A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Date Coverage: 1984 to present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Books; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Newspaper Articles
The Alternative Press Index is widely regarded as the leading guide to the alternative press in North America. Its citations are drawn from roughly 380 alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. API indexes such important periodicals as: Cineaste, Environmental Action, Socialist Review, and Women's Review of Books.
The Alternative Press Index is widely regarded as the leading guide to the alternative press in North America. The archive file contains over 470,000 citations are drawn from roughly 700 alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. API indexes such important periodicals as: Cineaste, Environmental Action, Socialist Review, and Women's Review of Books.
America: History and Life is a bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Date Coverage: 1964 - present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Books; Journal Articles
Web of Science covers thousands of research journals across hundreds of disciplines as well as conference proceedings and books.To search only Arts & Humanities Citation Index, click on "Citation Databases" near the bottom of the search screen and uncheck the options for "Science Citation Index" and "Social Sciences Citation Index", and the Science sections of Conference Proceedings and Books Citation Indexes. Note that some humanities fields may overlap into the social sciences and sciences.
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: 1975 to present; Conference Proceedings: 1990 to present; Books: 2005 to present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles
Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Date Coverage: 1891 - present
Materials Indexed: Plays
Biography in Context (formerly known as Biography Resource Center) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines over 600,000 biographies from over 170 sources, with over one million entries from the Complete Marquis Who's Who®. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. Contemporary Women's Issues includes English-language titles from East and West Africa, Asia, and South and Central America, the Caribbean, North America and Europe.
The Ethnic NewsWatch database contains news, culture and history from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Nearly 500,000 complete articles dating back to 1990 are available, along with archival material dating back to the mid 1980's. More than 7,500 new articles are added each month. Ethnic NewsWatch is searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages; more than 100,000 articles are in Spanish.
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles, Book Reviews
JSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Searches may be limited to a specific subject category of journals.
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. The database contains citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes journal articles, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. While the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented. Also available as a separate database is the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Date Coverage: 1881 to present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Books; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Plays; Poetry; Theses & Dissertations
Project MUSE is a searchable collection of hundreds of university press and other journals. Searching is available by author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full-text. Older issues of many (but not all) of the journals are available in JSTOR. The Project MUSE advanced search allows you to search and link through to the corresponding JSTOR archives as well.
The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Dissertations & Theses offers UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full-text digital format starting with titles published from 1997 forward.
Date Coverage: 1861 - present
Materials Indexed: Theses & Dissertations
Web of Science covers thousands of research journals across hundreds of disciplines, as well as conference proceedings and books.
To search only Social Sciences Citation Index, click on "Citation Databases" near the bottom of the search screen and uncheck the options for "Arts & Humanities Citation Index" and "Science Citation Index" and the Science sections of Conference Proceedings and Book Citation Indexes. Note that some fields (e.g. psychology and history, may overlap with the sciences and/or humanities.)
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: 1900 to present; Conference Proceedings: 1990 to present; Books: 2005 to present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles