Handbooks and Manuals
Following are the handbooks and manuals we have that are useful for research in EEMB. You may also want to refer to the Field Guides LibGuide.
You will find books with Reference in front of the call number on the 2nd floor, across from the Ocean Elevators. Online resources are available on campus or off-campus for current students, staff, and faculty. Check the library location guide for book locations.
Amphibian Ecology and Conservation: A Handbook of Techniques
This practical manual of amphibian ecology and conservation brings together a distinguished, international group of amphibian researchers to provide a state-of-the-art review of the many new and exciting techniques used to study amphibians and to track their conservation status and populationtrends. The integration of ecology and conservation is a natural outcome of the types of questions posed by these disciplines: how amphibians can and should be sampled, marked, and followed through time; how abundance and population trends are measured; what are the robust statistical methods thatcan be used in ecology and conservation; what roles do amphibians play in community structure and function; how do animals function in their environment; and what affects the long-term persistence of species assemblages?Although emphasizing field ecology, sections on physiological ecology, genetics, landscape ecology, and disease analysis are also included. The book describes the latest statistical approaches in amphibian field ecology and conservation, as well as the use of models in interpreting field research.Much of this information is scattered in the scientific literature or not readily available, and the intention is to provide an affordable, comprehensive synthesis for use by graduate students, researchers, and practising conservationists worldwide.
Call Number: QL645.6 .A47 2010 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Applied Wildlife Habitat Management
This introductory textbook to wildlife habitat ecology and management offers students and practitioners the basic tools to understand, plan, implement, measure, analyze, and document efforts to improve habitat for wildlife. Providing a step-by-step guide that is adaptable to a range of environmental settings, the authors first lay out the ecological principles applicable to any project. They then take the reader through various sampling designs, measurement techniques, and analytical methods required to develop and complete a habitat project, including the creation of a report or management plan. The authors emphasize key management concepts and provide exercises putting ecological principles into practice. Case studies identify emerging issues that are changing and complicating wildlife habitat management. These include large-scale ecological concerns and their social and political challenges-global climate change, the decline in water quality and availability, loss and fragmentation of habitat, broadening invasive species and diseases, increased human-wildlife conflicts, and urbanization. This practical guide is an invaluable reference for students, land managers, and landowners who are developing and implementing management plans for habitat modification and improvement on both private and public lands.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Bird Ecology and Conservation: A Handbook of Techniques
In this intensely practical handbook, a team of leading ornithologists describes a wide range of standard methods that can be applied to the study of avian ecology and conservation. Topics covered range from surveys, tracking and handling to breeding biology, foraging behaviour and migration.Chapters on conservation techniques describe how to assess species over-exploitation, the methods available for the intensive conservation of endangered species, and the principles involved in the maintenance and restoration of habitats. This comprehensive synthesis will be essential reading forgraduate students and researchers as well as a valuable resource for environmental consultants and professional conservationists worldwide.Bird Ecology and Conservation is the first title in a new series of practical handbooks which include titles focusing on specific taxonomic groups as well as those describing broader themes and subjects. The series editor is William J Sutherland.
Call Number: QL676.5 .B4819 2004 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2004
Carnivore Ecology and Conservation: A Handbook of Techniques
Animals that must hunt and kill for at least part of their living are inherently interesting to many people and the role that carnivores play in biological communities attract interest from ecologists and conservation biologists. Conflicts with human activities stimulate continual debates about the management of carnivore populations, and throughout the world people seek workable solutions for human/carnivore coexistence. This concise yet authoritative handbook describes research methods and techniques for the study and conservation of all terrestrial carnivore species. Particular attention is paid to techniques for managing the human/carnivore interface. Descriptions of the latest methodologies are supported by references to case studies, whilst dedicated boxes are used to illustrate how a technique is applied to a specific land cover type, species, or particular socio-economic context. The book describes the most recent advances in modelling the patterns of animal distributions, movements, and use of land cover types, as well as including the most efficient methods to trap, handle, and mark carnivores. Carnivores are biogeographically diverse and whilst extensive scientific research has investigated many aspects of carnivore biology, not all species have been equally covered. This book is unique in its intention to provide practical guidance for carrying out research and conservation of carnivores across all species and areas of the world.
Call Number: QL737.C2 C335 2012 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Creating and Restoring Wetlands: From Theory to Practice
Creating and Restoring Wetlands: From Theory to Practice, Second Edition describes the challenges and opportunities relating to the restoration of freshwater and estuarine wetlands in natural, agricultural, and urban environments in the coming century. This second edition is structured by clearly defined chapters based on specific wetland types (e.g. Peatlands, Mangroves) and with a consistent and coherent organization for ease of discoverability. The table of contents is divided into four main subjects: Foundations, Restoration of Freshwater Wetlands, Restoration of Estuarine Wetlands, and From Theory to Practice, each with multiple chapters. Part 1, Foundations, contains chapters describing definitions of wetlands, ecological theory used to guide restoration, and considerations on where to implement restoration on the landscape. In Parts 2 and 3, restoration of specific freshwater (marshes, forests, peatlands) and estuarine (tidal marshes, mangroves) wetlands are described. Part 4, From Theory to Practice, contains chapters describing performance standards to gauge success of projects and case studies describing small-scale and large-scale restoration projects of various freshwater and estuarine wetlands. Each chapter contains clearly labeled sections which assist the reader to quickly and easily key in on the subject matter that they are seeking. The approach of Creating and Restoring Wetlands is unique in that, in each chapter, it links ecological theory important to ecosystem restoration with practical techniques to undertake and implement successful wetland restoration projects, including recommendations for performance standards to gauge success as well as realistic expectations and timescales for achieving success. Each chapter ends with a summary table describing keys to ensure success for a given wetland ecosystem. Each chapter ends with a summary table describing keys to ensure success for a given wetland ecosystem Written by a single author, providing a consistent structure that is coherent, cohesive and well referenced Contains case studies of small- and large-scale restoration activities ensuring relevance to individuals and organizations
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Data Science Handbook: A Practical Approach
DATA SCIENCE HANDBOOK This desk reference handbook gives a hands-on experience on various algorithms and popular techniques used in real-time in data science to all researchers working in various domains. Data Science is one of the leading research-driven areas in the modern era. It is having a critical role in healthcare, engineering, education, mechatronics, and medical robotics. Building models and working with data is not value-neutral. We choose the problems with which we work, make assumptions in these models, and decide on metrics and algorithms for the problems. The data scientist identifies the problem which can be solved with data and expert tools of modeling and coding. The book starts with introductory concepts in data science like data munging, data preparation, and transforming data. Chapter 2 discusses data visualization, drawing various plots and histograms. Chapter 3 covers mathematics and statistics for data science. Chapter 4 mainly focuses on machine learning algorithms in data science. Chapter 5 comprises of outlier analysis and DBSCAN algorithm. Chapter 6 focuses on clustering. Chapter 7 discusses network analysis. Chapter 8 mainly focuses on regression and naive-bayes classifier. Chapter 9 covers web-based data visualizations with Plotly. Chapter 10 discusses web scraping. The book concludes with a section discussing 19 projects on various subjects in data science. Audience The handbook will be used by graduate students up to research scholars in computer science and electrical engineering as well as industry professionals in a range of industries such as healthcare.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Digital Qualitative Research Methods
The field of digital methods for qualitative research is a rapidly developing one. More and more researchers are researching the social, cultural, political, anthropological and other dimensions of computer-mediated communication (CMC), or using CMC as a means of generating and analysing research data. There is now a proliferating diversity of terms, including digital methods, online methods, virtual ethnography, hypermedia methods, and so forth, that requires clarification and classification. This four-volume set brings together the most important and influential articles that have been published in this area and which enable the reader to understand the implications of digital technology for all aspects and phases of qualitative research design and dissemination. There are eight main sections to the volumes, two in each volume:Volume One: Mapping the Field of Digital Qualitative Research Methods1. Online Research Methods2. Researching Online CommunicationVolume Two: Multimedia and Hypermedia3. Hypertext and Hypermedia Applications4. Multimedia and MultimodalityVolume Three: Data Analysis in Digital Applications5. Computer-Aided Qualitative Data Analysis6. Data Analysis in Sound, Vision and MultimediaVolume Four: Collaboration, Sharing and Ethics in Digital Research7. Data Sharing and Collaboration8. Research Ethics in the Digital Age
Call Number: Reference Q180.55.E4 D54 2012 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Environmental Monitoring Handbook
All the techniques you need in a single source Environmental Monitoring Handbook helps you with the most pervasive activity in environmental science is the taking and analyses of environmental samples from water, air or land. This book explains the various monitoring techniques and how to implement and carry out a monitoring program for air, water, and soil. Environmental Monitoring Handbook shows you how to get professional answers with the best testing and analysis methods in use today. The Handbook covers such topics as: Data Sampling and Analysis, Statistics, Sampling design, Scale reduction (PCA) Monitoring Program Design and Logistics, Chemical Monitoring, In-situ Measurements, Trace metals, Nutrients, Non Metal Species, Organic Matter, Organic Carbon, Biological Monitoring, and Ecotoxicological Monitoring.
Call Number: QH541.15.M64 E5878 2002 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2002
The Field Researcher's Handbook: A Guide to the Art and Science of Professional FieldworkCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Forest Ecology and Conservation
Forest conservation has become one of the most important environmental issues currently facing humanity, as a result of widespread deforestation and forest degradation. Pressures on remaining natural forests continue to intensify, leading to high rates of biodiversity loss. Understanding howhuman activities influence ecological processes within forests is essential for developing effective conservation action.This book describes research methods and techniques relevant to understanding forest ecology, with a particular focus on those that are relevant to practical conservation and sustainable forest management. This information is currently disparate and difficult to locate and, as with other books inthis series, the intention is to provide a comprehensive synthesis for use by graduate students, researchers and practising conservationists. Methods are presented for assessing forest extent and condition, structure and composition, and forest dynamics at a variety of scales. Techniques forassessing genetic variation and reproductive ecology, and for evaluating the habitat value of forests are also described. Particular emphasis is given to state-of-the-art techniques such as remote sensing, GIS, computer modelling and molecular markers. However, traditional methods of forestmensuration and ecological survey are also presented. The methods and techniques described are generally applicable to all forest types, including both temperate and tropical forest ecosystems.
Call Number: QH541.5.F6 N475 2007 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Freshwater Biology and Ecology Handbook: Practitioners' Guide to Improving and Protecting River Health
The book provides a core training and reference text for water professionals, ecologists, students and citizen scientists alike, and can therefore make a significant contribution to the protection and improvement of freshwater rivers and lakes.
River health is increasingly important in our busy and crowded world, but it is threatened by the growing impacts of climate change and human activity. The book emphasises that if the biology and ecology of water ecosystems are in balance then water will be fit for human use. In this context, biological and ecological assessment is a crucial element of good water management.
We must protect our precious freshwater natural resource and manage the environment sustainably, using long-term river basin planning and management. These principles are enshrined in EU legislation under the Water Framework Directive and the requirements for it embedded in UK law, which will be taken forward through the UK’s 25 Year Environment Plan.
Increasingly, biological monitoring and assessment are being used to drive infrastructure improvements in the water industry and other activities in rural and urban environments. High quality river basin planning requires constant improvements to monitoring, assessment, and reporting, without reducing the precision needed to facilitate complex decision-making. This handbook will help develop the protection and improvement of the water environment
Call Number: (Electronic Resource) - Open AccessPublication Date: 2022
Functional Plant Ecology
Following in the footsteps of the successful first edition, Functional Plant Ecology, Second Edition remains the most authoritative resource in this multidisciplinary field. Extensively revised and updated, this book investigates plant structure and behavior across the ecological spectrum. It features the ecology and evolution of plant crowns and addresses approaches to generalization in functional plant ecology, including the species-sampling problem, plant ecology strategy schemes, and phylogeny. The book follows a bottom-up approach, from the more specific, detailed studies focusing on plant organs to the broadest ecosystem approaches. It offers the latest findings and research breakthroughs in plant ecology, as well as consideration of classic topics in environmental science and ecology. A wide-ranging compendium, the book investigates plant structure and behavior across the ecological spectrum, from the leaf to the ecosystem levels.
Call Number: QK901 .H295 2007 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Handbook of Capture-Recapture Analysis
Every day, biologists in parkas, raincoats, and rubber boots go into the field to capture and mark a variety of animal species. Back in the office, statisticians create analytical models for the field biologists' data. But many times, representatives of the two professions do not fully understand one another's roles. This book bridges this gap by helping biologists understand state-of-the-art statistical methods for analyzing capture-recapture data. In so doing, statisticians will also become more familiar with the design of field studies and with the real-life issues facing biologists. Reliable outcomes of capture-recapture studies are vital to answering key ecological questions. Is the population increasing or decreasing? Do more or fewer animals have a particular characteristic? In answering these questions, biologists cannot hope to capture and mark entire populations. And frequently, the populations change unpredictably during a study. Thus, increasingly sophisticated models have been employed to convert data into answers to ecological questions. This book, by experts in capture-recapture analysis, introduces the most up-to-date methods for data analysis while explaining the theory behind those methods. Thorough, concise, and portable, it will be immensely useful to biologists, biometricians, and statisticians, students in both fields, and anyone else engaged in the capture-recapture process.
Call Number: QL752 .H36 2005 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Handbook of Citizen Science in Ecology and Conservation
Handbook of Citizen Science in Ecology and Conservation is the first practical and comprehensive manual for creating, implementing, or improving natural science research and monitoring projects that involve collaboration between scientists and the general public. As citizen science projects become increasingly common, project leaders are seeking information on concrete best practices for planning and implementing projects--practices that allow them to guide and gauge success while also ensuring the collection of high-quality data and rewarding experiences for volunteers. In this handbook, citizen science practitioners from around the world and with decades of experience provide step-by-step instructions, insights, and advice, and they explore real-world applications through case studies from a variety of citizen science projects. This is the definitive reference guide for anyone interested in starting or improving a citizen science project with ecological or conservation applications, from professors and graduate students to agency staff and nongovernmental organizations.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Ecological Models Used in Ecosystem and Environmental Management
It is estimated that roughly 1000 new ecological and environmental models join the ranks of the scientific literature each year. The international peer-reviewed literature reports some 20,000 new models spanning the period from 1970-2010. Just to keep abreast of the field it is necessary to design a handbook of models that doesn't merely list them,
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Evolution
This definitive two-volume handbook is unique in spanning the entire spectrum of evolution, from the origins of life up to the formation of social structures and science and technology. The author team of world-renowned experts, who include Jean Gayon (France), John Gowdy (USA), Peter Richerson (USA), Michael Tomasello (Germany), Erhard Oeser (Austria), Harald Haarmann (Finland), Francisco Ayala (USA), Pulitzer prize-winner Edward O. Wilson (USA), consider evolution from an inter-disciplinary approach, continuously cross-referencing so as to retain a logical internal structure. The uniformly structured contributions discuss not only the general knowledge behind the evolution of life, but also the corresponding development of language, society, economies, morality and politics. The result is an indispensable overview of the history and methods used in the study of evolution, including controversial theories and discussions. An essential resource for researchers in the natural sciences, sociology and philosophy. From the reviews: "... this book features seminal and thorough coverage of a broad range of topics by... well-chosen experts." CHOICE "...the entire book could be used as a general resource in a seminar on evolutionary theory." AMERICAN JOURNAL OF HUMAN BIOLOGY
Call Number: Reference B818 .H36 2004 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Handbook of Functional Plant Ecology
"Offers the latest findings and research breakthroughs in plant ecology, as well as consideration of classic topics in environmental science and ecology. This wide-ranging compendium serves as an extremely accessible and useful resource for relative newcomers to the field as well as seasoned experts. Investigates plant structure and behavior across the ecological spectrum, from the leaf to the ecosystem levels."
Call Number: QK901 .H295 1999 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1999
Handbook of Methods in Aquatic Microbial Ecology
Handbook of Methods in Aquatic Microbial Ecology is the first comprehensive compilation of 85 fundamental methods in modern aquatic microbial ecology. Each method is presented in a detailed, step-by-step format that allows readers to adopt new methods with little difficulty. The methods represent the state of the art, and many have become standard procedures in microbial research and environmental assessment. The book also presents practical advice on how to apply the methods. It will be an indispensable reference for marine and freshwater research laboratories, environmental assessment laboratories, and industrial research labs concerned with microbial measurements in water.
Call Number: QR105 .H26 1993 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Quantitative Ecology
An essential guide to quantitative research methods in ecology and conservation biology, accessible for even the most math-averse student or professional. Quantitative research techniques have become increasingly important in ecology and conservation biology, but the sheer breadth of methods that must be understood--from population modeling and probabilistic thinking to modern statistics, simulation, and data science--and a lack of computational or mathematics training have hindered quantitative literacy in these fields. In this book, ecologist Justin Kitzes addresses those challenges for students and practicing scientists alike. Requiring only basic algebra and the ability to use a spreadsheet, Handbook of Quantitative Ecology is designed to provide a practical, intuitive, and integrated introduction to widely used quantitative methods. Kitzes builds each chapter around a specific ecological problem and arrives, step by step, at a general principle through the process of solving that problem. Grouped into five broad categories--difference equations, probability, matrix models, likelihood statistics, and other numerical methods--the book introduces basic concepts, starting with exponential and logistic growth, and helps readers to understand the field's more advanced subjects, such as bootstrapping, stochastic optimization, and cellular automata. Complete with online solutions to all numerical problems, Kitzes's Handbook of Quantitative Ecology is an ideal coursebook for both undergraduate and graduate students of ecology, as well as a useful and necessary resource for mathematically out-of-practice scientists.
Call Number: QH541.15.M3 K58 2022 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2022
The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis
Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from many studies in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given research issue. When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for conducting meta-analyses in both the social and behavioral sciences. In the third edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of classic chapters and add new sections that evaluate cutting-edge developments in the field. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. The editors and leading scholars guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions and distills a vast literature to explain the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, the development of machine-based abstract screening, the increased use of meta-regression and the problems of missing data. The Handbook also addresses the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis, including searching the literature and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can foster communication of the results of research syntheses. The third edition of the Handbook provides comprehensive instruction in the skills necessary to conduct research syntheses and represents the premier text on research synthesis. Praise for the first edition: "The Handbook is a comprehensive treatment of literature synthesis and provides practical advice for anyone deep in the throes of, just teetering on the brink of, or attempting to decipher a meta-analysis. Given the expanding application and importance of literature synthesis, understanding both its strengths and weaknesses is essential for its practitioners and consumers. This volume is a good beginning for those who wish to gain that understanding." --Chance "Meta-analysis, as the statistical analysis of a large collection of results from individual studies is called, has now achieved a status of respectability in medicine. This respectability, when combined with the slight hint of mystique that sometimes surrounds meta-analysis, ensures that results of studies that use it are treated with the respect they deserve....The Handbook of Research Synthesis is one of the most important publications in this subject both as a definitive reference book and a practical manual."--British Medical Journal When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for researchers conducting meta-analyses of existing research in both the social and biological sciences. In this fully revised second edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of the Handbook''s classic chapters, as well as entirely new sections reporting on the most recent, cutting-edge developments in the field. Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from a variety of sources in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given question or topic. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon years of groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. Cooper, Hedges, and Valentine have assembled leading authorities in the field to guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions. Distilling a vast technical literature and many informal sources, the Handbook provides a portfolio of the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed by the authors are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, and the problem of missing data. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis also provides a rich treatment of the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis. Topics include searching the literature, and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will also find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can be used to provide the most meaningful communication of the results of research synthesis. In addition, the editors address the potentials and limitations of research synthesis, and its future directions. The past decade has been a period of enormous growth in the field of research synthesis. The second edition Handbook thoroughly revises original chapters to assure that the volume remains the most authoritative source of information for researchers undertaking meta-analysis today. In response to the increasing use of research synthesis in the formation of public policy, the second edition includes a new chapter on both the strengths and limitations of research synthesis in policy debates
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Scaling Methods in Aquatic Ecology: Measurement, Analysis, Simulation
The evolution of observational instruments, simulation techniques, and computing power has given aquatic scientists a new understanding of biological and physical processes that span temporal and spatial scales. This has created a need for a single volume that addresses concepts of scale in a manner that builds bridges between experimentalists and theoreticians in aquatic ecology. Handbook of Scaling Methods in Aquatic Ecology: Measurement, Analysis, Simulation is the first comprehensive compilation of modern scaling methods used in marine and freshwater ecological research. Written by leading researchers, it presents a systematic approach to dealing with space and time in aquatic ecology. This is a compendium that analyzes themes related to the response or behavior of organisms to processes occurring over multiple spatial and temporal scales. This book covers: novel techniques for data collection, focusing on processes over a broad range of scales (from bacteria to ocean basins); newly-developed concepts and data analysis algorithms; and innovative computer models and simulations to mimic complex biological processes. The Handbook serves as a reference volume for investigators seeking insight into new experimental approaches and data analysis, as well as the sensor design required for optimal sampling. Many of the algorithms and models provided are directly applicable to your experimental data. This comprehensive treatment of scaling methods and applications can help foster a unified understanding of subject matter among the modeling, experimental, and field research communities.
Call Number: QH541.5.W3 H36 2003 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Handbook of Spatial Point-Pattern Analysis in Ecology
Understand How to Analyze and Interpret Information in Ecological Point Patterns Although numerous statistical methods for analyzing spatial point patterns have been available for several decades, they haven't been extensively applied in an ecological context. Addressing this gap, Handbook of Spatial Point-Pattern Analysis in Ecology shows how the techniques of point-pattern analysis are useful for tackling ecological problems. Within an ecological framework, the book guides readers through a variety of methods for different data types and aids in the interpretation of the results obtained by point-pattern analysis. Ideal for empirical ecologists who want to avoid advanced theoretical literature, the book covers statistical techniques for analyzing and interpreting the information contained in ecological patterns. It presents methods used to extract information hidden in spatial point-pattern data that may point to the underlying processes. The authors focus on point processes and null models that have proven their immediate utility for broad ecological applications, such as cluster processes. Along with the techniques, the handbook provides a comprehensive selection of real-world examples. Most of the examples are analyzed using Programita, a continuously updated software package based on the authors' many years of teaching and collaborative research in ecological point-pattern analysis. Programita is tailored to meet the needs of real-world applications in ecology. The software and a manual are available online.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Handbook on Marine Environment Protection: Science, Impacts and Sustainable Management
This handbook is the first of its kind to provide a clear, accessible, and comprehensive introduction to the most important scientific and management topics in marine environmental protection. Leading experts discuss the latest perspectives and best practices in the field with a particular focus on the functioning of marine ecosystems, natural processes, and anthropogenic pressures. The book familiarizes readers with the intricacies and challenges of managing coasts and oceans more sustainably, and guides them through the maze of concepts and strategies, laws and policies, and the various actors that define our ability to manage marine activities. Providing valuable thematic insights into marine management to inspire thoughtful application and further study, it is essential reading for marine environmental scientists, policy-makers, lawyers, practitioners and anyone interested in the field.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
How to Do Ecology: A Concise Handbook
Most ecology books and courses focus on the facts and the concepts. While these are essential, many young ecologists need to figure out how to actually do research themselves. How to Do Ecology provides nuts-and-bolts advice on how to develop a successful thesis and research program. This book presents different approaches to posing testable ecological questions. In particular, it covers the uses, strengths, and limitations of manipulative experiments in ecology. It will help young ecologists consider meaningful treatments, controls, replication, independence, and randomization in experiments, as well as where to do experiments and how to organize a season of work. This book also presents strategies for analyzing natural patterns, the value of alternative hypotheses, and what to do with negative results. Science is only part of being a successful ecologist. This engagingly written book offers students advice on working with other people and navigating their way through the land mines of research. Findings that don't get communicated are of little value. How to Do Ecology suggests effective ways to communicate information in the form of journal articles, oral presentations, and posters. Finally, it outlines strategies for developing successful grant and research proposals. Numerous checklists, figures, and boxes throughout the book summarize and reinforce the main points. In short, this book makes explicit many of the unspoken assumptions behind doing good research in ecology, and provides an invaluable resource for meaningful conversations among ecologists.
Call Number: QH541.2 .K374 2006 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2006
ICES Zooplankton Methodology Manual
The term "zooplankton" describes the community of floating, often microscopic, animals that inhabit aquatic environments. Being near the base of the food chain, they serve as food for larger animals, such as fish. The ICES (International Council for the Exploration of the Sea) Zooplankton Methodology Manual provides comprehensive coverage of modern techniques in zooplankton ecology written by a group of international experts. Chapters include sampling, acoustic and optical methods, estimation of feeding, growth, reproduction and metabolism, and up-to-date treatment of population genetics and modeling. This book will be a key reference work for marine scientists throughout the world.
Call Number: QL123 .I23 2000 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2000
Linnaeus' Philosophia Botanica
Philosophia Botanica (The Science of Botany), by Carl Linnaeus, was originally published in Latin in Stockholm and Amsterdam in 1751. It is a greatly expanded revision of his Fundamenta Botanica (Foundations of Botany) of 1736, summarizing his work on the classification and taxonomy of plants while adding substantial new material. The book represents a critical stage in the evolution of binomial nomenclature, with a single word to describe the genus and another for the species. Special importance is attached to accurate description of the parts of plants, and to the correct use of technical terms. There are also explanations of the effects of soil and climatic conditions on plant growth. The book includes 9 original engravings, with 167 figures showing the shapes of leaves and other parts of the plant, and 6 short memoranda describing Linnaeus' botanical excursions, detailing his ideas for garden and herbarium construction, and outlining what is required of a botanist and his pupils. There are also indexes of technical terms, genera and subjects. The first full English translation of this classic work since 1775, this beautiful book will be highly attractive to botanists and all those interested in the history of science.
Call Number: QK91 .P513 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Manual of Environmental Microbiology
The single most comprehensive resource for environmental microbiology Environmental microbiology, the study of the roles that microbes play in all planetary environments, is one of the most important areas of scientific research. The Manual of Environmental Microbiology, Fourth Edition, provides comprehensive coverage of this critical and growing field. Thoroughly updated and revised, the Manual is the definitive reference for information on microbes in air, water, and soil and their impact on human health and welfare. Written in accessible, clear prose, the manual covers four broad areas: general methodologies, environmental public health microbiology, microbial ecology, and biodegradation and biotransformation. This wealth of information is divided into 18 sections each containing chapters written by acknowledged topical experts from the international community. Specifically, this new edition of the Manual Contains completely new sections covering microbial risk assessment, quality control, and microbial source tracking Incorporates a summary of the latest methodologies used to study microorganisms in various environments Synthesizes the latest information on the assessment of microbial presence and microbial activity in natural and artificial environments The Manual of Environmental Microbiology is an essential reference for environmental microbiologists, microbial ecologists, and environmental engineers, as well as those interested in human diseases, water and wastewater treatment, and biotechnology.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Manual on Harmful Marine Microalgae
This volume is a source book of protocols for studying, monitoring and managing harmful marine microalgae. Proliferation of microalgae in marine, brackish or fresh waters can cause massive fish kills, contaminate seafood with toxins and alter ecosystems in ways humans perceive as harmful. About 300 species of microalgae are reported to form mass occurrences, so-called 'blooms', and nearly one-fourth of these species are known to produce toxins.This manual covers the fields of harmful algal sampling, identification, culturing, toxin analysis, toxicology and management.
Call Number: QK568.T67 M35 2003 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Marine Mammal Ecology and Conservation: A Handbook of Techniques
Marine mammals command a high level of public attention, reflected in specific legislation for their protection and management in many countries. They also present particular challenges to ecologists and conservation biologists. They are mostly difficult to observe, they occupy an environmentthat is vast in its three dimensional extent, there are often perceived conflicts between marine mammals and people, and furthermore several species are now close to extinction.Marine mammals have some intriguing features in their biology - the ability to dive to crushing depths, to perform breath-hold dives that defy our current understanding of mammalian physiology, and many have an ability to hunt down prey using sophisticated sonar that we are only just beginning tounderstand. Many species also have complex social structures. We still have much to learn about these extraordinary animals so a comprehensive and authoritative overview of current methodology is now timely. The intention of this book is both to summarize the state-of-the-art and to encourageinnovation and further progress in this research field.
Call Number: QL713.2 .M274 2010 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2010
Models for Ecological Data: An Introduction
The environmental sciences are undergoing a revolution in the use of models and data. Facing ecological data sets of unprecedented size and complexity, environmental scientists are struggling to understand and exploit powerful new statistical tools for making sense of ecological processes. In Models for Ecological Data, James Clark introduces ecologists to these modern methods in modeling and computation. Assuming only basic courses in calculus and statistics, the text introduces readers to basic maximum likelihood and then works up to more advanced topics in Bayesian modeling and computation. Clark covers both classical statistical approaches and powerful new computational tools and describes how complexity can motivate a shift from classical to Bayesian methods. Through an available lab manual, the book introduces readers to the practical work of data modeling and computation in the language R. Based on a successful course at Duke University and National Science Foundation-funded institutes on hierarchical modeling, Models for Ecological Data will enable ecologists and other environmental scientists to develop useful models that make sense of ecological data. Consistent treatment from classical to modern Bayes Underlying distribution theory to algorithm development Many examples and applications Does not assume statistical background Extensive supporting appendixes Lab manual in R is available separately
Call Number: QH541.15.M3 C53 2007 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Molecular Microbial Ecology Manual
Microbes are key drivers of the world's ecosystems. The vast majority of the world's diversity and metabolic potential lies within micro-organisms, yet with the advent of molecular-scale observation, we are still barely beginning to understand this microscopic resource. The expanded second edition provides a detailed description of the methods that have made microbial ecology possible.
Call Number: QR74 .M64 2004 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2004
Ocean Science Data: Collection, Management, Networking and Services
Ocean Science Data: Collection, Management, Networking, and Services presents the evolution of ocean science, information, theories, and data services for oceanographers looking for a better understanding of big data. The book is divided into chapters organized under the following main issues: marine science, history and data archaeology, data services in ocean science, society-driven data, and coproduction and education. Throughout the book, particular emphasis is put on data products quality and big data management strategy; embracing tools enabling data discovery, data preparation, self-service data accessibility, collaborative semantic metadata management, data standardization, and stream processing engines. Ocean Science Data provides an opportunity to start a new roadmap for data management issues, to be used for future collaboration among disciplines. This will include a focus on organizational objectives such as improved performance, competitive advantage, innovation, the sharing of lessons learned, integration, and continuous improvement of data management organization. This book is written for ocean scientists at postgraduate level and above as well as marine scientists and climate change scientists. Presents a coherent overview of state-of-the-art research concerning ocean data Provides an in-depth discussion of how ocean data impact all scales of the planetary system Includes global case studies from experts in ocean data
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
The Oxford Handbook of Evolution, Biology, and Society
Evolution, biology, and society is a catch-all phrase encompassing any scholarly work that utilizes evolutionary theory and/or biological or behavioral genetic methods in the study of the human social group, and The Oxford Handbook of Evolution, Biology, and Society contains an much neededoverview of research in the area by sociologists and other social scientists. The examined topics cover a wide variety of issues, including the origins of social solidarity; religious beliefs; sex differences; gender inequality; determinants of human happiness; the nature of social stratificationand inequality and its effects; identity, status, and other group processes; race, ethnicity, and race discrimination; fertility and family processes; crime and deviance; and cultural and social change.The scholars whose work is presented in this volume come from a variety of disciplines in addition to sociology, including psychology, political science, and criminology. Yet, as the essays in this volume demonstrate, the potential of theory and methods from biology for illuminating social phenomenais clear, and sociologists stand to gain from learning more about them and using them in their own work. The theory focuses on evolution by natural selection, the primary paradigm of the biological sciences, while the methods include the statistical analyses sociologists are familiar with, as wellas other methods that they may not be familiar with, such as behavioral genetic methods, methods for including genetic factors in statistical analyses, gene-wide association studies, candidate gene studies, and methods for testing levels of hormones and other biochemicals in blood and saliva andincluding these factors in analyses.This work will be of interest to any sociologist with an interest in exploring the interaction of biological and sociological processes. As an introduction to the field it is useful for teaching upper-level or graduate students in sociology or a related social science.
Call Number: HM628 .O94 2018 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Practical Handbook of Marine Science
The heavily-revised Practical Handbook of Marine Science, Fourth Edition continues its tradition as a state-of-the-art reference that updates the field of marine science to meet the interdisciplinary research needs of physical oceanographers, marine biologists, marine chemists, and marine geologists. This edition adds an entirely new section devoted to Climate Change and Climate Change Effects. It also adds new sections on Estuaries, Beaches, Barrier Islands, Shellfish, Macroalgae, Food Chains, Food Webs, Trophic Dynamics, System Productivity, Physical-Chemical-Biological Alteration, and Coastal Resource Management. The Handbook assembles an extensive international collection of marine science data throughout, with approximately 1,000 tables and illustrations. It provides comprehensive coverage of anthropogenic impacts in estuarine and marine ecosystems from local, regional, and global perspectives. Maintaining its user-friendly, multi-sectional format, this comprehensive resource will also be of value to undergraduate and graduate students, research scientists, administrators, and other professionals who deal with the management of marine resources. Now published in full color, the new edition offers extensive illustrative and tabular reference material covering all the major disciplines related to the sea.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Practical Manual of Plant MorphologyCall Number: QK641 .R35 2003 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Reproductive Ecology of Flowering Plants: a Manual
Successful reproduction is the basis not only for the stability of the species in their natural habitat but also for productivity of our crop plants. Therefore, knowledge on reproductive ecology of wild and cultivated plants is important for effective management of our dwindling biodiversity and for the sustainability and improvement of the yield in crop species. Conservation and management of our plant diversity is going to be a major challenge in the coming decades, particularly in the tropical countries which are rich in biodiversity. Reproductive failure is the main driver for pushing a large number of tropical species to vulnerable category. Available data on reproductive ecology on tropical species is very limited and there is an urgent need to initiate research on these lines. A major limitation for the beginners to take up research is the absence of simple concise work manuals that provide step-wise procedures to study all aspects of reproductive ecology. The Manual fills this void. Over 60 protocols described in the manual cover the whole spectrum of reproductive ecology - study sites and species, phenology, floral morphology and sexuality, pollen and pistil biology, pollination ecology, breeding system, seed biology, seed dispersal and seedling recruitment. Each chapter gives a concise conceptual account of the topic before describing the protocols. The Manual caters to researchers, teachers and students who are interested in any aspect of reproductive ecology of flowering plants -- botanists, ecologists, agri-horticulturists, foresters, entomologists, plant breeders and conservation biologists.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Research Data Management and Data Literacies
Research Data Management and Data Literacies help researchers familiarize themselves with RDM, and with the services increasingly offered by libraries. This new volume looks at data-intensive science, or 'Science 2.0' as it is sometimes termed in commentary, from a number of perspectives, including the tasks academic libraries need to fulfil, new services that will come online in the near future, data literacy and its relation to other literacies, research support and the need to connect researchers across the academy, and other key issues, such as 'data deluge,' the importance of citations, metadata and data repositories. This book presents a solid resource that contextualizes RDM, including good theory and practice for researchers and professionals who find themselves tasked with managing research data. Gives guidance on organizing, storing, preserving and sharing research data using Research Data Management (RDM) Contextualizes RDM within the global shift to data-intensive research Helps researchers and information professionals understand and optimize data-intensive ways of working Considers RDM in relation to varying needs of researchers across the sciences and humanities Presents key issues surrounding RDM, including data literacy, citations, metadata and data repositories
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Roadside Use of Native Plants
Originally published by the U.S. Department of Transportation's Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), Office of Natural Environment to promote the planting and care of native plants along highway rights-of-way, this unique handbook provides managers of roadsides and adjacent lands with the information and background they need to make site-specific decisions about what kinds of native plants to use, and addresses basic techniques and misconceptions about using native plants. It brings together in a single volume a vast array of detailed information that has, until now, been scattered and difficult to find. The book opens with eighteen short essays on principles of ecological restoration and management from leading experts in the field including Reed F. Noss, J. Baird Callicott, Peggy Olwell, and Evelyn Howell. Following that is the heart of the book, more than 500 pages of comprehensive state-by-state listings that offer: - a colour map for each state with natural vegetations zones clearly marked - comprehensive lists of native plants, broken down by type of plant (grasses, forbs, trees, etc.) and including both scientific and common names, with each list having been verified for c
Call Number: Reference TE178 .R63 2000 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2000
Routledge Handbook of Ecosystem Services
The idea that nature provides services to people is one of the most powerful concepts to have emerged over the last two decades. It is shaping our understanding of the role that biodiverse ecosystems play in the environment and their benefits for humankind. As a result, there is a growing interest in operational and methodological issues surrounding ecosystem services amongst environmental managers, and many institutions are now developing teaching programmes to equip the next generation with the skills needed to apply the concepts more effectively. This handbook provides a comprehensive reference text on ecosystem services, integrating natural and social science (including economics). Collectively the chapters, written by the world's leading authorities, demonstrate the importance of biodiversity for people, policy and practice. They also show how the value of ecosystems to society can be expressed in monetary and non-monetary terms, so that the environment can be better taken into account in decision making. The significance of the ecosystem service paradigm is that it helps us redefine and better communicate the relationships between people and nature. It is shown how these are essential to resolving challenges such as sustainable development and poverty reduction, and the creation of a green economy in developing and developed world contexts.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Statistical Computation for Environmental Sciences in R: Lab Manual for Models for Ecological Data
A lab manual in the R language that is designed to be used with the textbook Models for Ecological Data, by James Clark Used in conjuction with the textbook Models for Ecologiocal Data, by James Clark, this lab manual helps introduce readers to the practical work of data modeling and computation in the language R.
Call Number: QH541.15.M3 C537 2007 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Synopsis and Classification of Living OrganismsCall Number: Reference QH83 .S89 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1982
Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science
The study of estuaries and coasts has seen enormous growth in recent years, since changes in these areas have a large effect on the food chain, as well as on the physics and chemistry of the ocean. As the coasts and river banks around the world become more densely populated, the pressure on these ecosystems intensifies, putting a new focus on environmental, socio-economic and policy issues. Written by a team of international expert scientists, under the guidance of Chief Editors Eric Wolanski and Donald McClusky, the Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science examines topics in depth, and aims to provide a comprehensive scientific resource for all professionals and students in the area of estuarine and coastal science Most up-to-date reference for system-based coastal and estuarine science and management, from the inland watershed to the ocean shelf Chief editors have assembled a world-class team of volume editors and contributing authors Approach focuses on the physical, biological, chemistry, ecosystem, human, ecological and economics processes, to show how to best use multidisciplinary science to ensure earth's sustainability Provides a comprehensive scientific resource for all professionals and students in the area of estuarine and coastal science Features up-to-date chapters covering a full range of topics
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Westcott's Plant Disease Handbook
Westcott's Plant Disease Handbook, 7th Edition, should be useful to anyone with a keen interest in gardening. The seventh edition uses the traditional convenient format of previous editions providing easy access to essential information quickly with special dictionary-type entries on plant hosts and on symptoms. It provides useful cross references, indexes, illustrative plates of 34 key diseases, and 40 black and white illustrations of other diseases. New and updated material includes: significant taxonomic changes in fungi, bacteria, viruses and nematodes, and recently discovered diseases and new hosts for previously known plant-pathogens.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
