LibGuides: East Asian Studies: Books/E-books

UC Library Search

With UC Library Search you can find and borrow materials from UC Libraries quickly and easily. Find more information about UC Library Search.

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Request an item directly from UC Library Search or a database. Find more information about this service.

Google Books

Google Books

HathiTrust

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Providing full text of public domain books (usually published prior to 1923) and temporary access to UC copyrighted print collections.
Limited (search only) Materials:
Full text is not available for materials which are under copyright protection or do not have the necessary permissions for open access. You can use the database to search for relevant materials and then use UC Library Search or WorldCat to locate those items in a library. All users can access bibliographic information about materials included in the repository without logging in.
Full View (public domain and open access) Materials:
Materials that are no longer protected by copyright or have the necessary permissions for open access are viewable to all users. Users with a UCSBnet ID and password may download the full text of Full View materials.
Logging In:
Click on the "Log in" link in the upper right-hand menu of the screen. Select "University of California, Santa Barbara" from the list of partners and click on the "Login" button. Enter your UCSBnet ID and password.
Searching:
Perform a search and then browse through the results. When you click on a link for "Full View" you will be able to view the full text. To download the entire book, click on "Download PDF – whole book" and you will see the "Login" link in the pop-up box that comes up. Log in as described above.
Creating Collections:
Logged-in users can create personal "collections" for private or public use by selecting records from search results and then grouping them into a collection. These collections can be saved for subsequent use and may be shared with and accessed by others.

Key Chinese Language (E)book Databases

Chinese Classic Ancient Ebooks 中国基本古籍库 (爱如生) This link opens in a new window
Select "Ancient Classics" and then the log in button to access “中國基本古籍庫.”
Pre-20th century full texts from a variety of subject areas organized into four sections: Philosophy and Science, History and Geography, Art and Literature, and General Works.
Note: Access is restricted to one user at a time.
Login Instructions
- Select “Ancient Classics”
- Click the “Login” button
Our license allows a limited number of simultaneous users. To log out when finished, click on 安全退出 in the top right hand corner
Duxiu 读秀 This link opens in a new window
Providing full text search to 600 million volumes of e-books, dissertations, journals, magazines, web pages and newspapers. Its comprehensiveness and functionality can be best related as the Chinese version of Google Books and Google Scholar.
Materials Indexed: Books; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Newspaper Articles; Theses & Dissertations
Encyclopedia of Taiwan 台灣文獻叢刊 This link opens in a new window
Including 309 books of classics related to Taiwanese studies from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese Occupation.
Siku Zhulu 四庫著錄 (爱如生) This link opens in a new window
The complete collection of the Qing Dynasty imperial library, including 3,461 books categorized into 經 Classics, 史 Histories, 子 Philosophers, and 集Literary Collections.
- To access, select "Ancient Classics" and then click the log in button (no username or password).
- The library subscribes to the products with red text. Click the red image above “四庫系列數據庫” to enter this database.

More Chinese language e-book databases

Key Japanese Language (E)Book Databases

E-books through JapanKnowledge
Go to JKBooks to discover purchased e-book series.
-太陽 -文芸倶楽部 -近代作家原稿集 -風俗画報 -群書類従 -美術新報 -The ORIENTAL ECONOMIST -弘文荘待賈古書目 -東洋経済アーカイブズ -文藝春秋アーカイブズ
CiNii Books
Including the records of books and journals held in university libraries in Japan.
NDL Search 国立国会図書館サーチ
Including holdings of the National Diet Library (NDL), other libraries, museums, and archives in Japan, including digital archives.
More Japanese language e-book databases

Key Korean Language (E)Book Databases

RISS International
Union Catalog of university and college libraries in Korea.
National Digital Library
National information database including 8 major Korean national library catalogs.