Flora Databases
- JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window Collection of nearly three million high-resolution type specimens and related materials from partner herbaria around the world. Includes partner-contributed reference works and primary sources, such as collectors’ correspondence and diaries, illustrations, and photographs. Relevant journal articles from JSTOR, the Biodiversity Library, the Global Biodiversity Information Facility, and Tropicos are linked.
Flora
Use Ctrl+F on a PC or Command+F on a Mac to search for keywords on this list.
An Amateur Botanist's Identification Manual for the Shrubs and Trees of the Southern California Coastal Region and Mountains by Call Number: QK149 .D63 1996 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0965415112Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Aquatic Plant Book by
"The book is a comprehensive guide to the aquatic plants of the world. It describes and illustrates 407 genera; including all ferns and flowering plants that are likely to be found in or floating on permanent or semi-permanent, fresh or salt water anywhere in the world. Care has been taken to describe juvenile and vegetative features which are often ignored in floristic literature but are so important for the identification of aquatics particularly as many species have short-lived or insignificant flowers that are easily overlooked or some species rarely develop flowers at all. The identification keys are based, when possible, on easily seen vegetative features. This book is also a reference work: for each genus information on distribution (native and introduced ranges), like forms, ecology, pollination mechanisms, disseminules and their dispersal mechanisms, uses, economic importance, and references to the literature is given." "It is hoped that this book will be of use not only to botanists and zoologists but also to all people concerned with aquatic ecosystems (natural or man-made) whether they be managers, engineers, weed controllers or conservation officers. Gardeners and aquarists should also find much useful information."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: QK102 .C6 1996 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9051031327Publication Date: 1996-10-01
Beacham's Guide to Endangered Species of North America by Call Number: QH77.N56 B43 2001 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0787676918Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Botanica North America by
Did you know that the smell of sassafras blowing offshore convinced Columbus he was near land? Or that the American sycamore, which has the largest tree trunk in the eastern forest, can live for 500 to 600 years? Or that in the period before the American Revolution, patriots designated a sycamore tree in each colony as a "Liberty Tree" -- a meeting place for plotting against the British? These facts are just a few of thousands you'll find inBotanica North America, an encyclopedia of the wonderfully diverse North American native plants by noted Canadian garden writer Marjorie Harris. This charming compendium is filled with more than 420 entries that provide essential information on each plant's physical attributes, natural history, common uses, and ethnobotany. There are also fascinating, often surprising anecdotes about plants you won't find anywhere else. From the Eastern forest to the desert, this beautifully written volume roves across the continent exploring how climate and plant life have affected, aided, and inspired us, from the first Native Americans to North Americans living in the twenty-first century: "The lonely majesty of a wind-swept jack pine has inspired generations of poets and painters," Harris writes. "These trees endure in spite of terrible weather . . . a jack pine forest has a dense, closed canopy with an understory of cherry, blueberry, hazels, bracken, and sweet fern along with trailing arbutus." Comprehensive and engaging, Botanica North America is also filled with lush photographs of plants in their natural habitat and insightful quotes from a variety of gardening experts and amateurs, from naturalist Rachel Carson to famed conservationist John Muir. Here is a reference no gardener or environmentalist should be without.
Call Number: QK115 .H365 2003 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0062702319Publication Date: 2003-11-04
Common Poisonous Plants and Mushrooms of North America by
This book contains information to identify toxic plants, including house plants. Each plant is described and pictured for easy identification, and instructions for treating the poisoning victim are given.
Call Number: QK100.A1 T87 1991 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0881921793Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Common Shrubs of Chaparral and Associated Ecosystems of Southern California by Call Number: Government Information, U.S. A 13.88:PSW-99 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1987
Common Wetland Plants of Coastal California by Call Number: QK149 .F27 1982 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0960789006Publication Date: 1982
A Field Guide to California Lichens by
The definitive guide to California's diverse array of lichen flora, with color photographs and descriptions of over 500 species Lichens are among the most colorful and abundant organisms in the world. They provide food and nesting material for a wide variety of wildlife, contribute nutrients to the soil, and are indicators of both undisturbed ecosystems and clean air. They lend color and pattern to trees, shrubs, and rocks, yet most people know little about them. This richly illustrated, authoritative guide to the lichens of California draws new attention to these striking and ecologically important organisms, which are symbionts--representing a relationship between a fungus and alga--and highlights their beauty, diversity, and value as a natural resource. Lichens are especially abundant and varied in California, where climates range from temperate rainforests to arid deserts. A Field Guide to California Lichens features stunning new photographs of some 500 lichen species by award-winning nature photographer Stephen Sharnoff. Up-to-date descriptions accompany each illustration. Among the special contributions of the guide are its coverage of most common macrolichens in California and its inclusion of many of the crust-forming species. For land management professionals and scientists involved with ecosystem studies, for birders, hikers, and all others curious about the natural world around them, this book will be a welcome field companion. ]]>
Call Number: QK587.5.C2 S53 2014 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9780300195002Publication Date: 2014-05-27
Field Guide to Grasses of California by
Grasses and grasslands are of increasing interest to conservationists, biologists, and gardeners. There are more than 300 species of native California grasses and they are found in almost every climate--from cool, wet forests to hot, dry deserts. Native grasses are also important to land restoration as they improve soil quality, increase water infiltration, and recycle nutrients. Their deep roots can tap soil water, which allows them to stay green year-round and to act as fire buffers around residences. Native grasses also provide vital habitat for many species of insects, birds, reptiles, and mammals. Despite their importance, grasslands remain one of the most underprotected of California's vegetation types, and native grasslands have undergone the greatest percentage loss of any habitat type in the state. Grasses are also among the most difficult plants to identify. Organized alphabetically, Field Guide to Grasses of California covers common native and naturalized grasses and, to help identify them, also features over 180 color illustrations.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780520958432Publication Date: 2014-09-12
Field Guide to Mushrooms of Western North America by
California and the Western States are rich in abundant and diverse species of mushrooms. Amateur mushroom collectors and mycologists alike will find over 300 species of the region's most common, distinctive, and ecologically important mushrooms profiled in this comprehensive field guide. It provides the most up-to-date science on the role of fungi in the natural world, methods to identify species, and locations of mushroom habitats. With excellent color illustrations showing top and side views of mushrooms of the Western States and a user-friendly text, it is informative but still light enough to be carried into the woods. When used to identify mushrooms, keys bring the reader to individual species, with a descriptive text providing cues for identifying additional species. Mushrooms common in urban landscapes are included, which is especially useful for the casual encounter with backyard fungi. The guide also provides a table of both old and new species names, and information on edibility and look-alikes, both dangerous and benign. A section on mushroom arts and crafts features mushroom photography, painting, philately, spore prints, dyes, and cultivation. The guide also offers a comprehensive list of resources including national field guides, general mushroom books and periodicals, club and society contact information, and web sites. · Primary descriptions and illustrations of 300 species of mushrooms plus text descriptions of many more. · Latest word in mushroom taxonomy and nomenclature. Clear discussion of DNA sequencing and new classifications. · Especially good coverage of southern California and Southwestern mushrooms often neglected in other field guides.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0520953606Publication Date: 2012-09-04
A Flora of Southern California by Call Number: QK149 .M795 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0520021460Publication Date: 1974-06-25
A Flora of the Santa Barbara region, California: An Annotated Catalogue of the Native and Naturalized Vascular Plants of the Santa Barbara County Mainland and Nearby Channel Islands by Call Number: QK149 .S63 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1976
Grasses in California by
Grasses have been extremely important in California, with its rolling grass-covered hills and the green-to-gold seasonal cycle of many native grasses. This convenient pocket guide surveys the range and provides identification keys for the common introduced and native grasses.
Call Number: QK495.G74 C7 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0520025075Publication Date: 1974-06-11
Guide to Standard Floras of the World by
This book provides a selective annotated bibliography of the principal floras and related works of inventory for vascular plants. The second edition has been completely updated and expanded to take into account the substantial literature of the late twentieth century, and features a more fully developed review of the history of floristic documentation. The works covered in this volume are principally specialist publications such as floras, checklists, distribution atlases, systematic iconographies and enumerations, or catalogues. In addition, some popularly oriented books are also included. The Guide is organized in ten geographical divisions, with these successively divided into regions and units, each of which is prefaced with a historical review of floristic studies. The book also includes general chapters on botanical bibliography, the history of floras, general principles and current trends, plus an appendix on bibliographic searching, a lexicon of serial abbreviations, and author and geographical indexes.
Call Number: Reference QK45.2 .F76 2001 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0521790778Publication Date: 2001-06-14
Introduction to California Chaparral by
The characteristic look of California Chaparral--a soft bluish-green blanket of vegetation gently covering the hills--is known to millions who have seen it as the backdrop in movies and television productions. This complex ecological community of plants and animals is not just a feature of the hills around Hollywood, but is a quintessential part of the entire California landscape. It is a highly resilient community adapted to life with recurring fires and droughts. Written for a wide audience, this concise, engaging, and beautifully illustrated book describes an ancient and exquisitely balanced environment home to wondrous organisms: Fire Beetles that mate only on burning branches, lizards that shoot blood from their eyes when threatened, Kangaroo Rats that never drink water, and seeds that germinate only after a fire, even if that means waiting in the soil for a 100 years or more. Useful both as a field guide and an introductory overview of the ecology of chaparral, it also provides a better understanding of how we might live in harmony, safety, and appreciation of this unique ecological community. * Identifies chaparral's common plants, animals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, and insects * Features 79 color illustrations, 56 black-and-white photographs, and 3 maps * Examines the role of humans and fire in chaparral, covering the placement and design of homes, landscaping, and public policy
Call Number: QH105.C2 Q56 2006 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780520939004Publication Date: 2006-09-20
Introduction to the Shore Wildflowers of California, Oregon, and Washington by
The diverse coastal habitats of the spectacular Pacific Coast include sandy beaches and dunes, salt- and freshwater marshes, coastal prairies and bluffs, riparian woodlands, and coniferous forests. This guide, first published nearly forty years ago, has introduced thousands to the wildflowers and other plants that grow along the coastline. Now thoroughly updated and revised, it is the perfect field guide to pack for a day at the seashore anywhere in California or the Pacific Northwest. * 268 species are described and illustrated by a new color photograph, a precise line drawing, or both * Includes native and introduced species of wildflowers, common trees, and shrubs * This new edition includes more plants, gives helpful hints for identifying species, and incorporates new taxonomic and distribution information
Call Number: QK143 .M798 2003 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0520236386Publication Date: 2003-05-08
Introduction to the Trees of the San Francisco Bay Region by
The mild Mediterranean climate of the San Francisco Bay Region nurtures an enormous variety of trees: majestic oaks and coast redwoods, lovely flowering dogwood and western redbud, graceful bigleaf maple, and many others. This guidebook, with its easy-to-use keys, informative species accounts, and copious illustrations, is the perfect guide to California's native and naturalized trees for those who want a handy, authoritative manual to carry into the field. o Species descriptions give fascinating and little-known facts about each tree and suggest locales to visit for viewing them o 250 color photographs illustrate traits essential for identification and show surrounding habitats for many species o Provides detailed tips on learning to use keys and other identification aids o Covers all nine counties of the San Francisco Bay Region and includes trees found in adjacent Monterey and Mendocino counties
Call Number: QK149 .K35 2002 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0520230051Publication Date: 2002
The Jepson Manual by
The second edition of The Jepson Manual thoroughly updates this acclaimed work, the single most comprehensive resource on California's amazingly diverse flora. The Jepson Manual, second edition, integrates the latest science with the results of intensive fieldwork, institutional collaboration, and efforts of hundreds of contributing authors into an essential reference on California's native and naturalized vascular plants. The second edition includes treatments of many newly described or discovered taxa and recently introduced plants, and reflects major improvements to plant taxonomy from phylogenetic studies. Nearly two-thirds of the 7,600 species, subspecies, and varieties the volume describes are now illustrated with diagnostic drawings. Geographic distributions, elevation ranges, flowering times, nomenclature, and the status of non-natives and native taxa of special concern have all been updated throughout. This edition also allows for identification of 240 alien taxa that are not fully naturalized but sometimes encountered. A new chapter on geologic, climatic, and vegetation history of California is also featured.
Call Number: Reference QK149 .J56 2012 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0520951379Publication Date: 2012-01-31
Keys to the Seaweeds and Seagrasses of Oregon and California, North of Point Conception by
Identification guide in form of dichotomous keys (with illustrations) to all 569 currently recognized seaweeds and seagrasses of Oregon and California, north of Point Conception. Keys are provided to the genera and then species of red, green, brown and tribophyte algae and seagrasses. References with illustrations/photos are cited for each species; scientific names and literature are current as of Nov., 2004; distributions are updated; introduction, glossary, bibliography and index included. Intended for students and professionals of seaweeds and seagrasses.
Call Number: QK571.5.C2 G33 2004 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9780976381709Publication Date: 2004-12-01Keys to Trees and Wildflowers of the Mountains of Southern California by
Call Number: QK149 .C65 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1974
Key to Coastal and Chaparral Flowering Plants of Southern California by Call Number: QK149 .C64 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1972?
Marine Algae of California by Call Number: QK571.5.C2 M37 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0804708673Publication Date: 1976-11-01
Mushrooms of Western North America by
The authors give full reliable descriptions for over 300 species of mushroom. Another 123 species are described by comparisons adequate for identification.
Call Number: QK617 .O77 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0520036565Publication Date: 1980-04-30
The Names of Plants by
The Names of Plants is an invaluable reference for botanists and horticulturalists. The first section gives an historical account of the significant changes in the ways that plants have been known and named. It documents the problems associated with an ever-increasing number of common names of plants, and the resolution of these problems through the introduction of International Codes for both botanical and horticultural nomenclature. It also outlines the rules to be followed when plant breeders name a new species or cultivar. The second section comprises a glossary of generic and specific plant names, and components of these, from which the reader may interpret the existing names of plants and construct new names. With explanations of the International Codes for both Botanical Nomenclature (2000) and Nomenclature for Cultivated Plants (1995), this new edition contains a greatly expanded glossary, which includes the Greek, Latin, or other source of each plant name.
Call Number: Reference QK96 .G54 2008 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 1282001094Publication Date: 2009-04-23
National Audubon Society Field Guide to Wildflowers: Western Region by
Nothing is as colorful as a field of wildflowers in full-bloom so what could be more appropriate than a magnificent field guide with beautiful full-color photographs? More than 1,000 species are covered in full detail, with notes on more than 400 others. The 700 identification photographs show wildflowers-including grasses and sedges, and many flowering vines and shrubs-in their natural habitats. Note: the Western Edition covers the Rocky Mountain range and all the states to the west of it, while the Eastern Edition generally covers states east of the Rocky Mountains.
Call Number: Reference & Main Library QK110 .S65 1979 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0394504313Publication Date: 1979-06-12
The Native Cacti of California by Call Number: Reference QK495.C11 B41 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9780804715263Publication Date: 1988-09-01
Native Plants & Habitats of the UCSB Campus by Call Number: QK149 .R43 2006 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2006
A Naturalist's Guide to the Santa Barbara Region by
The Santa Barbara region is at the cusp of Northern and Southern California, where animals and plants from both areas mingle and create ecosystems of great diversity. In the first-ever comprehensive nature guide to the area, accomplished author, teacher, and Santa Barbara native Joan Easton Lentz shares her lifelong knowledge of this region renowned for its unique natural resources and legendary scenery. Taking readers on a journey from tidepools to mountain peaks and pinyon-juniper woodlands, Lentz combines lucid and evocative nature writing, including on-the-scene journal entries, with a rich array of photos and illustrations, creating a highly personal and scientific handbook. A Naturalist's Guide to the Santa Barbara Region at once deepens our understanding of the land and its array of inhabitants and inspires us to head outside.
Call Number: QH105.C2 L457 2013 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781597142410Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Pacific Seaweeds: A Guide to Common Seaweeds of the West Coast by
This updated and expanded guide thoroughly documents every aspect of seaweed life, from species identification and seaweed biology to the essential--and often surprising--roles seaweed plays in the marine ecosystem and our everyday lives. Seaweeds are used in everything from cosmetics to sustainable biofuels, and some species, like kelp, contribute to the remediation of coastal ecosystems. Featuring an attractive new full-colour design, the expanded Pacific Seaweeds includes updated species descriptions, dozens of additional colour photos, new species discovered since the original edition, and brand-new sections on common shore plants and the use of DNA techniques to discover, catalog and identify seaweeds. It also features several new recipes and an essay on umami--because in addition to all its other uses, some species of seaweed make delectable food. Packed with illustrations, vivid colour photographs, comprehensive scientific information and further readings, this easy-to-use guidebook will appeal to marine biologists, amateur beachcombers, gourmet foragers and everyone in between.
Call Number: Reference QK570.5 .D78 2016 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781550177374Publication Date: 2016-06-04
Roadside Plants of Southern California by
"Belzer devised this guide for the person who enjoys the outdoors and wishes to know more about the native plants of Southern California but may not have much botanical training. It serves that purpose nicely. Belzer's striking color photos and concise pl
Call Number: QK149 .B44 1984 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0878421580Publication Date: 1986-02-01
Seaweeds of the Pacific Coast: Common Marine Algae from Alaska to Baja California by
This all color field guide describes 136 species of seaweed that occur from Alaska to nothern Baja California. For each species there is one or more color photos. The narrative includes a brief description, goegraphical range and notes on natural history. Also included are sections on uses for seaweed, collecting and photographing seaweeds.
Call Number: QK570.5 .M66 2003 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0930118294Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Through the Looking Glass: A Field Guide to Aquatic Plants by Call Number: QK194 .B67 1997 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9780972366519Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Trees and Shrubs of California by
California's varied landscape is characterized by a spectacular abundance of plant life, including a magnificent variety of trees and shrubs. This is the first book to combine the trees and shrubs of California in one accessible field guide. Trees and Shrubs of California identifies and describes native California tree species and most common shrub species. The text is complemented by more than 200 beautiful line drawings, 300 range maps, and 40 color photographs. In their introduction, the authors discuss the dominant vegetation types, climates, principal landforms, and elevations of California's ecological regions. They explain the classification system and nomenclature used in the book, which includes both scientific and common plant names and is based on the 1993 edition of The Jepson Manual. The authors also provide a step-by-step explanation of how to use the dichotomous keys to identify plants and distinguish between trees and shrubs. This user-friendly field guide minimizes technical terms and includes a checklist, making it an invaluable resource on California's profuse vegetation.
Call Number: QK149 .S73 2001 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780520935297Publication Date: 2001-06-11
Trees of Santa Barbara by
The trees of Santa Barbara's streets and parks are a legacy from the several plantsmen who contributed so much to the horticultural ambiance of the area. The 420 species that now grow in Santa Barbara and surrounding communities represent a conservatory of the arboreal diversity of the world. Trees of Santa Barbara is a valuable field guide for both locals and visitors seeking to augment their knowledge of the area's beautiful landscapes and its horticultural heritage.This volume is a complete revision of the Santa Barbara Botanic Garden's Trees of Santa Barbara, last published in 1974. Detailed descriptions of each species are provided and supported by over 800 photographs of overall habit, flowers, fruit, and leaves. Viewing locations are noted, and anecdotal observations serve to bring each species to life. While the focus is on the trees of Santa Barbara, most of the species described here can be found in horticultural settings extending from San Francisco to San Diego.
Call Number: Reference QK149 .M784 2005 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0916436047Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Trees of the California Landscape by
From the iconic lone cypress on the Monterey coastline to the palm trees of Beverly Hills and the magnificent coastal redwoods, trees are a defining element of California's spectacular and exceptionally diverse landscape. This abundantly illustrated, beautifully produced, easy-to-use volume is a one-stop guide to California's trees. An essential resource for gardeners, homeowners, landscape design professionals, and anyone interested in the state's abundant flora, it provides a comprehensive photographic compendium of 107 native and 311 ornamental species. Trees of the California Landscape gives the what, how, and where of tree selection, planting, and design, paying particular attention to the need for improving sustainability and for increasing awareness of native habitats. It also features a valuable overview of the topography, geography, and climates that define California's unique landscape. * More than 1,000 color illustrations include spectacular photographs, detailed drawings of specific features, and informative maps * Each species is treated on a full page with an array of color illustrations and drawings * Habitat ranges, water requirements, growth rates, mature sizes, suitability for specific landscapes, and more, are listed for each tree * A fully illustrated section covers the basics of tree identification Copub: Phyllis Faber
Call Number: QK149 .H38 2007 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0520251245Publication Date: 2007-09-04
