LibGuides: Education: Higher Education Directories

Colleges & Universities (U.S.)

American Universities and Colleges:
Call Number: Reference LA226 .A5
Companion volume to International Handbook of Universities and Other Institutions of Higher Education
Barron's Profiles of American Colleges
Call Number: Reference L901 .B37
College Handbook by College Entrance Examination Board
Call Number: Reference LB2351 .C6
Higher Education Directory
Call Number: Reference L901 .H46

Online resources:

Directory of Canadian universities. Répertoire des universités canadiennes.
Call Number: Reference L905 .C452
International Handbook of Universities
Call Number: Reference L900 .I5
Europa World of Learning
Call Number: Reference AS2 .W6

BUSINESS: Barron's Guide to Graduate Business Schools
Call Number: Reference HF1131 .B375
HUMANITIES: Peterson's Graduate Programs in the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences
Call Number: Reference L901 .P443
Annual publication
LAW: The Best 167 Law Schools by Princeton Review Staff
Call Number: Reference KF266 .B467 2012
MEDICINE: Medical School Admission Requirements, United States and Canada
Call Number: Reference R745 .M42
MULTIPLE: Peterson's Graduate Programs in Business, Education, Health, Information Studies, Law and Social Work
Call Number: Reference L901 .P459
Annual publication
SCIENCES, APPLIED: Peterson's Graduate Programs in Engineering and Applied Sciences
Call Number: Reference L901 .P446
Annual publication
SCIENCES, BIOLOGICAL: Peterson's Graduate Programs in Biological/Biomedical Sciences and Health-Related Medical Professions
Call Number: Reference L901 .P4574
Annual publication
SCIENCES, PHYSICAL: Peterson's Graduate Programs in Physical Sciences, Mathematics, Agricultural Sciences, The Environment & Natural Resources
Call Number: Reference L901 .P445
Annual publication

College Handbook by College Entrance Examination Board
Call Number: Reference LB2351 .C6
Lists the four-digit College Board (CB) codes for reporting SAT and AP scores to colleges and universities.


Federal School Code Search: The U.S. Department of Education assigns a number called a Federal School Code to each school that is qualified to receive and disburse financial aid. These codes are required on many financial aid applications.

Accredited Institutions of Postsecondary Education, Programs, Candidates
Call Number: Reference L901 .A4

Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA)
Includes a database of accredited institutions and programs and a directory of recognized accrediting organizations.
Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs
U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Postsecondary Education