A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Date Coverage: 1984 to present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Books; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Newspaper Articles
AnthroSource provides full-text anthropological resources from the publications of the American Anthropological Association. It contains more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins, and monographs covering a range of fields in anthropology.
Date Coverage: Varies
Materials Indexed: Journal Articles
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of publications in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Date Coverage: late 19th century - present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Journal Articles; Reports
The Blackwell Companion to Phonology draws 124 new contributions fromleading international scholars. BCP represents a diverse range ofapproaches and methodologies to key phenomena in phonological research.Interdisciplinary connections, such as those with the social and computational sciences, are covered, as well as statistical and experimental techniques. BCP contains illustrations, maps, and figures that can be opened in full screen size.
JSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Searches may be limited to a specific subject category of journals.
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Date Coverage: 1973 - present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Books; Journal Articles; Theses & Dissertations
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. The database contains citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes journal articles, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. While the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented. Also available as a separate database is the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Date Coverage: 1881 to present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Books; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Plays; Poetry; Theses & Dissertations
Database of open access journals covering all scientific and scholarly subjects. Primarily used to identify open access journal titles and forty percent of them are searchable at the article level. Journals can be browsed by title or by broad subject area. Articles are searchable by article author or title, ISSN, journal title, abstract, or key words. Full-text is not searchable but is fully accessible. To be included in the DOAJ, journals must use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access and must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control.
Web of Science covers thousands of research journals across hundreds of disciplines, as well as conference proceedings and books.
To search only Social Sciences Citation Index, click on "Citation Databases" near the bottom of the search screen and uncheck the options for "Arts & Humanities Citation Index" and "Science Citation Index" and the Science sections of Conference Proceedings and Book Citation Indexes. Note that some fields (e.g. psychology and history, may overlap with the sciences and/or humanities.)
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: 1900 to present; Conference Proceedings: 1990 to present; Books: 2005 to present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles
Journal Citation Reports from Thomson Reuters provides analysis of the article publication and citation patters of major journals in the sciences and social sciences. Journals may be searched individually or by subject category, publisher or country of origin. Information available for each journal includes the total number of article published, total citations to articles from the journal, Impact Factor (ratio of number of citations to number of articles), Immediacy Index, Journal Half-Life, Impact Factor Trends and more. These indices are widely used in comparing and evaluating scholarly journal quality.
Date Coverage: 2007 - present
Materials Indexed: Statistics
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.Updated weekly, the database is searchable and browsable by title, subject, language, electronic availability and more. There is also a news section, and links to libraries and interest groups.