Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Blackwell Companion to Philosophy by Call Number: Reference B21 .B56 2003 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0631219072Publication Date: 2003
The Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy by Call Number: Reference B41 .B79 2004 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 1405106794Publication Date: 2004
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Call Number: Reference B41 .C35 1999 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9780521631365Publication Date: 1999
A Dictionary of Continental Philosophy by Call Number: Reference B41 .D46 2006 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0300116055Publication Date: 2006
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by Call Number: Main Library ; B51 .O94 2005ISBN: 0199264791Publication Date: 2005
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy 10V by Call Number: Reference B51 .R68 1998 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0415073103Publication Date: 1998
Handbooks, Guides and Companions
Handbook of World Philosophy by Call Number: Reference B804.A1 H36 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9780313223815Publication Date: 1980
Research Guide to Philosophy by Call Number: Reference B52 .T5 1983 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9780838903339Publication Date: 1983
Why Use Reference Books?
Use reference books (encylopedias, handbooks, dictionaries etc.) to get an overview of topics you may be interested in researching. The more background information you have on a topic of interest, the more you will be able to think of promising research questions. The information in reference books tends to be factual or widely accepted information, rather than critical and or debatable information and ideas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- a collection of reference books
- something on most topics
- a good starting point
Online Resources
A Collection of digitized materials on different topics and philosophers
- Aquinas
- Bentham
- British Philosophy: 1600- 1900
- Continental RationalistsFichte
- Hegel
- Hobbes
- Kant
- Locke
- Wittgenstein
Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names