data Sources @ UCSB Library
Are you looking for:
- A specific data set you saw referenced in an article?
- Help finding out what data sets are available on a particular topic?
- A statistic to support an argument?
The UCSB Library's DREAM Lab can help you with data discovery, and can (in some cases) assist with the acquisition of specific data sets.
This guide is meant to be a starting point for researchers, so if you don't find what you're looking for, please contact us!
For assistance in data curation, data management, or other topics related to your own research data, please visit the guide for Research Data Services
Core Resources
-
U.S. Census BureauSource for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Provides fact sheets, statistics, and tabular data.
-
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social ResearchICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences, including economics. Search by keyword, topic, or series.
In order to view data, you must create a MyData account. As a researcher affiliated with UCSB, creating an account permits you to download data available only to ICPSR members. -
Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchThe Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The Roper Center provides access to summary-level (aggregate) and micro-level (raw) public opinion data. While the data collection focuses strongly on United States public opinion, it also includes collections of micro-level European, Latin American (Latin American Databank), and Japanese (JPOLL) polls.
-
Social Media DataUCSB Library information regarding using social media data for your research.
-
Data Citation IndexData Citation Index indexes data sets from selected repositories around the world, and also enables the user to find data sets which cite a particular work.
-
World Development Indicators (World Bank)World Development Indicators (WDI) provides direct access to more than 900 development indicators, with time series for 210 economies going back to 1960, where data are available.
