Fauna Databases
- Birds of the World This link opens in a new window Powerful resource that brings deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds.
Fauna: Open Access Online Resources
Fauna
Use Ctrl+F on a PC or Command+F on a Mac to search for keywords on this list.
Beacham's Guide to Endangered Species of North AmericaCall Number: QH77.N56 B43 2001 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Birds of North America
Published in association with America's preeminent authority, the Smithsonian Institution. This comprehensive reference to the birds of North America includes full-page profiles of more than 930 species -- all the birds known to breed in the United States or Canada, as well as regular visitors and vagrants to the continent. Smithsonian Birds of North America provides essential identification tips for each species together with fascinating information on feeding and behavior, breeding, and nesting habits. Identification. Full-page species profiles combine a precise description and annotated photographs to highlight the key field marks of the adult male. Other plumages are portrayed with photographs or artworks if they differ significantly. Species similar to the one profiled are shown with a brief summary of the key differences. An explanation of the typical flight pattern of each species includes both schematic artworks and a verbal description. Life histories. Knowledge of behavior can be critical to differentiate between similar species, and an understanding of life histories enhances the total birding experience. Each profile includes a description of the typical vocalizations, feeding behavior, breeding, nesting, population, and conservation concerns. A range map shows each bird's occurrence in North America during summer, winder, and on migration.
Call Number: QL681 .A625 2001 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Birds of Prey of the East
Birds of Prey of the East and its companion volume, Birds of Prey of the West, are the most comprehensive and authoritative field guides to North American birds of prey ever published. Written and lavishly illustrated with stunning, lifelike paintings by leading field-guide illustrator, photographer, and author Brian Wheeler, the guides depict an enormous range of variations of age, sex, color, and plumage, and feature a significant amount of plumage data that has never been published before. The painted figures illustrate plumage and species comparisons in a classic field-guide layout. Each species is shown in the same posture and from the same viewpoint, which further assists comparisons. Facing-page text includes quick-reference identification points and brief natural history accounts that incorporate the latest information. The range maps are exceptionally accurate and much larger than those in other guides. They plot the most up-to-date distribution information for each species and include the location of cities for more accurate reference. Finally, the guides feature color habitat photographs next to the maps. The result sets a new standard for guides to North America's birds of prey. Lavishly illustrated with stunning, lifelike paintings Written and illustrated by a leading authority on North American birds of prey Depicts more plumages than any other guide Concise facing-page text includes quick-reference identification points Classic field-guide layout makes comparing species easy Large, accurate range maps include up-to-date distribution information Unique color habitat photographs next to the maps
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Birds of Prey of the West
Birds of Prey of the West and its companion volume, Birds of Prey of the East, are the most comprehensive and authoritative field guides to North American birds of prey ever published. Written and lavishly illustrated with stunning, lifelike paintings by leading field-guide illustrator, photographer, and author Brian Wheeler, the guides depict an enormous range of variations of age, sex, color, and plumage, and feature a significant amount of plumage data that has never been published before. The painted figures illustrate plumage and species comparisons in a classic field-guide layout. Each species is shown in the same posture and from the same viewpoint, which further assists comparisons. Facing-page text includes quick-reference identification points and brief natural history accounts that incorporate the latest information. The range maps are exceptionally accurate and much larger than those in other guides. They plot the most up-to-date distribution information for each species and include the location of cities for more accurate reference. Finally, the guides feature color habitat photographs next to the maps. The result sets a new standard for guides to North America's birds of prey. Lavishly illustrated with stunning, lifelike paintings Written and illustrated by a leading authority on North American birds of prey Depicts more plumages than any other guide Concise facing-page text includes quick-reference identification points Classic field-guide layout makes comparing species easy Large, accurate range maps include up-to-date distribution information Unique color habitat photographs next to the maps
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
The Birds of Santa Barbara County, CaliforniaCall Number: QL684.C2 L44 1994 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1994
Bivalve Seashells of Western North AmericaCall Number: Reference QL430.6 .C628 2000 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2000
California Amphibians and Reptiles
"A state of the art field guide to the 200+ species of reptile and amphibian found in California"--
"A spectacularly illustrated field guide to the amphibians and reptiles of California is home to more than 200 species of reptiles and amphibians that can be found in an extraordinary array of habitats, from coastal temperate rainforests with giant redwoods to southeastern deserts offering dazzling wildflower displays each spring. California Amphibians and Reptiles covers every species and subspecies in this biodiverse region of the United States, with outstanding color photography and in-depth species accounts that draw on the latest findings on taxonomy and distribution. Setting a new standard for regional field guides, this state-of-the-art field guide will serve as the definitive reference for California's amphibian and reptile fauna for many years to come.Covers all 209 species of amphibians and reptiles found in CaliforniaFeatures hundreds of stunning photos that illustrate geographic and within-species variation as well as differences between males, females, and youngIncludes first-ever color images and species accounts for newly discovered speciesShows every species and subspecies in full color on a white backgroundDepicts all amphibian larvae in breathtaking color illustrationsDetailed species accounts describe key identification features, similar species, habitat, range and elevation, activity and behavior, diet, reproduction, and conservationProvides updated status of all threatened, endangered, nonnative, and special concern speciesAccurate range maps reflect contemporary and, where applicable, historical distributions in light of significant habitat loss across the stateAn invaluable resource for amateur naturalists, resource managers, and professional herpetologists"--
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2025
Catalogue of American Amphibians and ReptilesCall Number: QL651 .A55 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1963
Caterpillars in the Field and GardenCall Number: QL548 .A44 2005 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Common Intertidal Invertebrates of Southern CaliforniaCall Number: QL164 .A44 1977 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1980
The Complete Birds of the WorldCall Number: Reference QL673 .A76 2021 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Dragonflies Through BinocularsCall Number: QL520.2.U6 D87 2000 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2000
Ecology of the Southern California BightCall Number: Reference QH95.45.S68 E25 1993 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 1994
Field Guide to Amphibians and Reptiles of CaliforniaCall Number: QL653.C2 S67 2012 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Field Guide to Amphibians and Reptiles of the San Diego RegionCall Number: QL653.C2 L46 2006 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Field Guide to Animal Tracks and Scat of CaliforniaCall Number: QL768 .E43 2012 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
A Field Guide to Beetles of North AmericaCall Number: QL581 .W47 1983 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1983
Field Guide to Birds of the Northern California CoastCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Field Guide to Marine Mammals of the Pacific CoastCall Number: QL715 .A45 2011 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
A Field Guide to Shells of the Pacific Coast and Hawaii: Including Shells of the Gulf of CaliforniaCall Number: QL417 .M6 1966 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1966
A Field Guide to Western Reptiles and Amphibians: Field Marks of all Species in Western North America, Including Baja CaliforniaCall Number: QL651 .S783 1985 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1985
Fishes of the Pacific Coast: Alaska to Peru, including the Gulf of California and the Galapagos IslandsCall Number: QL623.4 .G65 1988 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1988
Fishes of the WorldCall Number: QL618 .N4 2006 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Guide to Marine Invertebrates: Alaska to Baja CaliforniaCall Number: Reference QL365.4.P33 G68 2005 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Introduction to California BeetlesCall Number: QL584.C2 E94 2004 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2004
An Introduction to Southern California ButterfliesCall Number: QL551.C3 H43 2004 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2004
Kaufman Field Guide to Insects of North AmericaCall Number: QL473 .E28 2007 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2007
The Light and Smith Manual: Intertidal Invertebrates from Central California to OregonCall Number: QL164 .L53 2007 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
The MacDonald Encyclopedia of ShellsCall Number: QL404 .M32 1982 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1982
Mammal Species of the WorldCall Number: Reference QL708 .M35 2005 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Marine Mammals of the World: A Comprehensive Guide to Their IdentificationCall Number: QL713.2 .J44 2008 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
National Audubon Society Field Guide to Insects and SpidersCall Number: QL473 .M54 1980 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1980
National Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Birds; Western RegionCall Number: QL681 .U33 1977 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1977
National Audubon Society Field Guide to North American ButterfliesCall Number: QL548 .P94 1981 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1981
National Audubon Society Field Guide to ShellsCall Number: QL411 .R43 1981 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1981
National Geographic Reference Atlas to the Birds of North AmericaCall Number: Reference QL681 .R44 2003 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2003
A Naturalist's Guide to the Santa Barbara RegionCall Number: QH105.C2 L457 2013 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Ocean Birds of the Nearshore Pacific: A Guide for the Sea-Going NaturalistCall Number: QL683.P3 S78 1990 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1990
Petersons Field Guide to Western BirdsCall Number: QL683.W4 P4 1990 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1990
The Scale Insects of CaliforniaCall Number: QL526.1.U6 G55 1988 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1988
Shorebirds of North America: The Photographic GuideCall Number: Reference QL681 .P37 2005 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2005
The Sibley Guide to BirdsCall Number: Reference and Main Library QL681 .S53 2014 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Tidepool and Nearshore Fishes of CaliforniaCall Number: QL628.C2 F55 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1975
Venomous Reptiles of North AmericaCall Number: QL666.O6 E77 1992 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1992
