Philosophy: Articles

Web of Science covers thousands of research journals across hundreds of disciplines as well as some conference proceedings and books. To search only Arts & Humanities Citation Index, use the “Editions: All” selection tool and uncheck unwanted databases. Note that some humanities fields may overlap into the social sciences and sciences.

Indexes religious and theological scholarship from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. Provides links to the full text of many of the articles indexed via ATLAS (ATLA Serials).

Full-text collection of the works of some of the major European philosophers including Descartes, Fichte, Hegel, Kant, Leibniz, Spinoza and Wittgenstein. Some have been translated into English; some are in the original language.

Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Covers almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. 

Philosophy is one of the oldest areas of study with a long history of critical literature, and it remains a highly active field for new research and publishing. The number of books and articles published seems to increase every year. Much of the most recent work has moved online in one form or another, and older material that was once out of print or difficult to find is being made more easily available. The result being that today’s students and researchers have ready access to overwhelming array of potentially useful primary texts, journal articles, reference works, and a wide range of other resources. Oxford Bibliographies in Philosophy is designed to provide authoritative guidance. In contrast to print bibliographies and electronic indexes that simply list citations, this innovative online reference tool will combine the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and the best features of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people do research online.

Provides access to digitized versions of print books published by Oxford University Press and other university presses worldwide. Covers a broad range of disciplines. NOTE: Users who do not have a UCSBnet ID and password can access the open access titles in this collection. Use the limiters on the left-hand side to limit to "free" and "open access".

Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education.

Indexes the work of authors from graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe.  Starting with the 1980s records include abstracts of the works. Our subscription gives UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full text 1997 forward.

A comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. Note: Non-UCSB users can access an open-access version of PhilPapers without authentication. However, UCSB-affiliated users will enjoyed enhanced access through the main database link.